Customer Reviews for

Three Graves Full

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous Debut!

Poor Jason Getty has spent most of his life being mild, wishy-washy, invisible to everyone. One day, he has had enough with being pushed around and commits murder-best part-he seems to have gotten away with it, using his backyard to bury the evidence! Too bad he needed ...
Poor Jason Getty has spent most of his life being mild, wishy-washy, invisible to everyone. One day, he has had enough with being pushed around and commits murder-best part-he seems to have gotten away with it, using his backyard to bury the evidence! Too bad he needed some landscaping done, yep, not so smart, huh? His landscaper uncovers a body in his yard, except it isn't the one he planted!

In a twisted and convoluted tale, several strangers converge on Jason's life, each with their own agenda, each with a connection to at least one of the three bodies buried in his yard. The detective, is just doing his job. The abandoned fiance needs answers, no matter what! Then there is the former owner of the house, a strange recluse who is either himself, or his twin brother!

This book comes complete with a who-dun-it mystery, the chase scene in the night, and the awesome dog, who saves the day! A great read with characters too stereo-typical not to be real and totally likable!!!!! The ending, was NOT what I expected! This read fast, hooked me in and made me laugh a few times, too!

This ARC copy of THREE GRAVES FULL was given to me by NetGalley and Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review. Pub Date Feb 12 2013

posted by DiiMI on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

this book has a clever & interestingly-weird plot, but the a

this book has a clever & interestingly-weird plot, but the author's writing style is often a distraction: 1. too many contrived similes and analogies  2. too much narrative, not enough dialogue  3. too many unnatural contractions 4. no geography reference  5. too mu...
this book has a clever & interestingly-weird plot, but the author's writing style is often a distraction: 1. too many contrived similes and analogies  2. too much narrative, not enough dialogue  3. too many unnatural contractions 4. no geography reference  5. too much silly dog involvement...  ok first novel, but work to-be-done...  

posted by Reader6257 on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is very little peace for a man with a body buried in his b

    There is very little peace for a man with a body buried in his backyard.




    But it could always be worse. . . .




    More than a year ago, mild-mannered Jason Getty killed a man he wished he’d never met. Then he planted the problem a little too close to home. But just as he’s learning to live with the undeniable reality of what he’s done, police unearth two bodies on his property—neither of which is the one Jason buried.




    My Thoughts
    In Jamie Mason’s debut novel she has come up with a very unique plot. Seriously 3 bodies in the same yard left by at least 2 different killers. With elements of dark humor she serves up a complicated mystery with many twists and turns.




    The story is told from multiple points of view and I will admit sometimes the timeline and all the characters got a bit confusing but as the story continues and relationships play out it gets easier to follow. The main character Jason Getty was a lost soul and easy prey for Gary Harris. The other characters did not really stand out for me with the exception of the very talented dog that ended up playing a major role.




    Remembering this is the author’s first book they are several excellent elements to build on. The premise of the story was fantastic. She has a very descriptive way of writing which I enjoyed. The dialogue between characters and the comedic content was almost there but not quite. I encourage her to work on her character development so the reader is drawn to more than the main character.  Something that makes the supporting characters memorable. Jamie Mason shows great promise and she is definitely an author I will be expecting big things from.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    A good read

    This is a murder mystery that plays out for the reader in a very intense and vivid way. Most of it is filled with twists and turns that leave the reader satisfied in the basic story. The fleshing out, on page, of the characters, and just what is ultimately the conclusion; which I had no idea, where it was going to end. When it finished, I was smirking and also thinking, this was a fun read, with a very graphic approach to murder and also a scheming style of cover-up, and most of all lies. I think the book works best when going into it with an open mind and also a reality that its simple fiction, yet comes together as what you would see on a crime show. The plot reminded me of all the old 50's or 60's murder mysteries. You have three bodies, one homeowner, a murderer, cover-up of crimes and a situation that plays out like an Alfred Hitchcock plot. That's basically what I felt like I was reading, a script to an old whodunit style film. Jamie Mason is able to give you just enough to make you want, to turn the page, to find out what will happen. Jamie makes you feel sympathy for your main character Jason, as he goes through his guilty conscience and his paranoia, as everything, he could never see coming, slowly controls him. Mason gives you a tight, interesting story of mystery, struggle, a showdown of a twist and a perfect mystery weaved around an emotional ordeal. I recommend this book to lovers of mysteries, and old school crime films. I liked this book, because it kept me page after page. The plot, or reality of the story is simple, but the characters and situations and emotions and actions of those characters, keep you grounded in the book, wanting to know, just what will happen.

    Would I Return to it Again: Probably not. Once was enough. I don't mean that, in a bad way. It's just one of those books after reading it, you know the mystery and the final ordeal, so there, is no sense in returning to it. But I would return to the sequels, and the mystery's, of Jason's ordeals.

    Would I Recommend: As I have stated for the lovers of mystery and old school style crime novels and movies, this works in great detail.

    Year Published: 2014

    Book Length: 384

    How I Read It: Nook

    Four Words: Mysterious, Tense paranoia, Hitchcockian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to give this book more than 3 stars, but couldn't quite

    I wanted to give this book more than 3 stars, but couldn't quite give it 4.  An enjoyable read overall.  

    It took me a while after I finished Three Graves Full, the debut novel by Jamie Mason, to decide exactly what I thought of it. In fact, three or so days later, I am still not sure. Overall I liked it, but it was certainly not what I was expecting. 




    More than a year ago, mild-mannered Jason Getty killed a man he wished he’d never met. Then he planted the problem a little too close to home. But just as he’s learning to live with the undeniable reality of what he’s done, police unearth two bodies on his property—neither of which is the one Jason buried. The first line of the book states "There is very little peace for a man with a body buried in his backyard."Sounds like the beginning to a typical thriller/suspense novel, doesn't it? But this book is not even close to typical for this genre, nor was it at all what I expected. I expected a novel with a lot of drama, drama of the serious bent. 




    There was a lot of drama in this book, but it was more the drama-queen, eye-rolling sort of drama. Typically when I read a thriller I expect a lot of "Oh my, I didn't see that coming" moments, maybe some chills running up the spine and a little bit of worry about how everyone is going to survive. I don't expect to by cracking a smile and shaking my head in wonder at how absurd a situation can get. The sort of black humor that fills this book is definitely what sets it apart from your typical psychological thriller. About 20 pages into the book, Jason Getty's life veers horribly out of control and from there on, the book careens on to it's conclusion. 




    I admit, before I read this book I had not read the part of the publishers blurb that likened this book to a Coen Brothers movie. If I had, I probably would have been more in tune with what to expect. Those types of movies are not for everyone and, like the movies, neither is this book, I think. As the blurb says, though, if you like your thrillers with a bit of sharp humor, you will like this book. If you like characters who are swept along by their circumstances and whose lives are totally out of control, you will like this book. If you like watching a train wreck and just are not able to tear your eyes away, then you will like this book. 




    As to the nuts and bolts of the book, I thought the writing was quite good and the characters were well developed. I particularly liked the way that Jamie Mason let the reader into the minds of her characters. From Jason, whose out of control life becomes the focal point of the story, through Leah Tamblin, the detectives on the case, Gary Harris, all the way down to Tessa the dog, the way that she highlighted the internal workings of their minds was a real treat.




    So - why did I give the book 3 stars, instead of 4? Well along with everything that was good, there were a few things that I put me off. For one thing, the author had a habit of referring to her characters by their last names in one sentence, and then by their first names in the next. For example, sometimes the lead detective was Tim, sometimes he was Bayard. In addition, although I liked the inclusion of the inner workings of the mind of Tessa the dog, I thought that they were a bit drawn out and ended up skimming some of that part of the book. 




    My final thoughts, if you like the Coen Brothers movies, or the dark humor of some of the stories of Alfred Hitcock, you will love this book. If you are in the mood for something different than the usual, this is the book for you. I struggled with how to rate this book as I didn't quite feel it was up to a 4 star standard, but it was definitely more than a 3 star read. I would really love to have given it 3.5 stars. I can definitely see myself reading more by this author. 




    Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the unproofed copy of this book they allowed me to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I wanted to enjoy this book. The moment I read the description,

    I wanted to enjoy this book. The moment I read the description, I knew I would like the plot, so I wanted to like the rest as well. Unfortunately it didn’t quite turn out like that.

    Jason thinks himself a reasonable, calm man. That image however disagrees with the body buried in his backyard, the body he knows is there but he won’t acknowledge. In an effort to hide it even more, he hires a landscaping team who stumble upon a body in his backyard. The only problem? It’s not the body of the man Jason buried. The body belongs to a woman, and Jason has no idea why she’s in his backyard to begin with.

    With the police inspectors sensing something is wrong, each passing moment makes Jason more and more nervous. But Jason isn’t the only one with worries on his mind. As the detective, Tim Bayard, continues his investigation, he stumbles upon a second body. And then evidence in Jason’s home indicates a third murder took place in the house…

    Leah’s fiancé disappeared years ago, and when she hears about the bodies discovered in Jason’s backyard, she goes out to investigate, wanting to see her husband’s possible grave. The moment Jason and Leah meet, their stories collide and continue onward down the same path as the killer of two of the bodies makes an appearance.

    I was kind of hoping something supernatural would happen after the bodies were discovered and the police found evidence of the crimes in Jason’s house. Although I have no idea why I was hoping for something like that, besides my obvious fascination with the supernatural, but anyway, nothing happened. Jason is an interesting character though, and that made up for the lack of action at the start of the book. You figure out quite soon he’s the murderer of one of the people buried in the backyard. He’s a loner with a quiet, calm personality. And even though I wanted to hate him, not just because he killed someone, although that was the primary reason, I couldn’t bring myself to hate him. There was something about him that made me like him, despite my initial feelings. He’s the kind of person you end up feeling sorry for, because no matter what he did, life always backfired on him.

    I liked the first part of the book well-enough, but the level drops down significantly the moment Jason and Leah meet up. What happens is a game of cat and mouse with the killer, a car chase and other things that, in my opinion, belonged in an action movie. It made the book on the whole rather appear like a comedy. I like dark humor, but this humor didn’t fit. It wasn’t dark enough, and at times too dark. It was odd for me to read about.

    At times, the author showed moments of sheer brilliance. Unfortunately she doesn’t keep that up during the entire book. The end result is an exciting, sometimes suspenseful thriller that shows us deeper insight into the human mind as it follows Jason through his troublesome life. I enjoyed it, but it won’t end up on my favorite-reads list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1