Customer Reviews for

Three Black Skirts: All You Need to Survive

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    !A TRUE INSPIRATION!

    Anna Johnson cover's it all Food, Health, Men, Spirituality, Sex, Saving the World, Having Class and Being Unique all at the same time. I have read it many times. This is the best book I have ever read. I am waiting for her next book to come out. Sincerely, Dianna 23, mother of 1, yoga teacher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    Funny Lady!

    It has been ages since I've enjoyed a self-help book--Anna Johnson combines clever anecdotes with common sense. Each section is accompanied by line drawings so real, they literally jump off the page, delivering her message beautifully, encouraging you to devour each chapter. I have reread her book soooo many times and extracted a new tidbit each and every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    A Great Book!

    The best part about this book is how complete it is, I've never read anything like it! If you want to purchase a book about being a woman, this is what I reccomend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    I heart Anna

    The only reason I left off that fifth star is that as wonderful as this book is, Anna's columns for WomenCentral are even better, and after this book I just want MOREMOREMORE. Anna's is the only fashion advice that I have ever found to actually be helpful to a variety of real human women, unlike the suggestions and spreads in fashion mags that are completely 1.stupid ugly ridiculous and not appropriate for wearing to anything that ever happens on this planet and 2. totally expensive. I can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Its all I need to survive!

    This is one of those books I wish I could have gotten in hardcover, because I have read it so many times it is definitely looking the worse for wear! I read it when I need to feel inspired, and when I need to hear that it is OK that I don't beleive what advertisers tell me and that I don't do what every one else does. This book manages to do the nearly-impossible job of targeting a large group while still feeling like it was written just for me. It will help keep me grounded in my own unique womanliness for decades to come... hmm, maybe I should get it laminated and spiral-bound! I don't want it falling apart on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    WOW

    WOW! Being a teenager, I didn't realize life was like that even up to adult hood! This book really helped me see a bunch of stuff from a new perspective. It's great, and I recommend it for all ages. There's just one thing: No Boys Allowed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    It's a book that helps you enjoy and realize how awesome YOU are!

    This book was a great book to read that made me go have a shopping spree on myself. Whether I bought a blouse, shoes, or a manicure it was alone time with myself. After reading "Three Black Skirts" I felt inspired with how to take control of me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    I wanted to like it, really I did

    Based on reader reviews, I bought this book with the best of intentions and set aside a Friday night to linger over it. Alas, I was sorely disappointed. Perhaps this book is more conducive to a 20-something audience rather than a most definitely 30-something. I found myself very often commenting, 'Well, DUH!', since none of the content seemed refreshing or unique to me at all. I didn't laugh, I didn't cry, I didn't hug my dog or call my long-lost best friend. I see from the reviews that I'm in the minority, but this book just didn't do it for me, even though I purchased it with the highest of hopes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Nicely Done!

    What a great book! As I was reading ¿Three Black Skirts: All You Need to Survive¿, I laughed, agreed with some things, contemplated others, but most of all, I could not put it down. It made me focus on my needs and myself. This book has changed me forever. I have a better understanding of myself as a woman, a daughter, a friend, a sister, a mate and I celebrate being a woman. I highly recommend this book. For me, it is a reminder of simple things that I have forgotten, took for granted or simply did not know. For example, the simple pleasure of taking a bubble bath by candlelight, with a glass of champagne. ¿Yes! Go ahead, fill up that tub!¿ This book has really helped me to help myself, mentally, physically, spiritually and emotionally. It is a straightforward book with great ideas and packed with wisdom and told in a wonderful way. The ultimate message for me was to love myself and enjoy the gift of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    How can you live without it?

    No woman should go without this book! It's a survival guide that I can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2002

    rave review

    just reading the excerpt shook me out of my doldrums, a good read and great buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    Girls guide to EVERYTHING

    I love this book, I bought it on a whim while feeling blue about a year ago and it has lived on my nightstand ever since. This book helps with everything, it tells you how to paint your room, how to fix the toilet, how to cook a great meal, and how to dress like a goodess and feel good in your own skin. I love this book. it's also laid out very well. flowery fonts, and bold pink print make it a very easy read. buy if for your favorite friend. And get one for yourself, you deserve it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    Great advice

    Excellent advice on jobs and career, money, clothing, beauty, nutrition, political and environmental advice. Its excellent in those categories. However the books fails in the sex, and dating sections, mainly because I don't agree with them. The spiritual section and mood section is a joke; the author's idea of spiritual is meditating and yoga, not God. However if you are willing to ignore those poor chapters, it would be an amazing book to get overall, because of the great advice that it offers, especially for those that are in their 20s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    This is me!

    I picked up this book idly around the holidays, read one page in the bookshop and just had to buy it! I couldn't believe how spot on it was and I had to convince myself that I hadn't written it, but it's the book I would've written if I knew all of this stuff. (I'm getting there, fear not!) Then I saw that the author is an Aussie who divides her time between New York and Sydney - which is just about the same as me! No wonder I can relate to this woman! I'm now buying copies to give to my sisters and closest friends - not that they really need guidance as such (no more than we all do) but because they'll get as much of a kick out of it as I do. It's the kind of book that you can keep going back to and finding something new or something you'd forgotten and it makes you smile all over again. Especially the 'dancing naked in Ugg boots..' Good on yer, Anna! And thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    A sweet and smart book for clever girls

    Finally, a book that looks nice on your night table and offers useful information. Most self-help books either pound the reader to submission with tough love, or slobber all over them like a smitten golden retriever. This book is like a cool older sister: she shows you the ropes, compliments you when you succeed, and holds you up when you fail. And she looks great doing it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1