Customer Reviews for

Three Broken Promises (One Week Girlfriend Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

3.75 stars THREE BROKEN PROMISES is the third storyline in Monic

3.75 stars
THREE BROKEN PROMISES is the third storyline in Monica Murphy’s contemporary, new adult series Drew and Fable. Although this is not the continuing adventures of Drew and Fable it is Jen and Colin’s story-Jen is Fable’s BFF and Colin is their boss. The story i...
3.75 stars
THREE BROKEN PROMISES is the third storyline in Monica Murphy’s contemporary, new adult series Drew and Fable. Although this is not the continuing adventures of Drew and Fable it is Jen and Colin’s story-Jen is Fable’s BFF and Colin is their boss. The story is told from first person POV –alternating between Colin and Jen.
The storyline focuses on two twenty-something people who have more than a difficult time expressing their feelings to one another. Colin is a man possessed by the demons of war where his best friend Danny died leaving Colin the sole protector of Danny’s sister Jen. Jen and Colin’s relationship has always been more like brother and sister although neither want to address the proverbial elephant in the room-their mutual attraction for one another and the sexual tension and heat whenever they are together. Now that Jen lives under the same roof with Colin, she finds herself becoming Colin’s protector whenever the nightmares overpower his ability to sleep and think.
Jen has a backstory that is slowly revealed throughout the storyline and one that is both heartbreaking and shocking to her friends and Colin. Knowing that Colin would never accept her past, Jen gives her notice and prepares to leave the security of her friends, her job and the man with whom she has fallen in love. The secrets they keep from one another weigh heavily with each waking day.
The storyline is rife with angst and anxiety as Jen and Colin push each other at every step of the way. Jen needs and wants Colin to admit he has feelings for her but Colin believes it is his duty to protect Jen from others and men like himself. He wants Jen; he needs Jen; but in the end, his inability to express his love for Jen will push her away one final time. And in this, she walks into another situation even more dangerous than the one she left behind.
The world building and sexual tension continue throughout the storyline but much of the time was spent in ruminations and thoughts about what ifs and whys; Fable’s brother Owen is but a blip on the radar although his storyline is the next to be told; and Drew and Fable play minor secondary roles throughout the story.
But I did have an issue with the quick resolution to the build up of the story. The plot and premise of the final confrontation felt disjointed and disconnected to the storyline; it came out of left field and I was thinking-WTH just happened and where did that come from?
THREE BROKEN PROMISES is a well written storyline but I didn’t feel the connection to the leading couple as I did with Drew and Fable’s story. Although there is plenty of angst and anxiety there was none of the heartbreaking revelations that pulled me into the story where I felt for the characters as I did with Drew and Fable. Perhaps it was Colin and Jen’s personalities or their lack of communication with one another-for two people in their twenties they still had plenty of growing up to do.
Copy supplied by the publisher through Netgalley.

posted by Sandy-thereadingcafe on January 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

First impression: The cover is hot. I can totally picture the gu

First impression:
The cover is hot. I can totally picture the guy and the girl as Colin and Jen. I was interested in learning more about their past and the connection that they had.




The story:
Colin and Jen grew up together. Colin and Jen's brother, Danny, were best...
First impression:
The cover is hot. I can totally picture the guy and the girl as Colin and Jen. I was interested in learning more about their past and the connection that they had.




The story:
Colin and Jen grew up together. Colin and Jen's brother, Danny, were best friends. Danny and Colin were supposed to join the military together, but Colin decided to take a different path. Danny ended up being killed in action and Colin hasn't been able to move past it. He harbors guilt over the fact that he should have been with Danny. Then, there's the situation with Jen. Colin promised Danny that he would look after Jen. But, he lost track of her for a while. When he found her, he was shocked to find out how she had been living. Since then, he's provided her with everything she needs. He's fallen for her too, but he doesn't feel worthy of her.




Jen, on the other hand, wants to move on with her life and she wants Colin to be a part of it. He's long played the protective brother with her, but she needs him to be more. The problem is that they both have secrets and loads of guilt.




The characters:
I'll admit that I've never really been a fan of Colin's. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the fact that he took care of my girl, Fable, when she needed it. And I do feel like Colin has a good heart. I did warm up to him a bit in this book. I liked how he took care of Jen.




Jen...I liked her well enough. I liked the fact that she didn't want to be dependent on anyone and really wanted to move on with her life. Sure, she wanted Colin to stand with her, but she was willing to move on. What bugged me about Jen is that it took her too long to take a stand with Colin. I also felt like she had good intentions, but she made really bad choices. I'm such a planner, so it irritated me that she made plans to move on, but didn't really think it through. Not to mention the choices she made before moving in with Colin. Eek. I know that might sound nit picky, but it bugged me.




What didn't work for me:
I'm all for sex. And...I love how Monica Murphy stages her sex scenes. She knows how to write good sex. There were plenty sexy times between Jen and Colin. For the most part, I enjoyed those particular scenes. I had a bit of trouble feeling the intensity between them though. Maybe it was because they were holding back with each other?




The biggest thing for me though was that I just didn't get all that excited about their story. I like Jen and Colin well enough and I do see their role in the series as a whole, but they aren't my favorites. I could easily put the book down and come back to it when I had time.




Overall: 
I did like it. I appreciated how their story came to a close and was relieved once the truth was out for both of them. I loved to see glimpses of my girl, Fable. She and Jen have a good friendship and I think Fable helps guide Jen. If you love this series as much as I do, I suggest you do read this one, even though it wasn't a favorite for me. It did have moments that I truly enjoyed, so it's worth a go. 




Favorite Quote:
"You banged him, didn't you."
Fable's soft voice breaks through my dirty thoughts and I turn to her, ready to protest, but she shakes her head.
"Don't bother denying it. You two are so obvious. Oh my God, no wonder you're glowing." She steps closer to me, lowering her voice. "You had sex. With Colin. Holy. Sh*t!"-Loc 1746

posted by TheAutumnReview on January 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    First impression: The cover is hot. I can totally picture the gu

    First impression:
    The cover is hot. I can totally picture the guy and the girl as Colin and Jen. I was interested in learning more about their past and the connection that they had.




    The story:
    Colin and Jen grew up together. Colin and Jen's brother, Danny, were best friends. Danny and Colin were supposed to join the military together, but Colin decided to take a different path. Danny ended up being killed in action and Colin hasn't been able to move past it. He harbors guilt over the fact that he should have been with Danny. Then, there's the situation with Jen. Colin promised Danny that he would look after Jen. But, he lost track of her for a while. When he found her, he was shocked to find out how she had been living. Since then, he's provided her with everything she needs. He's fallen for her too, but he doesn't feel worthy of her.




    Jen, on the other hand, wants to move on with her life and she wants Colin to be a part of it. He's long played the protective brother with her, but she needs him to be more. The problem is that they both have secrets and loads of guilt.




    The characters:
    I'll admit that I've never really been a fan of Colin's. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the fact that he took care of my girl, Fable, when she needed it. And I do feel like Colin has a good heart. I did warm up to him a bit in this book. I liked how he took care of Jen.




    Jen...I liked her well enough. I liked the fact that she didn't want to be dependent on anyone and really wanted to move on with her life. Sure, she wanted Colin to stand with her, but she was willing to move on. What bugged me about Jen is that it took her too long to take a stand with Colin. I also felt like she had good intentions, but she made really bad choices. I'm such a planner, so it irritated me that she made plans to move on, but didn't really think it through. Not to mention the choices she made before moving in with Colin. Eek. I know that might sound nit picky, but it bugged me.




    What didn't work for me:
    I'm all for sex. And...I love how Monica Murphy stages her sex scenes. She knows how to write good sex. There were plenty sexy times between Jen and Colin. For the most part, I enjoyed those particular scenes. I had a bit of trouble feeling the intensity between them though. Maybe it was because they were holding back with each other?




    The biggest thing for me though was that I just didn't get all that excited about their story. I like Jen and Colin well enough and I do see their role in the series as a whole, but they aren't my favorites. I could easily put the book down and come back to it when I had time.




    Overall: 
    I did like it. I appreciated how their story came to a close and was relieved once the truth was out for both of them. I loved to see glimpses of my girl, Fable. She and Jen have a good friendship and I think Fable helps guide Jen. If you love this series as much as I do, I suggest you do read this one, even though it wasn't a favorite for me. It did have moments that I truly enjoyed, so it's worth a go. 




    Favorite Quote:
    "You banged him, didn't you."
    Fable's soft voice breaks through my dirty thoughts and I turn to her, ready to protest, but she shakes her head.
    "Don't bother denying it. You two are so obvious. Oh my God, no wonder you're glowing." She steps closer to me, lowering her voice. "You had sex. With Colin. Holy. Sh*t!"-Loc 1746

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This book was a great read. Jen and Colin's story was great. Eve

    This book was a great read. Jen and Colin's story was great. Even though both were fighting there past demons and Everything that happens. Love will find a way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Not as good as the others in the series

    The first 100 pages dragged on and on with Fable and Colin stating their worries and insecurities over and over and over again. This could have been done in 30 pages, not 100. Felt it was filler to make the book longer. We do get our HEA in the end, but it took way to long. Was not Monica's usual good work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Eh

    The characters were extremely annoying and a lot of their feelings were kind of contradictory. There was also a lot of filler

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    It's so good to read something where the couple knew each other

    It's so good to read something where the couple knew each other since they were so young! I honestly wish I could have had that connection with someone the way Colin and Jen do!




    Colin and Jennifer were a good, cute couple and I wanted them together the entire time the book was going, but it was like the book couldn't hear my yells and screams. I thought that Jen could be very annoying sometimes. I personally liked reading Fable and Drew's story better, I think it was because I liked Fable better. She reminded me of myself more. Jen just seemed a little... awkward to me. I didn't like the way Jen and Colin's story was. What I mean is how they were childhood friends (I actually love this), and she had an older brother. He happened to be her brothers best friend. It wasn't this that bothered me, it was how Danny died, and she would always comfort Colin. But they always acted as if nothing happened. This made me angry because I wanted to see a real relationship, and you could see it buried under all their freaking baggage. They both had so much baggage, it was another thing that dragged the story down.




    I wasn't very happy with how long it really took for them to know they were made for each other. As for Colin, wow. He was actually very hot and I appreciated him, although his constant blaming himself was annoying. I didn't understand how they couldn't just help each other get though it. Anyway, Colin was definitely one of the guys I really like. I really like Monica Murphy's writing style and plan to read Four Years Later, which I'm overly excited before because we get to return to a world of Drew and Fable again.




    I recommend this book to readers who enjoy New Adult heavy reads or like Monica Murphy in general.




    Rating: 6.9/10
    Parental Rating: 16+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ok

    This was an ok book, nothing like OWG or SCB! I just did not feel the emotions between Jen and Colin, something was missing!!! I love the first two books in the series, they are keepers to read over and over every few months but this one is going to the B&N Archive, it's like all the other New Adult Romance books, redundant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Good read !

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    I was excited to read Colin¿s story. However, I was disappointed

    I was excited to read Colin’s story. However, I was disappointed that Jen was the love interest, but I thought I will give her a try.  I liked her in Second Chance Boyfriend, but I was not sure how I felt about Colin and her actually being a couple.  Jen was a great friend and a nice person, but after about 20%, my instincts were right that I did not want her with Colin.  What we knew about Jen from Second Chance Boyfriend made her seem “experienced” and in Three Broken Promises we learn more about her and her past.  I did not like it at all.  I wish that Monica Murphy would have written a different heroine for Colin.  
    I did not get or feel the connection between these two characters.  It felt forced.   Yes, that was nice that Colin knew Jen’s brother and he made that promise to watch over her, but he made the promise to watch over her, not be with her. And the obstacles…I was yelling at them through my Kindle to break up and answering their question “yes you are not good for each other.”   
    The writing was good.  Monica Murphy wrote such a beautiful story with Drew and Fable that I wanted that for Colin. I was just disappointed.  I may be in the minority here.
    A copy was provided by Random House Publishing Group - Bantam Dell via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After reading One Week Boyfriend, I fell in love with Monica. Wh

    After reading One Week Boyfriend, I fell in love with Monica. When I got approved for Three Broken Promises, I was beside myself. So excited to get Jen and Colin's story.

    Like many reviewers, this one sort of fell flat for me. It was good, but there wasn't anything really amazing in it that made me love it like OWB and SCB. Jen and Colin are practically together all the day but their communication it totally and completely lacking and this causes the book to be frustrating. There was just so much and it took quite a while to get to the good stuff.

    On the positive side, there were plenty of steamy scenes and those were great. I loved Colin. I love that he takes care of Jen and cares deeply for her. And I love that we get both POV.

    I recommend this one if you've been reading this series and I cannot wait for Owen's book. :)

    Copy provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Love the author, like the characters Jen and Colin from Drew and

    Love the author, like the characters Jen and Colin from Drew and Fable's books but this story could have been better. Their story needed to be told because they are friends with Drew and Fable from One Week Girlfriend/Second Chance Boyfriend (great books by this author). But something was missing. Jen was a bit whiny, lost and confused and basically needed saving. Colin seemed older than his age, had guilty feelings about his attraction to Jen and basically fighting their connection. I still do not know what the three broken promises were? It took Jen desperately running away for Colin to find her, say he loves her, and them being a couple. The ending was rushed and really brushed over some very serious issues about Jen that should have been better addressed. The author Monica Murphy tackled more difficult issues in her other stories. That said I am still looking forward to further stories of Drew and Fable, and Owen's stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A good New Adult romance. I didn't love this book, but I did enj

    A good New Adult romance. I didn't love this book, but I did enjoy reading it. The romance was sweet and super steamy and the emotions were deep. I thought this book was lovely.

    Jen was a good heroine. On one hand, she was mostly likable and determined to become independent, rather than have to rely on others. I liked that she put herself out there to gain a relationship with Colin, which took a lot of guts, but wasn't going to just stick around and take it while he kept pushing her away. On the other hand, she was frustrating. Her quest for independence, which involved moving to a city she didn't know, with no job lined up, and no car, seemed more like a fool's quest. It was more like she was doing that whole production to prove a point, but I don't think accepting help from others is a bad thing. Also, that quest of hers hurt her friends and she didn't care, which I thought was mean. And, I kind of thought she was ungrateful. After Colin helped her get out of a bad situation, she wanted to leave so that he would follow, which just seemed like a petty game. She knew why he didn't want a relationship. It would have been much more productive had she just talked to him about it. Despite all those annoyances, I didn't dislike Jen. She was fine, but she just wasn't my favorite character.

    Colin was better, though there were still a couple of issues. He was very sweet and the kind of guy to feel things deeply. When Danny died, he felt like he failed his friend and that has haunted him since. I thought he was adorable. I had two problems with him. 1) I didn't understand why he didn't just tell Jen what the nightmares were about so that she could help him. In this case, he wasn't being stubborn about not wanting him. He didn't want to involve Jen in his endless guilt. But, it was still annoying. And 2) I was irritated that he was just going to let Jen go. He even helped her find somewhere else to stay. Way to convince her to stay with you, man. Other than those two issues, though, I really liked him.

    The romance was lovely. I thought Jen and Colin were sweet together. Their feelings for each other were obvious, but they had some serious issues admitting them. And, the heat between them was off the charts! Extremely, fan-your-face, sparks flying everywhere hot. There were definitely some steamy scenes. I think it can be easily assumed from what I've said so far, but Jen and Colin has some serious communication issues. They were determined to assume, miscommunicate, and flat out refuse to talk to each other. They were insistent on pushing each other away. It made me want to whack them upside the head, then shut them in a room together until they actually talked. That was really the main issue that bled into everything else and caused other issues. They really just needed to actually talk to each other. They got there eventually, but, until then, I was very frustrated. But, overall, I liked them together.

    I had one final problem with this book, and that was Jen's whole quest for independence. You already know I thought it was foolhardy. I can't for the life of me understand why a sane person would leave a safe and stable home for an uncertain and unknown city, just to prove a point. Why? And, then the ending, or should I say epic flop, to that production was anticlimactic. She literally only lasted a few hours. And, she still could barely swallow her pride and ask for help. It just seemed unnecessary.

    The plot was steadily paced. I wasn't completely hooked, but I was kept interested the entire way through. For the most part, I enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was lovely. I think that, after all that complaining, it seems like I didn't like the book. But, the fact that I still liked the book despite the problems I had with it, it definitely an extra point in its favor. Despite my complaints, I did enjoy reading this book.

    Three Broken Promises was a lovely New Adult romance. I had my issues with it, but I still liked it. Lovers of romance, if you want something sweet, steamy, and emotional, then you might want to check this book out.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1