BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thousand Words

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Changes the way you think

    This book completely surprised me. I was not expecting much from it because lately the books I have been reading have been falling flat. Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown caught my attention by its name and when I started to read it I was hooked. Ashleigh is the person you would never expect to sext someone. She is the star athlete and all around good person. She is pressured into sending it and she never expects it to blow up in her face as big as it did. This book completely changed the way I think about the subject of sexting. To be honest I always thought it was the girl's fault because she took the picture: that she was promiscuous by sending the text message. After reading this book I am much more sympathetic. Usually it isn't the girl sending it around. I would recommend everyone to read this book: a teenager, a parent to educate their children, anyone and everyone. It is worth your time and it is a book you will never forget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I love Jennifer Brown! Her books are very thought provoking. Tho

    I love Jennifer Brown! Her books are very thought provoking. Thousand Words is a must read for teens and adults. I also recommend her book Hate List...I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I honestly believe that this generation has it harder than every

    I honestly believe that this generation has it harder than everyone else when it comes to media. Social media that is. The amount of selfies taken, with young girls and guys, barely there clothing…it shocking. When I was little, there was nooo way that I would ever pose the way youth pose today. So reading this book, gave a great insight on what pressures youth go through today.

    Plot: This is about a girl, who takes a nude frontal (chest picture) and sends it to her then boyfriend. They fight, breakup and for revenge, he sends to everyone on his phone list. At the time he just started college and she is a senior in high school. And the consequences are brutal. There are the students, name calling her every name in the book. Parents in a uproar over a nudity pic being passed around. Her parents, who are not only embarrassed but face serious problems with their jobs. And the ex-boyfriend. Who’s life is completely turned around and ruined all because he passed on a picture. I think this plot raising a lot of questions when it comes to self-worth and trust. Why do you take a picture like that in the first place? Do you trust that, that photo is safe?

    Friendship: When a nude photo is being passed around the internet who is your real friend? Ashleigh faces some hard times all alone. Her friend left her, calling her names and even given out her number to guys who think she is easy. It’s horrible with the amount of bullying she goes through.

    Criminal Charges: This raises a issue. I understand that what Ashleigh did is wrong. What her boyfriend did is wrong. But should they face Child Pornography charges? As teens, we all do dumb stuff. And I think having that charge on your file for the REST of your life is hard. I think what they go through is enough but still. I don’t think they should have to live with this for the rest of their life. There are jobs at stake, and people would think your some kind of pervert just because you took a stupid selfie of yourself during your teens. Personally I think the charges are too harsh. Teens still don’t fully understand what they did despite being 18 yrs old. Yes, they should be charged just not that to that extent. What do you think?

    This is a great book that raises hard, real life issues that is going on with teens today. Teens face so much issues with self-worth, that they have to degrade themselves just to get the attention they want. Sometimes, I’m happy that I didn’t have this technology when I was a teen. It was hard as it is growing up with pretty girls around me, I can only imagine what teens face seeing all their “friends” risque photos on their Face Book feed. Thousand Words is an awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        I enjoyed this emotional book by Jennifer Brown. Thousand Wo

        I enjoyed this emotional book by Jennifer Brown. Thousand Words deals with a touchy subject, and the consequences of a decision, that led to criminal charges, a reputation ruined, and bullying. 
        I especially enjoyed the friendship that developed between Ashleigh and Mack. He was surrounded by mystery and I liked that. I also appreciated that he wasn't smokin hot, but that he actually had a personality and stood up for what it right. I just couldn't imagine what had put him in the community service program because he didn't seem the type. 
        The book slowed a bit for me because of the jumps in time. I was easily able to tell what time frame we were in because of the chapter headings, and even the demeanor of Ashleigh. She grew and changed so much in this one that you can pretty much automatically tell by her emotional state and her thoughts. 




    Bottom Line: Good story about an important issue of be careful what you put in a text or online. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    Very powerful. It makes you think how people tend to victim blam

    Very powerful. It makes you think how people tend to victim blame instead of looking at the bigger issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    this is a great book to show you how now day technology can hurt teens/anybody really bad

    Although this is a good book i feel bad for my generation due to technology these days . See i am smart i dont have facebook or a cell phone i dont have any of tgat stupid technology. Which i think is smart on my end.

    -<3gabrielle walker 16 <3-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I started this book without really knowing what I was getting my

    I started this book without really knowing what I was getting myself into. Thousand Words talks about love, betrayal, and friendship. Ashleigh, the main protagonist, has an amazing boyfriend. As her boyfriend, Kaleb, is ready to go to college, Ashleigh is worried that he'll forget about her. When Ashleigh tells her friend about how she feels about this, they convince her to send a picture of herself naked to him so he really won't forget her. After Kaleb goes to college, and comes back to visit just to break up with Ashleigh, things get nasty. Kaleb decides to take revenge by sending her naked photo to his contact list. Thousand Words also transitions from the past to the present, where Ashleigh does her community service for the &quot;crime&quot; she committed. What I really liked about this book is that it talks about a sensitive subject, and kind of teaches you the consequences of doing something as rash as this. Ashleigh was a very interesting character to read about. She really beats herself for what she did, and she really doesn't seem like a character who would ever think of doing something like that. She's an athletic student who never got in trouble. I guess she was just in the wrong time and wrong place. I actually blamed her friends for convincing her to do something as stupid as this. In the end, Ashleigh had to pay for what she did. It was sad seeing students calling her names at school, the story getting as serious as child pornography, and so on. I really liked Kaleb at first, because he really did genuinely care about her. I just really hated him for sending the photo, because really, who does that as revenge? Especially to a person who used to &quot;love&quot;. Ashleigh really went through a lot of hardships, and it really is sad to see how one text about ruined her life. Overall, Thousand Words was a great book. Very sad at times, but very realistic. I really do think that teenage girls should read this, especially those who might think doing something like sending a naked picture of yourself to your boyfriend is okay. I'm definitely going to give Jennifer Brown's other books a try! The writing was also great, and I don't think there was ever a part where I was remotely bored. If you like reading realistic fiction or contemporary books, this one's for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Technology is a beautiful thing, and yet with technology comes m

    Technology is a beautiful thing, and yet with technology comes many a dangerous thing *Insert Yoda voice here*.  It’s only too real how exploitation via email is happening everywhere.  It’s all over the news and newspapers.  How one little mistake with a cellphone and its camera can cause so much pain and havoc.  Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown explores how one little mistake has dire consequences and not only affects the victim, but to those around them.

    Ashleigh Maynard was happy.  And why shouldn’t she be?  She had an amazing boyfriend, a most awesome best friend, and a wonderful relationship with her parents.  But once the summer winds down, her boyfriend, Kaleb, will be off to college, and she’ll be left behind to continue a couple more years of high school.  Ashleigh was hoping to spend more time with Kaleb since their time together is slowly slipping away.  But it seems Kaleb wants to spend more time with his buds, rather than with Ashleigh…and she’s not exactly very happy about that.

    After a night of drinking at her best friend, Vonnie’s house, Ash’s friends convince her to take a nude picture of herself and send it off to Kaleb…to remind him of what he’s missing.  More acting less thinking, Ashleigh does just that.  And it seems to do the trick…that is…until things go sour between her and Kaleb.  And what started out as a way of “payback”, turned out to be something that changes lives…not only Ash and Kaleb’s, but Ash’s parents, and the lives of other students in the school.

    Ash goes through much bullying at school and online.  Everywhere she turns, she see’s judgment in everyone’s eyes.  People saying things that are far from true and are out to make Ash’s life a living hell.  All because of One.Small.Mistake.  After being forced by the courts to serve 60 hours of community service, Ash finds friendship in someone she didn’t expect to…in a quiet loner named Mack.  But everyone serving community service is there for a reason…and some reasons really make you think of just how bad your situation is compared to theirs.

    I read this book in one sitting.  I could not put this one down, no matter how hard I tried.  The topic of “sexting” is one that is huge in our technologically advanced world.  We’ve seen how similar incidents such as the one in Thousand Words have happened all over the world.  We’ve also seen just how terrible the end result can be for the victim of such a thing.  Seeing just how cruel people can be…with the words they use, and the phrases they tag.  By not listening to the other side of the story, but rather just accepting what is seen in their texts or emails.  Many have ended tragically, and Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown brings this subject to such a reality.

    This book shows us what the victim, Ashleigh Maynard, goes through after her nude picture goes viral.  It shows the reader the thoughts that are going through her constantly…the paranoia she has when out in public.  Author, Jennifer Brown does a fantastic job bringing the voice of Ashleigh to life.  There was so much raw emotion throughout this entire read, which is probably why I couldn’t put it down.  My heart went out to this poor girl who had to endure all the bullying and loss of friends.  To witness everything to be taken away from her.  To see her at her lowest, and to watch and see how she can find the light at the end of the tunnel.

    I encourage readers everywhere to read this book, and to listen to the powerful message which can be found in these pages.  I would love to see this book in libraries everywhere, even for a piece of literature that individuals can read should they find themselves in a similar situation.  I recommend this book to fans of contemporary reads, and for anyone who wants to experience a book that will completely open your eyes to world of sexting and cyberbullying and to witness the strength that a teenage girl can have after one life changing mistake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story alters between the past when Ashleigh gets herself int

    The story alters between the past when Ashleigh gets herself into the sexting scandal and the present when Ashleigh is serving time doing community service by creating a pamphlet on sexting. Through the alternating storylines, we get a better feel for who Ashleigh is and how the sexting scandal impacts her life.
    It was hard to relate to Ashleigh. If I hadn't met her during community service first... if I hadn't met her after the sexting scandal changed her life... I doubt I'd have given her a chance. As it is, I have a love-hate relationship with Ashleigh. I think the biggest problem is that we come from such different areas of life. Though Ashleigh was an honors student, she is a party girl. She drinks, she makes out a lot with Kaleb, and she's clingy. She causes the breakup because of her inability to trust Kaleb, and I think she realizes this later on. And both she and Kaleb hold partial responsibility for the sexting scandal, another fact that she acknowledges.
    At the same time, I do sympathize with her. The whole point of this novel is how situations can fall out of our control so easily. Ashleigh is a normal girl. And as much as I disprove of what she did, she did text the nude photo of herself out of love, though later events prove how fragile her love was. She never had sex with her boyfriend, but people begin calling her a slut, both in person and online where people have posted her picture. She's afraid to go out because she doesn't know who has seen her photo and what they'll say to her. And she has to live with the guilt at home with an angry father and disappointed mother on top of her own shame and embarrassment. All because she was desperate to keep her boyfriend's affections. Looking at her story from this light, it's really sad what happens to her.
    At the center where Ashleigh puts in her community service hours, she finds healing--through research on sexting and also her meeting with Mack, a large boy who offers solid friendship and a unique, albeit brutally honest, perspective on life. Mack is a quiet guy who doesn't say much about himself; because of that, everything he says and does has significance. He doesn't rush into things. I think this is important to Ashleigh because she needs someone who doesn't judge her based off a rash decision she made while intoxicated. I also like the friendship that forms between them. It's nice to see a novel where the romance is in the past, where a guy and girl can meet without sparks flying between them.
    Thousand Words is about how while a picture is said to be worth a thousand words, it still can't tell the full story. It is a story about healing, forgiveness (of both yourself and others), and the reality of life. Ashleigh and Kaleb can't undo their actions, and they have to live with what they did for the rest of their lives. What they can do, what Ashleigh chooses to do, is move forward. I like how the story ends on a note of hope before the full conclusions of all the effects of Ashleigh's actions because this is what she needed, what we need to see from her story. I recommend this for those looking for a realistic novel portraying teen issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1