Customer Reviews for

Three (Legends of the Duskwalker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent writing, and very carefully constructed, extremely fas

Excellent writing, and very carefully constructed, extremely fascinating dystopian world. Manages to set itself apart from other novels of its type.

posted by Anonymous on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This post apocalyptic story starts with the enigmatic Three mind

This post apocalyptic story starts with the enigmatic Three minding his own business when he is approached by a beautiful woman and her young son. The pair are looking for a way out of a desperate situation. Little did he realize that how fateful this meeting would real...
This post apocalyptic story starts with the enigmatic Three minding his own business when he is approached by a beautiful woman and her young son. The pair are looking for a way out of a desperate situation. Little did he realize that how fateful this meeting would really be and where it would take him. Its not long before realizes what is in store for him when he agrees to help Cass escape from the malevolent Asher who wants to hurt her and capture Wren, her son. A flight for freedom soon turns into a fight of their lives.

The story unfolds as the trio make a perilous journey across a barren and dangerous country. Each of the lead characters tell parts of the story but it is largely told through Three's eyes. Something happened decades before that destroyed the world and left the Weir to destroy those that survived. I wasn't entirely sure what the Weir were but they sounded a bit like mechanized zombies but with electric blue eyes. Some of those that survived had special abilities and were augmented with networks so they could communicate electronically, like Cass and Wren. Three, however, was human but with exceptional skills as a gunfighter. He had been a loner and bounty hunter prior to meeting Cass and Wren.

Posey has created a gritty and detail rich world for his characters. The characters however, are just a tad one dimensional especially, Cass and Wren. I also missed having the back story as to what brought humanity to its knees and how the Weir were created. Three was interesting and I appreciated that Posey didn't explain everything about why he was different and how he came to be a bounty hunter. Posey also created some truly evil baddies, if not perhaps a little too obviously evil. Asher, the main antagonist was just a little too Dark Vader for my liking but there is an excellent twist in store in regards to this character.

While I thought there was a few flaws in the story and perhaps one too many escapes from Asher and his crew, it was an ambitious tale for a debut novel. Posey, created an interesting environment, conflicted heroes and some great twists and turns for all of the characters. Kudos to Posey on his debut novel. I look forward to reading more from this author.

posted by Melanie_atTheQwillery on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This post apocalyptic story starts with the enigmatic Three mind

    This post apocalyptic story starts with the enigmatic Three minding his own business when he is approached by a beautiful woman and her young son. The pair are looking for a way out of a desperate situation. Little did he realize that how fateful this meeting would really be and where it would take him. Its not long before realizes what is in store for him when he agrees to help Cass escape from the malevolent Asher who wants to hurt her and capture Wren, her son. A flight for freedom soon turns into a fight of their lives.

    The story unfolds as the trio make a perilous journey across a barren and dangerous country. Each of the lead characters tell parts of the story but it is largely told through Three's eyes. Something happened decades before that destroyed the world and left the Weir to destroy those that survived. I wasn't entirely sure what the Weir were but they sounded a bit like mechanized zombies but with electric blue eyes. Some of those that survived had special abilities and were augmented with networks so they could communicate electronically, like Cass and Wren. Three, however, was human but with exceptional skills as a gunfighter. He had been a loner and bounty hunter prior to meeting Cass and Wren.

    Posey has created a gritty and detail rich world for his characters. The characters however, are just a tad one dimensional especially, Cass and Wren. I also missed having the back story as to what brought humanity to its knees and how the Weir were created. Three was interesting and I appreciated that Posey didn't explain everything about why he was different and how he came to be a bounty hunter. Posey also created some truly evil baddies, if not perhaps a little too obviously evil. Asher, the main antagonist was just a little too Dark Vader for my liking but there is an excellent twist in store in regards to this character.

    While I thought there was a few flaws in the story and perhaps one too many escapes from Asher and his crew, it was an ambitious tale for a debut novel. Posey, created an interesting environment, conflicted heroes and some great twists and turns for all of the characters. Kudos to Posey on his debut novel. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Excellent writing, and very carefully constructed, extremely fas

    Excellent writing, and very carefully constructed, extremely fascinating dystopian world. Manages to set itself apart from other novels of its type.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    A different kind of "post-apocalypse" book. A nice mix of scifi, mystery, and thriller. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Just ok

    It felt like this book started in the middle of the story or you just read part two of a series and you need to read the first book to have a basic understanding on what you are trying to read now. The author leaves out some basics facts of the book, it could of been much better with more background

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    No, I can not recommend this book. First of all, it is not

    No, I can not recommend this book. First of all, it is not at all fresh. Like so many others it is "super fast zombies", super human karate skills and post apocalyptic. It is just too much the formula that is the rage today. But, more importantly, it is that formula applied to a far too flat world. This is our hero group moving from one "do or die" fight to the next in page turning repetition without any shift in pace, texture or color. The author's background in computer games really comes out in this regard. The plot is one "danger room" after another like we are navigating a maze with only so many lives to spend. Finally, I thought the story really had the "Star Trek Away Team Problem". Woe be it to any minor character who joins our ban of heroes as they enter the next "room" of their quest! He will certainly have a very small chance of survival!
    I don't know where this series will go from here, but I will not be along for the ride. Three was just to flat and linear for me.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Awesome book!

    Great book! Couldn't put it down! I highly recommend it. A page turner with a great cast of character and a creative and intriguing plot.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    This author has one of the most strange and off-putting styles o

    This author has one of the most strange and off-putting styles of writing i have ever come across.It is choppy and confusing with LONG periods of "down time" where absolutely nothing happens. I could not finish this book. I did skip to the end to see if the main character died or not. Thankfully he did, so I won't have to suffer through a sequel.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Fun and well paced adventure.

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish. The characters are fun and easy to like. The action is fast but not over the top. A great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I was reading it every free moment t

    I really enjoyed this book. I was reading it every free moment that I had. The ending could have been a little better, but it was fitting for this book. I look forward to the next book. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Three is an outstanding post-apocryphal novel with strong charac

    Three is an outstanding post-apocryphal novel with strong character and plot development. I thoroughly enjoyed it and my only complaint is that some of the interesting ideas in it weren't real clear to me, but that was probably the fault of my misfiring neurons.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2015

    Interesting or no?

    My cousin just started reading this book and e said it was good so far. I suggested Warriors to him and he loves it. Now it is my turn. Is this book good or not? Im seeing mixed reviews and Im not sure. :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2015

    Sjaj

    Boring,boring,boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Fire the editor and hit spell check...

    Concept and story would be awesome but this writer fails to pick context and tense. He is all over the place attempting to create completely unused plot devices and alt story lines. Really honestly felt like it was written by a young author but he claims to have been in the business of write book and helping develop plot lines for games for years... This is the one I finish after purchasing thing and "Morningside Fall" I really wish I could sell the books off somehow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2015

    Awsome book

    Awsome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Action packed! I really enjoyed this book. The character develop

    Action packed! I really enjoyed this book. The character development and the storyline were both very interesting and exciting, but I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic books :) If you're looking for an easy read that will whisk you away to another time and place I would highly recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Ok quick read

    Had a hard time caring for the story. Liked the idea but got bored

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Different but wow

    At first i wasnt sure about this one but it turned into a fantastic story. Well done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Ally to Aido

    Next result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    Well written and original. I really enjoyed this book, and I don

    Well written and original. I really enjoyed this book, and I don't typically read post-apocalyptic novels. Definitely worth checking out! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Short review

    Good book. The English lamguage was well used in the writing of this book. I enjoyed it from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3