Customer Reviews for

Three Cups of Tea, Young Reader's Edition: One Man's Journey to Change the World...One Child at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Easier to read than the original by Greg Mortenson

The addition of Greg Mortenson's daughter makes this book sing. Young adults and any reader will also enjoy the interview with Jane Goodall, who has made so many contributions to society. Ms Goodall is a name readers will recognize and feel comfortable reading. I hav...
The addition of Greg Mortenson's daughter makes this book sing. Young adults and any reader will also enjoy the interview with Jane Goodall, who has made so many contributions to society. Ms Goodall is a name readers will recognize and feel comfortable reading. I have recommended this book to so many adults and young adult librarians because I feel the essence of Greg Mortenson's endeavors to build schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan is best explained in this young adult version. We will discuss both books at my Book Club soon.
Every young reader from age 10-18 should read this book. I recommend it as a title for gifts for the young and old alike on your gift list!
Sarah Thomson was exceptional at adapting this book.

posted by Librarianloveskidsbooks on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Three Cups of Tea

The book three Cups of Tea is a great book. It tells the story of Greg Mortenson and what one wrong turn on his K2 journey did to his life. He ended up in the city of Korphe where he then realized how many towns do not have schools and the children there don't receive e...
The book three Cups of Tea is a great book. It tells the story of Greg Mortenson and what one wrong turn on his K2 journey did to his life. He ended up in the city of Korphe where he then realized how many towns do not have schools and the children there don't receive education. The rest of the book continues on about how Greg and the CAI build schools and bring hope to the children of Central Asia.
I would recommend this book to people of all ages. It tells a story and makes people realize in a more literal sense what it is like over there. We don't have to worry everyday if we will have food to eat and water to drink. We are required to go to school and they are lucky to go to school. This book does a terrific job of portraying the message, "Education means hope."

posted by SallySmith on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea

    I think that the book Three Cups of Tea is a classic. The book shows how just one person can make a difference in changing the world. In the book, Greg Mortenson gets lost when climbing the mountain, "K2". He ends up in a small village called, Korphe. Korphe doesn't have much to offer for him. But, they give him everything they have. While there, Greg sees children going to school in the dirt, and only having a teacher three days a week. Greg promises the chief, Haji Ali, to build them a school. Once the school is finished, Greg realizes that he wants to build schools all across Pakistan and Afghanistan. Greg is still building schools today.
    I really enjoyed this book because it shows how misunderstood the people are. The people of Korphe take Greg in and give him cloths, food, and a place to stay. We Americans think that most muslims are terrorists. But this book shows how most of them are good and kind people. The good people in Pakistan and Afghanistan out way the bad people by a lot. I think most people think that people in the Middle East are terrorists because of nine eleven. Although nine eleven was tragic, I believe that we need to realize that it wasn't all of the people it was just a few bad people. Most of the people in the Middle East are good people.
    Greg thinks it is very important that girls become educated. The Taliban wants to stop the education of girls, but Greg encourages it. He also believes that the education of kids in general is important because if you educate kids they will make better decisions in the future and won't become a terrorist. They will know the difference from right and wrong and make better decisions in the future. I think what Greg is doing is truly amazing and he is truly changing the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    Education

    I read the novel Three Cups of Tea (The Young Reader's Edition) for school, and I enjoyed it. It taught me very much, had a great message, and was inspirational. This book helped me to overcome the stereotypes I had about people who lived in the Middle East before I read it. In the news today, most of the events and people that I hear about from there are not very good. This caused me to be under the impression that most of the people who lived there were not good. I was glad to read and learn about the kind, generous, and hardworking Haji Ali, who was a leader of the village called Korphe in Pakistan. Greg mentioned in the book, Haji Ali was not educated, he was illiterate, yet he was still very wise.
    I thought that the message was also very powerful: Education promotes peace. I agree with Greg's quote "books not bombs." Educating others empowers them, especially educating the women who live in the small, rural, isolated, and poor villages in Pakistan and Afghanistan. There are certain people in these areas who strongly disagree with the idea of women receiving an education, but I think that they are wrong. Giving people education can lead them to make better choices and have better futures. Education is a gift, and sometimes I forget that. Three Cups of Tea helps me to remember this and, the fact that I am very blessed to have such a wonderful education.
    This was a very inspirational story. Greg worked extremely hard and struggled to achieve his goals, and keep his promise that he made to Haji Ali and all of the villagers in Korphe. He tried to raise enough money for the school even though he was not very wealthy. At one point he was living in his car, yet he still kept his promise. He built a school and gave many children an education, and with it he also gave the hope for a more peaceful future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea

    This book Three Cups of Tea is about a man, Greg, who gets sick while trying to climb up the second biggest mountain on Earth in Pakistan. Greg got very sick and he could not walk anymore so he decided to head down. On the way down he got separated from his guide. He was lucky to stroll into a village that would take care of him because he could have been held hostage.
    The village he walked into was Korphe. The leader and later mentor of Greg is Haji Ali. Haji Ali took care of Greg for a couple of months. Haji Ali treated Greg like he was his son. When Greg felt better he wanted to do something good for the town that helped him so dearly. He noticed that the kids did not have a school and did not have school supplies. Greg promised that he would go back to America and he would come back and build a school.
    Greg came back to America and he cut down on everything so he could save some money to buy supplies for the school. He had to live in his car until he got a plane ticket to Pakistan.
    He did return to Korphe and he was able to begin the process of building schools. One of the key people who helped donate money was Jean Hoerni. After the first school was finished Greg wanted to build more schools. He was lucky when Jean Hoerni formed the CAI and donated 1 million dollars to help Greg's dream to become true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Three cups of tea book review

    Three cups of tea is a book about a man named Greg Mortenson and his goal to promote peace. Greg attempted climbing the second largest mountain in the world. While he was climbing K2 he got very sick and couldn't make it to the top. On his way down he came upon a village. That village was Korphe. Greg was sick and he needed help. Although the people of Korphe had very little for themselves they still helped Greg. To repay the people of Korphe he promised to build them a school. Greg fulfilled his promise but he had a very hard journey ahead of him. He did not have much money so he sold his house and lived in his car. Eventually he sold his car to raise money for the school. He started a donation called pennies for peace. All over the world children in schools were donating money. One day Greg was introduced to Jean Hoerni. Later he called him and asked him for a donation, and Jean Hoerni donated twenty thousand dollars. Jean was dying from leukemia so he donated one million dollars to the Central Asia Institute. After that Greg built the school in Korphe like he promised and he now had enough money to help other people. People all around Pakistan and Afghanistan were asking Greg for help. Whether it was to build a school or a different task. To this day Greg is still on his mission to promote peace and help to build schools for boys and girls all around Pakistan and Afghanistan I would recommend this book to people who want to learn more about Greg and what happened along his Journey of promoting peace.

    - Jeremy Fasano

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    3 Cups of Tea Review

    The novel, Three Cups of Tea, is a fantastic novel about one man's journey to try and bring peace to the world by educating one child at a time. Greg Mortenson is totally fearless in his quest to educate children for peace. He knows that there are radicals in Pakistan and Afghanistan that do resent Americans, but he still risks his life going there and trying to help the people of the country, which makes this book so interesting. Greg Mortenson's epic quest to climb K2 takes a fortunate turn when Greg stumbles upon Korphe, where he promised to build a school and his work began. I think Greg really goes way out of his way to help these people because he knows it's the right thing to do.
    I think this novel tells a powerful message about the people who live in the areas where Greg made schools. This book shows people that not all people who live in the middle-east are terrorists, and that most of them don't hate Americans, they love them. Over his period of work, Greg meets many people that are very nice to him and show him hospitality, like Haji Ali, who welcomes Greg to Korphe with open arms. Also, the only main reason children become terrorists is because they are not educated so they can be brainwashed, which is why Greg thinks its so important to educate children. I think this book can really help someone understand that not everyone in Pakistan and Afghanistan are terrorists.
    Everyone on Earth deserves to have an education and everyone should be treated equal. If you do not acquire an education when you are a child, you will be behind for all your life and you will never achieve what you can. Everyone needs to be equal because we cannot achieve world peace without equality for all. This is what Greg Mortenson is trying to achieve by building schools, and it is very important that each child gets what they need to strive.
    -Anthony Daegele

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea Review

    Three Cups of Tea is the story of a man named Greg Mortenson. As Greg was climbing K2, he got lost and could have ended up dying. He stumbled upon a village named Korphe and saw how little they had. The children there did not have a school and therefore had to sit in the mud outside and do math problems with sticks in the dirt. This sight inspired Greg to promise the people of Korphe to help them build a school. Greg went through many hard times raising money for the school and once he had everything he needed he finally finished the school. He lost practically everything to help build one school for those children in Korphe. The final product inspired Greg to continue on building schools for the less fortunate in Pakistan and Afghanistan. He has gone on to build over one hundred schools throughout the Middle East. Through Greg's actions girls in the Middle East have been able to get the education they always dreamed of. That just shows how much one little person can make such a difference to hundreds if not thousands of people.
    Three Cups of Tea: Young Reader's Edition was an amazing book. The book really taught me how much people in America take there prosperity without even thinking about how others don't have anything close to what we have. It was really shocking to learn that some children don't even have school in some countries. I think that education is something that so many children in America take for granted. This book really opened my eyes to what other children in other countries are going through. It is honestly just sad that in America children don't want to go to school, but in Pakistan children will go through anything just to go to school. This book really inspired me to want to go to school and to do as much with my life and education as I can. It just really effects a person when they hear that children were getting bombed and such just so that they would stay out of school. Three Cups of Tea is such an amazing, inspiring book.

    Meaghan Truman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    An ispiaration

    Three Cups of Tea was a premier example of love and care for the less fortunate. The aspiration to provide education for girls in impoverished nations. After the death of his sister Greg Motenson aspired to climb the mountain K2. He was unable to reach the top and on his descent he was lost and could have died. Then, Greg stumbled on the village of Korphe and upon discovering that the children had no school he began his future work of building schools. This became his goal to honor his sister. He changed much of his life to provide funds for his first school. He lost is job and girlfriend and even ended up sleeping in his car. His determination made me think abut all the luxuries that most of us take for granted. The book describes how the children want to go to school while in the US many children don't want to go to school. Through his description of the people you really start getting to know who they really are and you stop thinking of them as dangerous militants. Those children appreciate the opportunity to create a better life for themselves. Even though under the Taliban girls are forbidden to receive an education he risked his own life and built girls schools and women's centers. He truly loved the people and let nothing get in his way including his kidnapping and other dangers. Even after 9/11 he continued to build schools even though it became much more dangerous for an American to be in the Middle East. His quest attracted many people who then gave funds to his organization the CAI (Central Asia Institute). Even school children donated their pennies through Pennies for Peace to help other children much like them to receive an education. No he has built about 141 schools, 24 portable water projects, and many women's centers. Following Greg's example we all must break down our prejudices and see that providing education will help many 3rd world countries escape the grasps of poverty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea Book Review

    The book Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson is the narrative tale of one man's goal to honor his sister. He attempt to climb K2, but unfortunately he gets lost on his decent of the mountain and stumbles upon the remote village of Korphe. He quickly finds that the youth there have little educational supplies and makes a promise to the village chief, Haji Ali. He starts a campaign for the financial support of education in Pakistan.
    Throughout the novel he struggles to find support of the people of America and one man in particular believed in what Greg was doing. His name was Jean Hoerni. He donated most of the money that Greg used to build the schools in Pakistan as well as Afghanistan. This man's dream allowed Greg to fulfill the promises he makes to the numerous tribes in the areas.
    This book really breaks the racial barrier and the stereotypes that are made about the residents in that country. He really tries to show people that the people there are just hard working individuals that are struggling to find a quality education for their children. We all need to follow in Greg Mortenson's footsteps to promote education in the world to stop terrorism and work towards peace. Although we all things in our lives that stop us from doing such a big thing we can all help this cause by donating your change to an organization that Greg made called Pennies For Peace. Schools and kids everywhere have helped this cause just by donating a few cents. This is one of the many ways you can help the children in Pakistan.
    This book was a great way to see the Middle East and the situation most of the people are in financial and physically. Greg Mortenson really portrays the good in all people and he really tries to see people as God would see us. He finds that through books, not bombs people are able to live peacefully.

    -Bobby Nolan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea

    This book is about the journey a man named Greg Mortenson takes in order to give the young girls of Pakistan and Afghanistan a right of an education. On his trip to Pakistan to climb K2, the second highest mountain in the world in honor of his sister's death, Mr. Mortenson gets sick and decides to climb back the mountain. When climbing down he gets lost and finds himself in a village. The people of the village get him back into good health and because of their kindness Mr. Mortenson decides to repay them by building a school for the young children there. Brainstorming ways to raise money for the school was very challenging. Until Mr. Mortenson's mother invited him to her school to talk about his experience in Pakistan to her students. The thought of building a school in Pakistan fascinated the children and begged to help raise some money. That's when the "Penny For Peace" idea came up. Mr. Mortenson stoke to his word and traveled back to Pakistan to build the school but he faced many challenges such as the loss of his building supplies, being kidnapped by the Taliban, and other villages demanding that Mr. Mortenson build them a school too. This was very overwhelming but that didn't stop him from giving these poor children a future through education.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    Three Cups of Tea

    Three Cups of Tea is a story of a man and his will to do good for the people of Pakistan. Greg Mortenson went to Pakistan to climb the K2 Mountian but found out that there were more important things to do in Pakistan then climb a mountain. He wanders into a poor village and finds children doing school work on the ground. He relizes that they need a school and that he wants to build one for them. Over many years and many hardships, like being kidnapped and ugly letters, he has built many school and he will continue to do so.
    This book is a wonderful book for kids ranging from the ages of 8 and up. It gives a wounderful veiw of the world outside of the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great book, & a great read for kids!

    I thought this was a great inspiring story! I started reading the adult version but switched to this version and really enjoyed it a lot more. Not a huge fan of the writing style, but the overall story was just so amazing!! I loved the lessons that it taught my kids as well as me! This is a great addition to any home library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    A Inspirational Story

    "With education, there is hope." That was many of the many touching quotes from the book Three Cups of Tea. This is one of the most inspirational, life changing books that I have ever read! Greg Mortensen is the most inspiring person in the world today! He has defiantly inspired children and will continue to inspire children for generations to come.
    I would rate this book 3.5 out of 4. This is because I read the younger version of the book and I felt like it was a little too easy to read. The book was great and included a timeline and a dictionary with challenging words in the back. It is a great book for younger kids to read. I would recommend this book to all type of readers, because everyone would love this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3