Customer Reviews for

Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace...One School at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 983 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(582)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An inspirational and uplifting story

A story which shows that people around the world are truly good. Whether this book simply makes you realize that you're not as different from your neighbor as your thought or it inspires you to follow your heart to change the world, it's a great read.

posted by SphinxFeathers on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was hoping for.

I am an avid reader and love to read about other cultures. I found this book very dull and tedious. It was not really about the culture as the cover hints, but more of an autobiography about a mountain climber who visits that area. Although it does describe the perso...
I am an avid reader and love to read about other cultures. I found this book very dull and tedious. It was not really about the culture as the cover hints, but more of an autobiography about a mountain climber who visits that area. Although it does describe the personality of the people he meets, it does not describe how these people truly live. For example, although it goes on and on about the building of schools for girls, where the lumber and blocks actually come from, you never actually get to 'know' any of these girls or hear their stories. The book is more the author's perception of the people that he meets and the surprising kindness he feels, rather than a voice from a different culture. I found it disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 582 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An inspirational and uplifting story

    A story which shows that people around the world are truly good. Whether this book simply makes you realize that you're not as different from your neighbor as your thought or it inspires you to follow your heart to change the world, it's a great read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    No wonder its on PBS's presidential book list!

    This is an amazing book which has been included in the list of books that Bill Moyers on PBS recommends our president should read! It magnifies the fact that no matter which part of the globe and faith we belong to, as humans we all share a common sense of good and evil and a common yearning for progress. Above all this book shows that instead of de-humanising the other, we should attempt to reach out and try to understand their perspective. And if we do that, we will almost always find that as humans we are inherently the same.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    The Better Side of Humanity

    This book was recommended to me and I wasn¿t disappointed. Though I am primarily a lover of fiction, this book inspired me and reminded me that there are always obstacles and those obstacles are meant to be overcome. It¿s a practice of continually spiraling through the process of action and re-evaluation and, eventually, that persistence and determination will bear fruit. <BR/><BR/>The book begins with the hospitality and generosity of the people in small, impoverished Korphe, Pakistan to an outsider in need of aid and spans 911, the invasion of Afghanistan and then Iraq. Riddled throughout we see the disparate trails of understanding and intolerance weave their paths through the lives on all sides of the battlefield without discrimination. What stands out is the power of education. Not only in the sense of the traditional litany of math, language and history, but in striving to understand basic human and cultural divides and working together to overcome them.<BR/> <BR/>To wrap this around to our current political situation, this `war on terror¿, as the hypnotic buzz-term goes, has only created more hatred and contempt for America ¿ and not only in the Middle East. It¿s good to find these buoys that bear a message of tolerance and peace and a measure of sanity during this circus of carnage and current of aggression.<BR/><BR/>I¿ll definitely be passing this book along.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    An astonishing story of one man bravely following his belief with perserverance and dedication to what is just and right.

    This is the story of a modern-day hero. If today's youth would read about and follow men like Greg Morteson, there would be peace in every country on this earth.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Should be required for everyone

    This is truly an inspiration of what one man with a dream can do to draw together people from all walks of life to create change in the world. Mortensen's story, and the work that he is doing create a lasting impact on the world. Everyone in a position to set policy in this world should be required to read/listen to/absorb this book. Ending terrorism comes with healing relationships, not with bombs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Greatest Book Ever

    This book is very interesting and has showed me many lessons I would have never understood until reading this book. Mortenson is a great person who shows what caring for other is really about. I would recommend that people read this book before setting on judgements. Remarkable book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just finished the book, 'Three Cups of Tea' and so completely moved and educated and angered by what is really going on in the middle east. I was so inspired by Greg's courage and tenacity and foresight, that fighting 'the war on terror' starts and lasts by educating and nuturing it's children. Period. Please read this book and share it with your friends and family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    God Bless this man, his family and all those who helped him on this incredible journey!

    A truly remarkable jouney of courage and determination. The bonds that were created by Mr. Mortenson are forged of nothing but pure heart. Truly remarkable people forge paths that change the world and Mr. Mortenson does just that. Amazing - truly - beautifully written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic.

    One man's journey to educate children in Pakinstan. A great perspective on war and the root causes. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Highly recommend

    One of the best I have ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Required reading for American policymakers...

    Just finished this and I fully understand why this book has been assigned as required reading - from what I'm told - for American military leaders in the Afghan-Pakistan theater of war. While it's overly detailed in some parts about Mortenson's life away from his efforts for the "cause," it aptly describes the Afghan-Paki frame of mind in the largely lawless areas of the Afghan-Pakistan border region. It also makes universal truths quite evident about poverty in general. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    i loved this book its really touching it makes me want to help out and have a job like that some day!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Captivating

    Very touching. A must read journey through Pakistan and the help he gave the people who lived there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    The Cup of Tea That Changed the World

    The novel Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin is truly an amazing piece of work. It's all about the struggle that Mortenson faces in attempting to build schools in middle eastern countries such as Pakistan, Nepal, and many others. The story begins as Mortenson prepares himself for the decent of one of the hardest mountains to climb in the world, infamous K2 of the Himalayas. Sadly, he does not accomplish his goal of reaching the summit and ends up coming into larger problems. He is separated from the group and forced to survive the night on his own. By some miracle, he is found the next day by one of the Himalayan natives who was helping the climbing team. His name was Mouzafer and he was from the small village below K2 named Korphe. Mouzafer took Mortenson back to his village to give him time to recover. The leader of the village, Haji Ali, took Mortenson into his own home and nursed him back to life. Mortenson connected with the Korphe natives and was amazed to discover they had no type of school. He promised them that as soon as he was healthy again, he would return with the supplies to build a school. Korphe natives had heard promises like this before and did not think much of it, but sure enough, Mortenson overcame numerous challenges and built them a school with donated American money a few years down the road. A wealthy climber back in American heard of Mortenson's work and decided he would donate a large some of money to create an organization called the CAI (Central Asia Institute) with Greg Mortenson as the head. His name was Jean Hoerni. Mortenson and the CAI would build hundreds of schools for children all across Central Asia. The major message being portrayed in this novel is definitely the idea of how much one person can accomplish, and that one single man can actually change the world. It is overwhelmingly uplifting, and inspires the reader to go out and do good for the world. I really loved this novel and the story behind it. It really makes you realize how lucky you are to be able to go to school every day when some kids around the world wouldn't even have the choice if they wanted it. Greg Mortenson is truly an amazing individual and someone that I definitely aspire to be like. He has an incredible kind and easy going personality, but also so much passion to do good in the world. The only dislike I had was that it was a little difficult to keep all the foreign names straight. My overall rating is definitely very high, I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an inspiring story and a possibility to attempt to understand the events taking place outside of our country.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An absorbing story that illustrates the fact that despite the politics of a country we all have the same dreams for our children.

    Three Cups of Tea tells the story of a mountaineer who has failed to reach his goal but finds so much more in himself and the people involved with him.
    Greg Mortenson has truly made a difference to the lives of people who tend to be forgotten in a world where governments try to act on behalf of their countries but somehow seem to miss the point.
    This book definitely makes one think about the world around us and our own small part in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Everyone should read this book.

    Greg Mortenson is an inspiration, and this incredibly absorbing and well-written book is a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Kudos to Mortenson for his spirit and determination

    I may not have read this book had it not been the monthly selection for my local book club. It started out a bit slowly for me, but I wanted to complete it so as to participate in the discussion. I am so glad that I did as it was inspirational and amazing. Greg Mortenson has to be a contender for the Nobel Peace Prize because what mere mortal had the tenacity and the courage to overcome such overwhelming obstacles and achieve something that has such potential to effect long-lasting peace.

    This book highlights the efforts from the very beginning of the quest of one man to bring education to a society of people who had never had such access and to even include girls in that process where they had heretofore been excluded. It begins almost as an accident when Mortenson drifts off the beaten path coming down from an attempt to climb K2. It ends with thousands of unschooled children attending classes in newly constructed schools complete with books and teachers. But it doesn't stop there. Infrastructures are addressed and vocational educational opportunities are provided to the women of the villages. Greg Mortenson seemingly can do more than entire governments can do spending much less money and doing so in an entirely unknown culture without offending the leaders - indeed through forging friendships with them. Governments, including our own, could learn a lot from Greg Mortenson. He honors all men and thus he is honored. That sounds fairly simple, but yet throughout history it seems to be one of the hardest lessons for individuals, for communities and for countries to learn.(less)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing story of one man's dream come true -- for him and for so many others!

    Greg Mortenson is a dreamer, an adventurer, a larger-than-life personality whose passion for the children -- especially the young women -- of Afghanistan inspired him to attempt and accomplish the impossible. Mortenson's story inspired me in a way I had not expected. The title doesn't hint at just how remarkable the story is, but speaks volumes about Mortenson's sensitivity and gentleness, and his commitment to understanding the culture of the people he hoped to serve. I felt as if I were invited to share tea with the author, and to consider that sometimes one person can truly change the world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    "Three Cups of Tea" by Greg Mortenson, David Oliver Relin

    Three Cups of Tea is an inspiring adventure story based on the remarkable integrity of one man committed to fulfill a promise.

    Mr. Mortenson is a modern day visioneer creating foundations for peace in a way never attempted before. Risking personal safety and financial security, Mortenson has taken the road less traveled. By sacrificing so much personally, he has been able to achieve so much globally.

    This adventure is fraught with excitement, danger and courage. A must read for those with a heart for peaceful solutions for today's reign on terrorism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Absolutely a must read

    This book is one of the most inspirational, uplifting and engaging books I have ever read. I could not put it down! The dedication and passion that Greg has for his mission in life is awe-inspiring. If we all had one quarter of one percent of his passion for doing good in the world, we could make the entire world a peaceful and loving place for all to live in a short period of time. This book opened my eyes to a different people and culture, and the fact that they are more similar to me and my family than different. I have to admit, ashamedly, that I had bought into the government and mass media propaganda that the whole of the Muslim world hated America and wanted us all dead, but my eyes have been opened and my heart has been changed. I pray that my heart will continue to be open to others and that I may be a force for good in the world. Inshallah (I hope I wrote that correctly and that I do not offend by using it) Bless you Greg for all you are doing and thank you for your tremendous gifts you give so freely to the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 582 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30