Customer Reviews for

A Thousand Tomorrows (Cody Gunner Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A thousand tomorrows can be read a thousand times!!!

Oh goodness where to start! I love this book so much it was so amazing! I always found myself searching for more Karen Kingsbury books I had never read, and when I sat down at the book store and opened to some random page I was stuck! I went home shortly after that a...
Oh goodness where to start! I love this book so much it was so amazing! I always found myself searching for more Karen Kingsbury books I had never read, and when I sat down at the book store and opened to some random page I was stuck! I went home shortly after that and opened the book and finished that night! I didnt stop once! Its amazing.. I just got my fiance to read it as well and he was very into it too! :) GREAT BOOK!

posted by Holly143 on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not her best

When I read a Karen Kingsbury novel, I usually cannot put it down. I am usually moved to tears halfway through it. However, I found this one to be too predictable. Nicholas Sparks already did this plot with A Walk to Remember.

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A thousand tomorrows can be read a thousand times!!!

    Oh goodness where to start! I love this book so much it was so amazing! I always found myself searching for more Karen Kingsbury books I had never read, and when I sat down at the book store and opened to some random page I was stuck! I went home shortly after that and opened the book and finished that night! I didnt stop once! Its amazing.. I just got my fiance to read it as well and he was very into it too! :) GREAT BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    great book!

    I love this book! It is a great book! I cried i loved it so much!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Good reading, would recommend

    This story is very touching and makes one realize that we should appreciate life and make the most of it. Always look ahead and up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Life changing story

    I read this book as a teenage girl with limiting health problems. It really opened my mom and I up to me actually living life to it's fullest, and not being afraid of what may be dangerous. A life changing story for anyone who has something they feel is limiting them, or keeping them from what they love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Not her best

    When I read a Karen Kingsbury novel, I usually cannot put it down. I am usually moved to tears halfway through it. However, I found this one to be too predictable. Nicholas Sparks already did this plot with A Walk to Remember.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    A Thousand Tomorrows

    A young man and woman, who are two national champions who are involved in rodeo. After they met at the rodeo they fall in love. Well she didnt want him to because she has Cystic Fibrosis. He goes to the hospital to see her. He goes to ask her parents for promission to marry her. So a few months after they get married she gets really sick and ends up dying. This is a way awesome book i recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Wonderfully written, stirring novel

    I've always loved Karen Kingsbury, so when I saw this coming out I had to get it. I finished this book in just a little over a day - it is a wonderful, wonderful book. It really pulls you in and has you cheering with the characters when something good happens, and literally had me bawling during the not so great parts. Even the first part of the book already had me so enraptured that the starting tragedy in the book had me in tears - and that was no more than 20 pages into the book. I would very highly recommend this book to anyone...it will move you and reteach you what love and life is all about. I know it's changed how I see things. Read this book, you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    I am a Kingsbury fan!  I loved 'A Thousand Tomorrows'.  I think

    I am a Kingsbury fan!  I loved 'A Thousand Tomorrows'.  I think I cried through the last 2-3 chapters.  So sweet but sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Love this book!!!

    This was probly the best book i have ever read!!! It was perfrct love story...for me at least i just cant resist a country boy and riding my horse is the greatest thing in the world. If you like country romance this is definately your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Karen kingsbury

    I love this book! It made me cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    One of my favorites by Karen :)

    I loooooove this book. Its a unique and original romance unlike most repetitive love stories. Would totally recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great book!

    I've read tons of books in my life and this definitely is a great one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Great book

    I highly recommend any of Karen Kingsbury's books. They inspire me and my two daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed by this book.

    This was a romance from the school of Nicolas Sparks. Boy meets girl. Boy has daddy issues. Girl has incurable disease. They fall in love, marry, and tragedy strikes. Oops, did I give too much away? You would have noticed twenty pages in, so don't forgo this book purely on my account. Forgo it because it was dull, predictable, and the characters were sadly one dimensional. It was fast and easy to read, purely because of its shallow writing.. I finished it thinking about how I probably should have used the time more wisely. It didn't even give me those nice feelings that makes you forgive a poor plot or characters for delight. I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It has a very mysterious title which you will find out about it towards the end of the book.

    It was a great book to read. Once you start reading you will never stop.
    I really liked the originality of it. Eventhough it is fiction you will feel that it was based on a true story. I recommend this book to anyone. Also its sequel is Just Beyond the clouds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Hard to Put Down

    A Thousand Tomorrows is definately a page turner. Focusing on the life of a boy named Cody Gunner, whos father left him when he was just a young boy, Cody Gunner led a life without love from anybody except his younger brother Carl, who has Down Syndrome. At a young age during Junior High School, Cody Gunner decided to pursue in Bull Riding. He became a well-known champion. A girl named Ali Daniels who also has delt with Cystic Fibrosis all her life is a champion barrel racer. At first, Ali and Cody were two people who had nothing to do with eachother. Once Cody and Ali find out they have in common, they become great friends and eventually lovers. A Thousand Tomorrows is what Cody and Ali want with eachother. This book tells the story of two totally different individuals who are exactly the same in so many different ways. A Thousand Tomorrows is a book that keeps you wanting to read more. Its hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    It's okay.

    From the 4 and 5 star ratings I saw I thought this book would be great. Unfortunately the story and charictors were both underdeveloped. I have not read any of the authors other books and judging off this I doubt I would go looking for one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    A Great Read but missing the Christianity that she always weaves so beautifully into her books

    I just can not get enough of this author. This is another very well written book about a young woman with Cystic Fibrosis and the joy of falling in love. I read this book in 2 days. While excellent, I was disappointed that the spiritual message was not as strong as it usually is in her books. I have hooked alot of non-believers onto her and know that she plants those seeds so she missed the mark on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    A SUPERB PAGE-TURNER

    An engrossing read from cover to cover. A Thousand Tommorows conveys the magic of Faith, Hope and Love at every turn of the page. This one you can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine inspirational romance

    Champion bull rider Cody Gunner uses brashness to hide his heart from everyone except his younger brother Carl, a Down syndrome person. Cody detests his former NFL great father who he worshiped until dad walked out on his family once he concluded that his youngest son was defective. He loathes his mother for allowing her hurt caused by her spouse¿s abandonment to interfere with raising her two children especially the handicapped Carl who needed more from her. When he was eight and dad left, Cody vowed no one will ever get close to him again................ Though horse riding champion Ali Daniels must hold her breath for the eighteen or so seconds she competes, she refuses to quit although she knows the dust and related ilk is cutting into her life span, which already is shortened by cystic fibrosis. Still she refuses to quit, riding with passion dedicated to her deceased younger sister. Because of her illness, she has no plans for a lasting relationship................ When Ali and Cody meet and reluctantly share their inner demons they fall in love. Although both want to flee from the previously unwanted emotions, they embrace their feelings, providing one another with healing solace while understanding that they probably will not share A THOUSAND TOMORROWS together...................... This is a fine inspirational romance starring two interesting individuals who choose love although they know how limited their mortal time together will be. The story line grips the audience from the start and never lets up until the final soliloquy. The plot especially the ending is obvious because of the realistic portrayal of CF; fans who appreciate an uplifting somewhat melancholy tale will appreciate Karen Kingsbury character driven inspirational..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3