Customer Reviews for

Three Day Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    WOW loved it!!! Thanks to the ad on the side and contest, I actu

    WOW loved it!!! Thanks to the ad on the side and contest, I actually read this and Let me tell you it was beautiful, heart-breaking and really moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    A horrifying topic, beautifully portrayed.

    This is not a book that I would normally read. It's more of a "man" book, but Boyden took me to the ugliness of war as gently as could be done. Maybe because he wove redemption into the fiber of the story, I was able to read it through till the end. Not only did he take me to war, but he also gave me a glimpse of something I would never see as a caucasion; the plight of Native tribes of people on this continent as they were absorbed into "civilized" life. Everyone should read this book. We all need the education.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    I loved this book!!!

    An amazing first novel. It absolutely blew me away. I can't stop talking or thinking about it. Beautiful, heart-breaking, moving: it is all of this and more. It's got love, combat, wonderful writing: everything you could want in a novel. Please, read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Exicuting area

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Excellent--WWI & Native North Americans?

    An amazing novel taking two young Native Canadian Americans to the hell of World War I and following the changes to each of them, but also interwoven with their fascinating previous life in the wilds of Canada... I would have never envisioned such a combination but Boyden handles it masterfully. Fascinating history on two very different fronts. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Missing pages?

    I am not finished with the book. I noticed this nook format is missing pg. 128/337- the last page of a chapter. Please fix this error. I will post review after I finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    great book , loved the charactors.well worth a reread

    great book , loved the charactors.well worth a reread

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Captivating

    This story is of Xavier Bird and Elijah Weesageechak also known as Whiskeyjack, two James Bay Cree, who signed up together and became famous snipers in the Canadian Army during the First World War. The novel is a poignant tale of brutality and survival.

    It opens with Xavier returning home, missing a leg and addicted to morphine, his days are also numbered. His aunt Niska greets him at the train station and together they begin a three day canoe journey home. On their travel, Niska recounts stories of their youth and in return Xavier graphically recounts the horrors he and his friend Elijah faced.

    Boyden's detailed and colourful writing immerses his reader into two contrasting worlds. Niska's is rich in native culture and harmony with nature, the other, Xavier plunges the reader into the atrocities of war. Both are driven by the will to survive.

    In addition to the central characters the story is stocked with many other memorable and wonderful secondary players. Xavier and Elijah's characters and some of their exploits are modeled after the real life experiences of Francis Pegahmagabow (known as Peggy) an Ojibway Indian, an honoured sniper of WW1.

    The pace of the story is steady and holds ones attention firmly, it is highly captivating and a page turner one hard to put down. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    a pleasant surprise

    I wasn't sure I would like this book, but it was a very good read. It was a haunting story that lingered with me everytime I put it down. I also liked how it was structured to give different perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    A terrific read

    This is a difficult book to describe. It is an entertwining narrative from a traditional live off the land Cree woman, her World War I trench fighting soldier nephew, and the growth and disintegration of themselves and the people around them. What sets this book apart other than its unique approach to the subject is the wonderful style and literate presentation of the author. Indians mean the west, but that doesn't apply here. War adventures imply heroic deeds and yet it is the defects of the characters which are most pronounced. Yet you are drawn into their lives, their observations, their acts, as if you inhabit their bodies and souls. Mr. Boyden has woven a masterful tale filled with angst, hope, sadness, sprituality and love. This was a great journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Bravo! Excellently written.

    I have read many war novels and this is one of the best. The author has conveyed the absolute horror, suffering, and futility of warfare better than any other I have read. I could really imagine the horrific sights, stinking smells and shaking ground. But more than anything, I could understand how war can slowly but surely transform normal human beings into something else. Something terrible. How anyone could survive experiences like these and make sense out of everyday living again is a miracle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    World War I is over and a dying Xavier is coming home to Eastern Canada to live his last days with his beloved Auntie Niska. Morphine is the only thing that keeps the pain at bay. When he is not over-drugged he and Niska recall his childhood when she taught him how to hunt and Xavier taught his best friend and fellow vet Elijah Whiskeyjack how to hunt too. Niska wonders if her blessing the two lads enlisting in the European war was a mistake.............. .. The trench warfare is horrendous as just a few yards away Fritz the enemy fires at the Canadians and visa versa. The conditions are terrible between the lice, lack of clean water, food rationing, and wet socks leading to trench foot when frost bite does not set in. Only morphine makes conditions palpable. Xavier and Elijah become snipers although that does not improve their conditions in hell while Elijah racks up an astounding kill rate as though he depends on morphine to numb the senses except his marksman eyes.................. THREE DAY ROAD is an intriguing look at the effects of the trench warfare during World War I on Canadian Indians, who volunteered to serve. However, the story line graphically concentrates more on the atrocities and the aftermath of the war (the killing fever that Xavier suffers from, and the morphine addiction and killing frenzy that engulfs Elijah, etc.) that could have hit anyone who served On The Western Front. Though Joseph Croyden provides a deep look at the horrors of war just not enough on the impact on the Indians who fought a white man¿s war nor their tribe once they came home..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Nevermind 'First;' It's Just A 'Great' Novel.

    Well written, powerful story of characters you take to your heart & who stay with you long after you finished. Hard to put down this gory but sensitive novel. You will long remember the highly credible scenarios of a grim European war and may also recall the drop-dead beauty of the pristine Canadian wilderness, but it is the storytellers who will walk with you. This is a haunting tale, and, utimately, a very satisfying read. I am reminded of Hemingway --had Hemingway been more mature. Hope Boyden has more books in him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1