Customer Reviews for

A Three Dog Life

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

a wonderful read

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book. Her husband's accident was certainly tragic, but she manages to keep up her humorous side and take each situation as it comes - in some ways, kind of magically. At times I felt sad but other times absolutely laughed out ...
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book. Her husband's accident was certainly tragic, but she manages to keep up her humorous side and take each situation as it comes - in some ways, kind of magically. At times I felt sad but other times absolutely laughed out loud, especially when she relates to her dogs. Our four-legged friends are so important in keeping us going and enjoying our lives, no matter the turns it takes.

posted by nestlesbes on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Only 112 pages

The book is only 112 pages!!

posted by hockeyrules on August 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    I got this book when it was on sale.

    Yes I got the book cause it was on sale on the Title caight my eye. I am so glad I got this book. It was a good book and shows us how we never know what is going to happen in life. Hope others will have a chance to read and they like it just like I did.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Sheila....avid reader

    I would say this book would be highly recommended for anyone that has someone close in their life with a mental disabilty due to an accident, dementia, etc. Abigail Thomas lets her feelings out. She is real. I could feel the author's ups and downs with her mentally challenged husband. A must read for people that are experiencing these emotions with a loved one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Touching, a good read!

    I enjoyed this book. As it is not my usual genre I wasn't sure I would....but I am becoming more fond of memoirs and this was a good one. By the time I was done with this book I wish my life had intersected with hers. She seemed like someone I would like to know. The story was well-written and I enjoyed her descriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A must read of how our lives turn on a dime, and how to live hon

    A must read of how our lives turn on a dime, and how to live honestly through aching sadness. I guess you could call it a "how to" book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Fun read

    It was a fun read. Once I started, I didn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    a lovely book about dealing with extraordinary circumstances

    I found this to be a very enjoyable book about dealing with an unusual life changing circumstance. It was interested to see how she dealt with the changes in her life. I would highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Dogs as Touchstones

    The book is a study of memory (or the lack of it) in a person's world. The woman who wrote this book is a writer who had the experience of losing
    her husband in a day-to-day sense when he was in an accident that did damage to this memory. Her dogs were her saviors in a real sense, keeping her grounded in the rich presence of her life while she struggled
    to help retain her marriage on some level. It is a story with many tears and much laughter. The positivity of the woman's mind helps her deal with her husband's loss of his, and the dogs help remind us that we often can learn deep lessons from creatures other than ourselves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    This was such a good book! Like the other reviewer said, not really about dogs but the story was great. It is a sad, sweet, happy, comfy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Three Dog Life

    Great book. I could have read it in one sitting. Explains finally what is meant by a "three dog night", which I found amusingly interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I feel it should have been called A Three Dog Life and a Husband's Illness.

    I did enjoy the book, but thought I would get a lesson in learning from the relationships between the writer and her dogs; however it was more of a lesson in dealing with one's husband and his illness. It was a bit too depressing and not very uplifting to me. I had just seen the movie, and read the book "Marley and Me" so I wanted more fun, and more excitement. It was smooth reading though and was completed in a couple of evenings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Could not put it down

    Read this book in a matter of hours. Literally could not put it down. I felt as though I was right there with her as she told the story. Michael Castelli, author of Fortunes Told

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2