Customer Reviews for

Three Cups of Tea, Young Reader's Edition: One Man's Journey to Change the World...One Child at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Easier to read than the original by Greg Mortenson

The addition of Greg Mortenson's daughter makes this book sing. Young adults and any reader will also enjoy the interview with Jane Goodall, who has made so many contributions to society. Ms Goodall is a name readers will recognize and feel comfortable reading. I hav...
The addition of Greg Mortenson's daughter makes this book sing. Young adults and any reader will also enjoy the interview with Jane Goodall, who has made so many contributions to society. Ms Goodall is a name readers will recognize and feel comfortable reading. I have recommended this book to so many adults and young adult librarians because I feel the essence of Greg Mortenson's endeavors to build schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan is best explained in this young adult version. We will discuss both books at my Book Club soon.
Every young reader from age 10-18 should read this book. I recommend it as a title for gifts for the young and old alike on your gift list!
Sarah Thomson was exceptional at adapting this book.

posted by Librarianloveskidsbooks on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Three Cups of Tea

The book three Cups of Tea is a great book. It tells the story of Greg Mortenson and what one wrong turn on his K2 journey did to his life. He ended up in the city of Korphe where he then realized how many towns do not have schools and the children there don't receive e...
The book three Cups of Tea is a great book. It tells the story of Greg Mortenson and what one wrong turn on his K2 journey did to his life. He ended up in the city of Korphe where he then realized how many towns do not have schools and the children there don't receive education. The rest of the book continues on about how Greg and the CAI build schools and bring hope to the children of Central Asia.
I would recommend this book to people of all ages. It tells a story and makes people realize in a more literal sense what it is like over there. We don't have to worry everyday if we will have food to eat and water to drink. We are required to go to school and they are lucky to go to school. This book does a terrific job of portraying the message, "Education means hope."

posted by SallySmith on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Easier to read than the original by Greg Mortenson

    The addition of Greg Mortenson's daughter makes this book sing. Young adults and any reader will also enjoy the interview with Jane Goodall, who has made so many contributions to society. Ms Goodall is a name readers will recognize and feel comfortable reading. I have recommended this book to so many adults and young adult librarians because I feel the essence of Greg Mortenson's endeavors to build schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan is best explained in this young adult version. We will discuss both books at my Book Club soon.
    Every young reader from age 10-18 should read this book. I recommend it as a title for gifts for the young and old alike on your gift list!
    Sarah Thomson was exceptional at adapting this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Window into Modern Afghan Culture

    In Three Cups of Tea, Mortenson embarks on a decade-long odyssey to build schools in Afghanistan. In the most literal sense, his fight is against poverty and ignorance, but Mortenson's self-identified goal is to "wage war with the root causes of terrorism."

    His quest, of course, is inspiring. His desire to do good is contagious and refreshing. No matter how cynical you are, this book is bound to make you feel a little better about the world. But even more importantly, in the periphery of Mortenson's struggles lies a complex and largely unexplored culture -- that of the country of Afghanistan. (I say unexplored, of course, thinking from a US perspective.)

    What's great about Three Cups of Tea, I think, is that it isn't only about his one personal struggle. The book is also about modern Afghan culture. I, for one, know that that is a culture I would like to know more about. But apart from this book, from The Kite Runner (to a much lesser extent), and from the recent documentary Afghan Star -- which explores Afghanistan's struggle to modernize in a similarly peripheral and similarly complete way -- there isn't enough out there.

    Read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea

    The book three Cups of Tea is a great book. It tells the story of Greg Mortenson and what one wrong turn on his K2 journey did to his life. He ended up in the city of Korphe where he then realized how many towns do not have schools and the children there don't receive education. The rest of the book continues on about how Greg and the CAI build schools and bring hope to the children of Central Asia.
    I would recommend this book to people of all ages. It tells a story and makes people realize in a more literal sense what it is like over there. We don't have to worry everyday if we will have food to eat and water to drink. We are required to go to school and they are lucky to go to school. This book does a terrific job of portraying the message, "Education means hope."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea

    By just looking at the novel, Three Cups of Tea, I didn't think that it would have been that great of a book. After reading just a few chapters in the book, I thought, "This isn't that bad of a book, I'm learning some things, and also enjoying some if it." I thought that it was a fantastic idea that someone should build a women's school in Afghanistan, because they didn't have anywhere to learn except for outside the men's school. And then a guy named Greg Mortenson goes over to Afghanistan and earns money to build a school for these girls. He started a great program called "Pennies for Peace", whick is a very good program because it helps to build these schools for young girls.

    Greg Mortenson has changed so many people's lives in this book. Every Spring he goes over to Afghanistan with the pennies that "Pennies for Peace" made, and builds more and more schools for these kids that have nowhere to learn. Even with many difficulties to get to the different citie, he still manages to get there. Kids over in Africa needed someone to help them, and they finally got someone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Important as well as engaging reading

    Those leading our government should read this one. I agree with the prior review that Greg should get the Nobel Peace Prize! I've also given numerous copies as gifts.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea Review

    The summary would be one man changing the lives for many children. This is because a man goes over to Pakistan, Afganistan, etc. To build schools for the children who have no education. Three Cups of Tea was a well written book. I thought it was really good. I learned a few things from this book. One, about different cultures. Second, the sacrafices people give to help other people. I think that no matter who you are you should be able to have an education.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about other cultures. Also, sacrafices some people make. I thought this book wasn't going to be as good as it turned out to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea

    Greg Mortenson tried to climb the mountain k2. He couldn't make it all the way up and had to come down the mountain. He ended up getting lost and ends up in Korpe. He ends up putting up schools for girls and poor villages. Greg ended up being president of the CAI.
    I thought this book was pretty good. I thought it was awesome that he built schools for poor villages. I didn't like when he got kidnapped even though he came out alive. I would recommend this book to all my friends because it gave great details.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an inspiring book that needs to be shared with friends and family, young and old.

    If you read this book and don't want to send money to the author's foundation, I would be amazed. Now that I am older, I find that true stories like this stay with me more than most of the fiction I read. I hope there is a follow-on book about building (and maintaining) schools in northern Pakinstan for girls, given the current political upheaval there now.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    The difference one person can make

    This is an amazing story and so good that I'm buying it for gifts for everyone I know. It is a true testament to the fact that one person CAN make a difference in this world. Don't miss this one. Everybody should read it. Great for book clubs too. Humbling to realize how many people are living in this 21st century. Greg Mortenson should get the Noble Peace Prize.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    This book is very nice! I am doing this for a report and it was

    This book is very nice! I am doing this for a report and it was a nice book to do, unlike some other books ive done for reports! It is also very touching!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Three cups of tea review:

    I love this book! I had to read it for school but i think its a very good book for children. I really recomend this book to all who love to read. After a while you can start to predict what will happen but i really still recomend it. I am telling you to click that sign up there that says BUY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Read this Book

    I had to read this book and this was the only good book this year we have read. I learned so much in such a fun way. It had some culture in it, but it also told you about how poor people are. It made the saying one person can make a difference so real. It gave you something to think about and in a good way. I hope many people can pass on this meaningful message this great and fantastic book carries

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea - Children's

    I read Three Cups of Tea (adult version) first. The adaptation or children's edition is wonderful. The definitions, vocabulary, and pictures are marvelous. It would be a wonderful teaching tool in the classroom. Many life lessons

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Thought Provoking

    My wife and I recieved this book so we could participate in the Book Club discussions on our recent cruise on the Queen Mary 2. It is not a book we would otherwise have been prompted to purchase--but are glad we did.

    The book tells the story of a life that is touched by an act of kindness that saved his life. That redemptive act changed the direction of his life and caused him to devote his life to helping a forgotten people. I was challenged to consider what a moment of devine intervention looks like. It is an inspiring example of how we can create a meaningful life through devotion to service.

    The book is strangly secular and vividly illustrates some ugly aspects of fundamentalist fervour. In our Book Club meeting the discussion was animated and intense.

    As good as the story is the structure of the book can be frustrating. The timeline is hard to follow and there are unexplained jumps in the continuity of the story. I found I had to make a concerted effort to get past this flaw to continue to appreciate the significance of what was been revealed.

    I think anyone who reads the book will gain a deeped sense of how much difference we can make when devoted to a cause of service.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Great Book

    I purchased this book for a grand daughter and she loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Inspiring

    This was a good read for me. I liked the book because it showed that one man, with the help of friends, can do great things. It is good for people who like to read about people who do great things.

    Something I didn't like about this book was that with the Middle-Eastern names, it was hard to follow who was who. Sometimes, too, it got a little boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Three Cups of Tea

    This is a great book. If you enjoyed the adult version of "Three Cups of Tea", you should not miss the opportunity to read this youth version to your child. My son is in fourth grade and his teacher has decided to have the children read it in class during their "Reading Club".
    The children that I know that have read it, have enjoyed it a lot, especially knowing that it is a true story. They have also enjoyed the pictures of the "real people" of the story.
    A book that I strongly reccommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    Wonderful story - Wonderful book!

    I read "Three Cups of Tea" a few years ago and was immensely moved by Mortenson's story. It broke my heart to know that here we take simple objects like a pencil and paper for granted, while in other parts of the world children must do their lessons using a stick writing in the dirt. The love and appreciation shown Mortenson by the people was heartwarming. I loved this book so much that I purchased the new young reader's edition for my ten year old granddaughter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Omg

    This book sucks dicks he is horrible and a lier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Its not a true story!!!!! The author says it was until recently

    Its not a true story!!!!! The author says it was until recently the truth came out.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11