BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Three Days to Dead

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What an adventure!

If you are looking to read an action filled adventure, this is the book for you. It starts out with a woman waking up in a morgue, unknowing why she is suddenly a taller brunette rather than a petite blonde, and why she is lying on a cold metal slab. She slowly begins t...
If you are looking to read an action filled adventure, this is the book for you. It starts out with a woman waking up in a morgue, unknowing why she is suddenly a taller brunette rather than a petite blonde, and why she is lying on a cold metal slab. She slowly begins to recall some of the moments of before and bumps into Wyatt, her handler from the agency she had worked for and maybe a little more :). The twists and turns of this book will keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat, turning page after page. You follow Evy as she remembers what happened to her, and the bigger plot that has to be solved in only 3 days before Evy and Wyatt, the only people who are trying to stop it, are gone.

posted by BookChick23 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

"Just Average" in a genre full of average books

I was hoping for a nice ghost story - or perhaps a modern take on the Faustian deal with the Devil - instead I get hit over the head in the first chapter with vampire-half breeds and Owlkins.shapeshifting owls. Is it just me or are supernatural genre authors getting fu...
I was hoping for a nice ghost story - or perhaps a modern take on the Faustian deal with the Devil - instead I get hit over the head in the first chapter with vampire-half breeds and Owlkins.shapeshifting owls. Is it just me or are supernatural genre authors getting further and further out in left field as they search for new material?

I actually like Meding's writing style so far, and so I'm going to stick with the book - and who knows, I may end up loving it, but somehow as I get older I'm just less able to toss my common sense aside and lose myself in stories of vampires, shapeshifting Owls, elves, fairies and all other manner of made up creatures. Perhaps I've lost the youthful part of myself that allowed me to enjoy such stories - or perhaps they are just as not well written as the genre becomes crowded with GED, over-night authors publishing eBooks without having even a tiny bit of writing talent.

Let's get back to the old school ghosts, demons and deals with the Devil. Let's bring back the authors who actually took the time to construct an enjoyable and (at least halfway) believable plot, and maybe even has an English degree to go along with it..

posted by GC_Girl on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    "Just Average" in a genre full of average books

    I was hoping for a nice ghost story - or perhaps a modern take on the Faustian deal with the Devil - instead I get hit over the head in the first chapter with vampire-half breeds and Owlkins.shapeshifting owls. Is it just me or are supernatural genre authors getting further and further out in left field as they search for new material?

    I actually like Meding's writing style so far, and so I'm going to stick with the book - and who knows, I may end up loving it, but somehow as I get older I'm just less able to toss my common sense aside and lose myself in stories of vampires, shapeshifting Owls, elves, fairies and all other manner of made up creatures. Perhaps I've lost the youthful part of myself that allowed me to enjoy such stories - or perhaps they are just as not well written as the genre becomes crowded with GED, over-night authors publishing eBooks without having even a tiny bit of writing talent.

    Let's get back to the old school ghosts, demons and deals with the Devil. Let's bring back the authors who actually took the time to construct an enjoyable and (at least halfway) believable plot, and maybe even has an English degree to go along with it..

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unimpressed.

    Being an avid lover of good science-fiction/fantasy, I saw the good reviews for this novel, and the summary looked intriguing so I purchased it hoping for a good read. While the story-line was decent and original, the writing, itself, seemed subpar.
    I understand it must be challenging for most authors introduce a new world with unique characters and creatures without sounding out of place from the story or without making the introductions sound extremely convenient, and I think the hardest thing for me to get past in this story was way that the author introduced things. It seemed like every few pages, the main character, Evy, would be doing something when a seemingly minute event would happen, she’d treat it like a life-threatening situation, and then explain later. There were lots of different creatures that had traits like the inability to lie, or the inability to feel specific emotions, which just seemed too convenient to me. Or there would be times when she would say lines like, “Remember that one time when this happened, and I did this and you did that and it made this happen?” It’s a very painful way to introduce an important part of the character’s history. In fact, most of the dialogue in general seemed really cheesy/painful to me. I think the author wanted Evy to be this sexy, badass, clever assassin character, but she just comes off far too unrealistic…even in the science-fiction world. Same goes for her sidekick, Wyatt. It seemed like every time he entered the story, he’d be introduced as this super sexy guy with rippling muscles and a six pack abs, and that was all there was too him. There was nothing really unique or interesting about either one – they’re just both your typical smutty characters from science fiction novels I try to avoid. Won't be reading the sequels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    What an adventure!

    If you are looking to read an action filled adventure, this is the book for you. It starts out with a woman waking up in a morgue, unknowing why she is suddenly a taller brunette rather than a petite blonde, and why she is lying on a cold metal slab. She slowly begins to recall some of the moments of before and bumps into Wyatt, her handler from the agency she had worked for and maybe a little more :). The twists and turns of this book will keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat, turning page after page. You follow Evy as she remembers what happened to her, and the bigger plot that has to be solved in only 3 days before Evy and Wyatt, the only people who are trying to stop it, are gone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for me

    I bought this book because i read the first 4 chapters on the barnes and noble website. I was really into them and thought this was going to be an awesome book but by chapter 11 i was bored!! I love vampire/supernatural books and in this series vampires hate humans and humans hate vampires, so the main characters are boring humans, just not my style of book. I also didn't like all the creatures and how they were portrayed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Debut Novel That Packs A Punch

    Three Days to Dead may be Ms. Meding's debut novel, but it starts out with a bang, takes readers on a thrilling ride mixed with fantasy, mystery, love and suspense, and, unlike a few books out there, brings you into an equally heart racing ending that makes you feel jittery with readers adrenaline, and craving for more.

    My only "complaint" which really isn't so bad in the long run, is that there are a quite a few characters and different species in this story and it gets a little bit confusing to follow on a few occasions, but please don't let that stop you from reading this book. It has everything a paranormal/fantasy book fan would want all tied up neatly in a wonderful plot

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible debut!

    Saw this book constantly being discussed on several different blogs as well as on Twitter. Everyone raved about it to the point where I had to buy a copy of my very own! They were all right, as this book is amazing! Really like a book that grabs me on the first page, and this one grabbed me with the very first paragraph: "I don't recall the first time I died, but I do remember the second time I was born. Vividly. Waking up on a cold morgue table surrounded by surgical instruments and autopsy paraphernalia, to the tune of the medical examiner's high-pitched shrieks of fright, is an unforgettable experience." How great is that paragraph? Makes you want to run right out and buy a copy, doesn't it?

    Evy Stone was a bounty hunter who tracked down monsters. She is resurrected into the body of a young human with no idea why she was brought back and no Welcoming Committee waiting with an explanation. Evy must try to solve the mystery of her murder, figure out why she wound up in the body of an innocent, track down any information she may have possessed that could have lead to her murder, sort the good guys from the bad, and just possibly save the world. All while the clock is ticking down to her second death. No pressure, right?

    Thought that this was an original story with great characters. I really liked Evy, thought the secondary characters were well done (loved Smedge), and the overall story flowed nicely. The action was fast paced and I stayed up until 2:30 in the morning to finish reading as I couldn't wait to see what happened next! That pushed my rating from a 4 to a 5/5! Meding is a very talented author and I loved this story! Am now a loyal Kelly Meding fan, and can't wait for her next book! Go. Buy this book. Now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Kick butt story and never ending action!!!

    If you love the paranormal you will absolutely love Kelly Medings; "Evy Stone" series.  She's amazing and you can't help but fall in love with her character! This fast-paced series is not for the faint of heart! It's a gut wrenching story you won't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Sooo Worth It!!

    I'm so behind on my TBR list, I've been wanting to start this series for awhile. I'm so glad I got it. A page turner I couldn't put it down. Loved it so much went and bought the rest in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Three Days to Dead starts with Evie waking up in the morgue in a

    Three Days to Dead starts with Evie waking up in the morgue in another person's body.
    So many possibilities for where this book could go from this beginning.
    Evie is a hunter for the Triad, a group that cleanses the city of the unwanted creatures.
    Evie wakes up to find she is considered a traitor and someone has murdered her.
    This book started with a lot going for it, but I was a disappointed by the end of the book.
    I will try the next book and see if the series gels and concentrates on a storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    What a storyteller!!

    Ive read all 4 books, and will leave the same review for each. this isnt going to be a review but more of an opinion.
    If you like Urban fantasy, these books are up there with the best of them. I enjoyed reading this series as much as I enjoyed Kim Harrisons Rachel Morgan books and Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega books. yep, this stuff is just as good. they were pretty hard to put down. We can only hope theres going to be more of Evy Stone!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment

    I did not enjoy this book. It had an interesting idea that never followed through. Evy, Alex and Wyatt... none of them held my attention. I found myself skipping through the majority of the novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Excellent read!!

    I am a very picky reader and could not put this book down. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Totally unexpected and amazing read. I picked up this book beca

    Totally unexpected and amazing read.
    I picked up this book because I was in the mood for an Urban Fantasy--this looked good. Evangeline (Evy) Stone, wakes up in a body not her own and can't remember her death or the last three days. All she knows was the last time she met her "handler" Wyatt Truman. She also knows she works monitoring and policing the "Dregs" Paranormal creatures in the city she lives in. Slowly she goes about discovering her memories---and the truth is far deeper and tragic than she thought possible.

    That's all I'm going to share about the plot. Because really--it all plays into it.

    This book made me cry. Yes. Cry. I can count on my hand the number of authors that can make me cry. Kelly Meding did this. Her characterizations were fabulous--the relationships real. I was awestruck by how she dealt with situations --for example she wakes up on the autopsy table--freaks out the examiner. She didn't shirk from confronting or dealing with situations including horrible memories, and relationships torn asunder.

    The Narrator is Xe Sands--I am going to borrow a description of her voice-- has "Velvet tones" Her delivery is smooth--and she captures each character (including different species) in a unique way. My particular favorites were the Vampire--and Gargoyle. (You have to listen to know--yes, I'm evil this way). I found myself stopping whatever I was doing enthralled with the story. She brought to life this world in a manificent way.

    I wish I could tell you how much I appreciated the depth of emotion in this story--so unexpected. I know Urban Fantasy is fairly dark--but its action adventure---and yes it's gripping, but this story took it to a new level. Sometimes I dreaded continuing the story--I didn't want to know--but I had to. I don't regret reading/listening to this at all.

    This story will stay with me for a long time--like a mantle it lays over my shoulders. Outstanding job---so very well done. Standing ovation for this author. You shocked and inspired me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Looong

    found the book rather hard to get through. Skimmed the last third

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Loved this book, can not wait to read the next book in series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. It held my interest which is a hard thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When she says "I'll be back" you'd better believe it!

    This is a decent, if somewhat by the numbers, urban fantasy. I enjoyed the bit of deadline drama that the story introduced from the beginning of the novel. A tight, brisk adventure with a lot of twists and turns. I'm a little concerned about two things though.

    First, the various bands of monster hunters are particularly vicious. Granted ,if you're hunting creatures that are faster and stronger and as likely to kill you as look at you, you really do need to shoot first and ask questions after you're sure you've survived the encounter, or not in our protagonist, Evey's, case. That being said, as soon as they were informed that one of their own went rogue, they started a killing hunt that mowed down everything between them and their target. No worries, that's revealed in the first couple of pages. The point is they should have been more focused on capturing her, right? They're supposed to be the "good guys" so they don't kill things just because. They investigate, confirm, at least as much as they are able, right? This being the first book, and this reviewer, being a veteran of urban fantasy, even from before said genre was identified as such, guesses that there's a mole!!!(cue dramatic fanfare). Anywho, that's not in this volume, that's just my guess. However, I do hope that this is why our heroine was first notified of her employers' disfavor by a hail of bullets as opposed to an invitation to talk in a concrete room with bad lighting and a large mirror on one wall.

    Second, I'm afraid that this series will devolve Laurell K. Hamilton-like into nasty, NC-17 rated material. There were some scenes that had me worried, but due to the deadline the characters were under and the traumatic means of the character's death prior to the start of the book, these scenes were somewhat abortive. I have no complaints or trouble with some grown-up content, but the author I mentioned earlier went from flirting, to dating, to pr0n, to AAAAAAAAAAAAA, MY EYES!! I'LL NEVER BE ABLE TO UNREAD THAT!! So you can see why I'm a little worried.

    Regardless of the two concerns, this novel was definitely a fun debut for our characters and I'm interested in seeing a little more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    By nathan witt15

    Great read i am thinking about reading the whole series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love it!

    I just got done reading it. I love all the characters and their special powers. I love how Evy Stone can keep on fighting given what has been dealt. The surroundings and environment of the book is fun. I am definitely going to keep reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Meh

    It's OK. It's not great, not terrible but just there. I can usually breeze through a book in a weekend, but it's taking much longer to get through this one.
    I find the main characters lacking. I really don't care what happened to Evy and think the story line is iffy at best.
    Maybe once I finish it I'll comeback and change my review, but for now, mid-book it's nothing I'd go out of my way for and I may return the other 2 from this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6