Customer Reviews for

Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace...One School at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 981 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(581)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An inspirational and uplifting story

A story which shows that people around the world are truly good. Whether this book simply makes you realize that you're not as different from your neighbor as your thought or it inspires you to follow your heart to change the world, it's a great read.

posted by SphinxFeathers on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was hoping for.

I am an avid reader and love to read about other cultures. I found this book very dull and tedious. It was not really about the culture as the cover hints, but more of an autobiography about a mountain climber who visits that area. Although it does describe the perso...
I am an avid reader and love to read about other cultures. I found this book very dull and tedious. It was not really about the culture as the cover hints, but more of an autobiography about a mountain climber who visits that area. Although it does describe the personality of the people he meets, it does not describe how these people truly live. For example, although it goes on and on about the building of schools for girls, where the lumber and blocks actually come from, you never actually get to 'know' any of these girls or hear their stories. The book is more the author's perception of the people that he meets and the surprising kindness he feels, rather than a voice from a different culture. I found it disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Please read this review!!!!!

    From what I heard from a lot of comments, Greg Mortenson is a fraud, a thief, and this whole story is made up. He got money from his supposed charity, CAI, and kept it for himself. Some people say that, oh, read this book, its so touching and eye opening, but Greg Mortenson will not have an extra 12.99 in his pocket because I will most definitely be purchasing this book. I also heard from a WHOLE lot a comments that this is a poorly written book and, I'm sorry, but I am not spending 13 dollars on a poorly written book that a thiefy person wrote. Sorry! Im trying to say this in a non-offensive way, but Im just sharing my personal opinion. It sounds like a really great message, and I will say that. I hope you all know that I am sharing my personal opinion and you don't have to aggree with me. I will not be purchasing this book or any product from Greg Mortenson.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Mortenson is a fraud and the worst kind of thief

    I beg you not to spend any money on this book or any other book by Greg Mortenson. His supposed charity, CAI, paid him millions of dollars to promote this book (which by the way is also loaded with lies) but Mr. Mortenson kept all the proceeds from the sales of the book. His charity, CAI, gets an F from CharityWatch and 60 Minutes did an expose on him. Again, please, please do not support this thief. He is the worst kind of thief. He takes hard earned money from kind and giving people, and instead of giving it to the poor, he keeps it. I hope this man goes to prison.

    I really wish B&N would not sell any of his books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    not what it seems

    Saw a story about this author on 60 minutes news program. His stories are not true, he made them up to sell more books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Three Cups of Tea? No, thank you.

    My book club met this evening to discuss this month's selection, 'Three Cups of Tea.' We are a group of wives and mothers with varied professional degrees, and who are active within our local volunteer community. As a previous book club member posted, we also 'wondered what all the fuss is about.' We collectively decided that just because this book is on the NYT's bestseller list does not necessarily mean it is either *good*, *well-written*, or relevant. 'Three Cups of Tea' is classified as a 'current events' selection, but obsesses on the foibles of a hapless not-for-profit fundraiser. It is shameful that the true heroes of the book are ignored namely, the brave Pakastani villagers who risk life and limb to provide a better life for their children. Also, the writing of this book leaves much to be desired. It is filled with tries-too-hard adjectives, and never found what voice was going to be the narrative. Maddening. If you are looking for an inspirational book to start the new year, 'Three Cups of Tea' isn't it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational BUT

    Well, I feel bad because this is an inspirational story - but i couldn't even finish it. I got tired of the endless description of the "non- appealing" Afghanistan countryside. It just went on and on. Also I never got to know the characters. I have to commend Greg for what he has done, but I couldn't read any more of it. What's wrong with me? Everybody liked this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    Not a great read

    I would not waste my time with this propaganda. The usual stuff.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    This book is highly irrationaly great in every stupid mannner i

    This book is highly irrationaly great in every stupid mannner i really hop eyou do go read this if you are highly educated in the study of anonymous assumptions of greatness. Have a fantastic day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    #suckls

    #suckls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Horrible

    Worst book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Poorly Written

    This book was awful, particularly hard to follow the timeline of events. Basically I read this so that I could read Jon Krakuer's book right after. I couldn't even finish the last fifty pages because it was pure babble and egotistically driven (in my opinion). However, I will agree the idea behind this campaign is morally driven, whether or not actually factual or ethical is to the eye of the beholder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    a lie

    fake plus the author takes the money from the organizations

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2