BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Threat Vector

Average Rating 4
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Clancy

Got tired of Clancys books a few years ago. Still dont know why I read this one but sure am glad that I did. Very well written and an extremely easy story line to follow. If you are like me and have skipped a few of his works then its time to get back with a very good s...
Got tired of Clancys books a few years ago. Still dont know why I read this one but sure am glad that I did. Very well written and an extremely easy story line to follow. If you are like me and have skipped a few of his works then its time to get back with a very good story teller and enjoy a thriller again.

posted by JohnRuss on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

For Now

I will update this later but must say I am a bit less than thrilled so far. The plot is okay so far but followers of the series will find certain items distracting, for example it is stated that Jack Jr. is the eldest Ryan child.

If simple items such as this slipped b...
I will update this later but must say I am a bit less than thrilled so far. The plot is okay so far but followers of the series will find certain items distracting, for example it is stated that Jack Jr. is the eldest Ryan child.

If simple items such as this slipped by the editors, I do not hold out much hope this will be one of the better books in the series. I honestly wonder if Mr. Clancy has read this book, much less had anything to do with writing it.

posted by FrogAlum on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    For Now

    I will update this later but must say I am a bit less than thrilled so far. The plot is okay so far but followers of the series will find certain items distracting, for example it is stated that Jack Jr. is the eldest Ryan child.

    If simple items such as this slipped by the editors, I do not hold out much hope this will be one of the better books in the series. I honestly wonder if Mr. Clancy has read this book, much less had anything to do with writing it.

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Not overly impressed.   I'm tired of having things like a "

    Not overly impressed.   I'm tired of having things like a "cover id" and other espionage terms explained
    to me as I'm reading.  Anyone reading this series is already well informed on these terms.  I feel like
    i'm seen as an uneducated reader in-spite of the fact that I have been following these characters
    from the start.  Attention to Character detail is poor.  For example, Jack Jr. is not the eldest Ryan child. 
    Anyone who has read this series knows this.

    Mark Greaney has marginalized the the characters we have come to love in an attempt to create an
    overly complex story.  "Locked On" had this same problem.  

    I read Tom Clancy novels for their excellent attention to accuracy about how military and special forces operate.   I also read them 
    because the main characters are kept as the central focal point for the story; not the disaster which
    happens to occurring at the moment. Mark Greaney however seems to make all the peripheral
    characters more important than the main characters.  

    I will no longer purchase any books written by Mark Greaney.


    I would like to see, however, another Grant Blackwood endeavor.   
     

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Waste of time and money

    This book reads like a first draft; it's all exposition and no action. If you were looking to get sucked into a gripping story, think again. Imagine seeing a really great film in the theater; now imagine listening to your teenage kid describing the film instead. That's about how far this book is from reading classic Clancy. Pity to see a good plot so handicapped by plodding, pedantic, unimaginative prose. Tom, we miss you!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Where is Tom Clancy?

    Where is Tom Clancy?

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    I am confused because why is it that there is not even a basic s

    I am confused because why is it that there is not even a basic summary about this book or what it is about? I mean come on, if it is out there to buy at stores and online, you have the book to at least print up what is written on the book jacket? 

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Clancy

    Got tired of Clancys books a few years ago. Still dont know why I read this one but sure am glad that I did. Very well written and an extremely easy story line to follow. If you are like me and have skipped a few of his works then its time to get back with a very good story teller and enjoy a thriller again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    I am not completely through the book, but Tom Clancy does not di

    I am not completely through the book, but Tom Clancy does not disappoint. This is a great book, and it continues right off of Locked On. Tom Clancy does a great job of continuing to link the books, and create a growing story. I love it.
    I bought it, and spent 3 hours at Star Bucks reading it. I'm hooked.


    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Yujjjjjm

    Hjjjgggjkl

    4 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    It's not Tom Clancy anymore.

    As a long time Clancy fan, I have to admit that I'm glad that Jack Ryan hasn't gone the way of the dodo. But I also have to be realistic with the fact that one of the great things about the Jack Ryan universe was that it so closely paralleled what was happening in our own world. And yet, the imaginative solutions Ryan implemented were so amazing that we all WISHED they would happen in real life. My own mother has voted for Jack Ryan for President... TWICE... as write in candidates.

    Threat Vector lacks the complexity in plot and scope that Clancy's earlier novels had - mostly because Threat Vector wasn't written by Clancy. Sure, he might have read it and said "yeah, this is good," but Mark Greaney, the real author doesn't have the same personal knowledge of the military that Clancy had, and it shows. Characters are less fleshed out, situational descriptions are Hollywoodish, and even classic characters are mere shadows of themselves.

    From a plot perspective, Threat Vector is also a rehash. In Clancy's universe, China is a defeated enemy, and yet Greaney brings the Dragon back to life and expects us to believe that despite their questionable sea power, the United States Navy is technically helpless to prevent China's domination of the South China Sea?

    Even the cyberwarfare was dumbed down so that non-computer folks could understand it, which is definitely at odds with how Clancy wrote. Rather than dumbing things down, he educated the reader. Remember the Cardinal in the Kremlin? I was practically an expert on Laser Missile Defense after that book.

    In the end, Threat Vector was a fun read - a way to pass the time. But it is very clear that the Jack Ryan series is in decline and that the sun has set on Jack Ryan, and even Jack Jr. Too bad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Excellent as always. Another great book from a great author. It

    Excellent as always. Another great book from a great author. It is predictable, but I think most books in this genre are to an extent. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!

    Tom Clancy never seems to disappoint. This novel keeps you at the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Im glad I read the abridged version as the technological explana

    Im glad I read the abridged version as the technological explanations in this technology heavy novel, slowed the plot down and dfied the reader to keep up. What keeps me reading Clancy is the fantasy of having an organization like the Campus and it's capabilities and staff in our government inrtigues me. I wish it were true!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I used to love Clancy's books, but hadn't read one in a while. B

    I used to love Clancy's books, but hadn't read one in a while. But, I loved Threat Vector. It may not be deep, but it's got lots of action and is a real page turner. It's great to reunite with characters like John Clark and Jack Ryan. Clancy's back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Loved it

    Very entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Another great.

    Another great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Junior better

    I have heard carping from Jack Senior fans that it is just not the same. I agree; it is better! Less techie and more thriller. I love the Campus books and hope there is more to come. Don't miss any of them; but i felt this was the best one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Disappointing

    As an avid follower of Clancy's work; I was dissappointed with this endeavor. Where IS Tom Clancy? There are portions of book I skipped because so boring and I have read ALL of his books over and over. Did Mr Clancy even read the final edit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    great read

    This is bringing some closure to the current thread & series.
    While I was hesitant due to Mark Greaney being involved, TV is a very good read.

    Better character development, there was an ending, but there is a set-up for the next in the series if they decide to go forward.

    Overall a good read, good enough I bought it on Audible aslo.

    Worth the time, but I still think B&N is too costly for E-books.
    Get on board or I will go elsewhere. Kindle is my next effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    the best yet recomend it to all my friends

    spell binding as all his other books.
    very hard to lay down and do my work

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Wow!

    This was an unbelievable read. Tom Clancy is AWESOME!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13