Customer Reviews for

Three Dog Bakery Cookbook: Over 50 Recipes for All-Natural Paw-Lickin Treats for Your Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My Dogs Favorite Book!

I had never seen a cookbook for dogs before, so I must admit I was intrigued when I began reading the reviews for this book. As it turns out, this purchase made my day when it arrived in the mail this Christmas. Everyone in the family took turns looking thr...
I had never seen a cookbook for dogs before, so I must admit I was intrigued when I began reading the reviews for this book. As it turns out, this purchase made my day when it arrived in the mail this Christmas. Everyone in the family took turns looking through it. It is wonderfully illustrated and then divided into chapters, that range from 'yappetizers' to full blown entrees. In the week between Christmas and New Year's my kids and I whipped up three of the recipes and they were ALL tail-wagging successes. (We tried them, too!) The dishes were simple to make and I'm pretty sure my two dogs were willing to forgive a couple of burnt edges on some of the cookies. We'll make the cake recipe for Sampson's birthday, this February. Four paws up on this clever book!

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

People oriented recipes dogs will love, but not exactly what I was looking for.

Overall an amusing, well illustrated, fun cookbook. My best advice is for readers to go to the bookstore and look through the recipes themselves before buying. I'm sure most dogs will love the recipes. I bought the book after reading the online reviews. My expectation...
Overall an amusing, well illustrated, fun cookbook. My best advice is for readers to go to the bookstore and look through the recipes themselves before buying. I'm sure most dogs will love the recipes. I bought the book after reading the online reviews. My expectation was that these recipes would be tailor made for dogs with their health in mind. The type of recipes in the book were more 'human' than I expected. These admittedly tasty treats are more like people food which is why they are so appealing to us owners. If fed in very small amounts, and only as special treats, these recipes are probably ok. But with such tempting foods, I can imagine easily overfeeding my dog with these kitchen creations. I try not to feed my dog table scraps, so feeding him these human like recipes contradicts my house rule. Sure special occasions warrant a treat, don't get me wrong, my dog enjoys being spoiled just like any other dog, but from a dietary standpoint, I try to stay within my rules, and this delicious book of recipes did not fit what I expected.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    My Dogs Favorite Book!

    I had never seen a cookbook for dogs before, so I must admit I was intrigued when I began reading the reviews for this book. As it turns out, this purchase made my day when it arrived in the mail this Christmas. Everyone in the family took turns looking through it. It is wonderfully illustrated and then divided into chapters, that range from 'yappetizers' to full blown entrees. In the week between Christmas and New Year's my kids and I whipped up three of the recipes and they were ALL tail-wagging successes. (We tried them, too!) The dishes were simple to make and I'm pretty sure my two dogs were willing to forgive a couple of burnt edges on some of the cookies. We'll make the cake recipe for Sampson's birthday, this February. Four paws up on this clever book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great gift for dog lovers!

    This cookbook is wonderful. If you worry about ingredients in your dog's food and treat then this is a great book. You know exactly what is in the recipes and they are all easy to make! Great find!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    A Great book!

    The recipes were great and easy to make, using all the ingredients I already had. The only ingredient I had to pick up at the grocery store was carob powder, but I had all the rest. I cook from this book several times a month, and my dog loves it! I know he would give it two paws up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    People oriented recipes dogs will love, but not exactly what I was looking for.

    Overall an amusing, well illustrated, fun cookbook. My best advice is for readers to go to the bookstore and look through the recipes themselves before buying. I'm sure most dogs will love the recipes. I bought the book after reading the online reviews. My expectation was that these recipes would be tailor made for dogs with their health in mind. The type of recipes in the book were more 'human' than I expected. These admittedly tasty treats are more like people food which is why they are so appealing to us owners. If fed in very small amounts, and only as special treats, these recipes are probably ok. But with such tempting foods, I can imagine easily overfeeding my dog with these kitchen creations. I try not to feed my dog table scraps, so feeding him these human like recipes contradicts my house rule. Sure special occasions warrant a treat, don't get me wrong, my dog enjoys being spoiled just like any other dog, but from a dietary standpoint, I try to stay within my rules, and this delicious book of recipes did not fit what I expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    Tail Wagging Good Fun

    This book is full of excellent, easy recipes and fun photos. I have been a big fan of the Three Dogs Bakery for several years now and my dog, Sasha, has never been disappointed with her goodies! (I haven't baked any of the recipes, yet, I only do mail order!). I keep this fun book out on my coffeetable and it is always sure to get attention! E

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Great fun even for the non-baker

    Three Dog Bakery Cookbooks are always fun to read and the pups love the treats. Most of the treats don't take alot of time to make but my pups turn their noses at the store bought ones and make me feel guilty if we run out of the baked ones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Fantastic Book!!!

    Love this book! I wanted to find an alternative to store bought food for my dog since she is developing allergies to different foods. So far all the recipes I've tried she absolutely loves. This book has over 50 recipes that are easy to follow with pictures of most. The authors Dan Dye and Mark Beckloff use basic ingredients in the recipes which are easily found in your grocery store. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a better diet for their loyal companion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dog Cookbook

    this is a really great cook book for dogs with great illustrations. My 3 love the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    FABULICIOUS

    so glad i purchased it's easy to follow and even though i don't cook for myself i enjoy cooking for my little dog and her friends. they don't taste bad either!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    two paws up!!

    Great cookbook, A must for any kitchen with a K9! So good in fact it was stolen and I needed to buy a new one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    My Dog

    My dog loves to eat people food. So that is why I love this book. I have seen it before, and I thought that sense we feed our dog alot of people food that my dog Diva and my mom also would love this book as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    Easy to follow

    I have tried several of the recipes, and find them easy to follow. Many of the recipes are not good for my allergy-prone dog, but they are very creative and have given me ideas of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1