Customer Reviews for

Three Junes

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Heartbreaking and Amazing

This book is probably in the Top 10 reading experiences of my whole life. This is a deceptively simple book, which could be dismissed by those who claim that 'nothing ever happens' in it. In fact, momentous things happen in THREE JUNES; but they're internal things tha...
This book is probably in the Top 10 reading experiences of my whole life. This is a deceptively simple book, which could be dismissed by those who claim that 'nothing ever happens' in it. In fact, momentous things happen in THREE JUNES; but they're internal things that happen in the minds of its central characters. Ms. Glass knows her characters the way every novelist should but few probably do -- after reading this book, I feel as though I know them as well (I even like most of them). This book teaches life lessons without preaching or hitting the reader over the head with didacticism; perhaps the reason I'm so over the moon about THREE JUNES is because it taught me things that I desperately needed to learn as I read the book, and taught them to me in a way that I could let the lessons in. This is a beautiful book. Obviously, it's not for everyone -- but if you're already considering it, I would highly recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

More Like a Long Short Story

I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstor...
I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstory. The first story was the best. The second story of the older brother (Fenno) was the longest and I felt the same for him when I started and when it was over - nothing.

The synopsis said this book was about, "a Scottish family as they confront the joys and longings, fulfillments, and betrayals of love in all its guises." I certainly didn't see a long of joy, longing, or fulfillment in this book. It was mostly depressing and very unsatisfying.

posted by jkny23 on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More Like a Long Short Story

    I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstory. The first story was the best. The second story of the older brother (Fenno) was the longest and I felt the same for him when I started and when it was over - nothing.

    The synopsis said this book was about, "a Scottish family as they confront the joys and longings, fulfillments, and betrayals of love in all its guises." I certainly didn't see a long of joy, longing, or fulfillment in this book. It was mostly depressing and very unsatisfying.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Heartbreaking and Amazing

    This book is probably in the Top 10 reading experiences of my whole life. This is a deceptively simple book, which could be dismissed by those who claim that 'nothing ever happens' in it. In fact, momentous things happen in THREE JUNES; but they're internal things that happen in the minds of its central characters. Ms. Glass knows her characters the way every novelist should but few probably do -- after reading this book, I feel as though I know them as well (I even like most of them). This book teaches life lessons without preaching or hitting the reader over the head with didacticism; perhaps the reason I'm so over the moon about THREE JUNES is because it taught me things that I desperately needed to learn as I read the book, and taught them to me in a way that I could let the lessons in. This is a beautiful book. Obviously, it's not for everyone -- but if you're already considering it, I would highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Rarely does one find characters so compellingly human

    Not since Madeline McCarthy in The Way the Crow Flies have I fallen so completely in love with a character. I want Fenno McCleod, so beautifully shown and not told by Julia Glass, in my life. I was intrigued though slightly put off by Paul, the patriarch, but Fenno drew me in and taught me lessons I still needed to learn: Family dynamics, the wounded children we still are even when we are grown, and the ultimate realization that, as Fenno says, we don't have to be understood to be loved. I hope Julia Glass has another novel in her because this one is now on my list of favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Don't underestimate this subtle story

    I was surprised to see such disparity among the reviews posted here. For me, Three Junes is a beautifully written book that meshes form and content. It evoked a feeling of wistulness -- I wanted to know the characters better, learn more of their story. But isn't that what Fenno wants as well? Doesn't he gather his insight from external sources and clues rather than from the characters themselves? Memory and memorial, I treasured this book yet longed for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Love it or Hate it

    This is definitely one of those love it or hate it books. I couldn't get past the first 5 chapters. I was hoping it would get better, and that if I just kept reading, I'd get hooked. I was wrong! It seems many people enjoyed this read, but it just wasn't for me. This is one of those rare books that I wasn't able to will myself to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Very Dissappointing

    Took me a while to finish this book because I just couldnt find any real plot. The book came in and out of different peoples lives with no clear purpose. Overall not a horrible book, but definitly did'nt keep me looking forward to picking it up each night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    HOW DID THIS BOOK GET PUBLISHED?

    THIS WAS 12 HOURS OF MY LIFE I WILL NEVER GET BACK. FROM START TO FINISH I KEPT WAITING FOR A STORY TO START AND IT NEVER DID. MS. GLASS DEVELOPED THE CHARACTERS BUT THE READER, ME, NEVER CARED ABOUT THEM...IT WAS ENDLESS. I LIKE A GOOD STORY NOT A BUNCH OF GOSSIP.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Beautiful book

    At unexpected times, the language of the book brought tears to my eyes
    This author has truely created something beautiful. Do not let less than bright reviewers deter you from reafing this bpok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    This remains one of my favorite books.  It's masterful at weavin

    This remains one of my favorite books.  It's masterful at weaving together strands of a story, complete with flawed characters the reader grows to love.  I absolutely cannot comprehend 1 or 2 star ratings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Jumped arounf too much

    I didn't like the way the author went from the present to the past within a chapter and seemingly at random. There were too many separate stories going on with yet anither introduced towards the end if the book. The ending was not satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Got this book because it was the answer to a Jeopardy question,

    Got this book because it was the answer to a Jeopardy question, and the contestant knew the answer. Hey, if it made it to Jeopardy, it must be good. Not so. I thought most of the characters were weak, and the story fractured. The only relationship I believed was the one between Fenno and Mal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I tried, but could not finish this one

    I could have used a dictionary to look up the meanings of the big words in this book, and there were so many foreign phrases and terms that I felt it was more of a homework assignment than a relaxing read. I read about 1/3 of it and decided not to waste any more of my summer on it, so will donate it back to the thrift store where I bought it in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Boring Read

    Not only was this book too slow, but it was boring and bounced around too much as well. There were also things said in another language that werent defined in english so parts of the main dialogue were hard to follow. Also, it seemed as though the writer was more interested in a vocabulary lesson than a plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Didn't like it-

    I really didn't like this book. I have read far better books. Don't waste your time on this one. This book is about three older brothers and it follows their lives. I struggled through this story (because sometimes they get better- but this one didn't). I really gave it an effort but it was not catching me at all. I wasn't interested and the book was hard to read. I read to be entertained and have fun, this book was more like a chore than a piece of entertainment. Don't do it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Disappointed in The Three Junes

    I think the author writes very well and has fleshed out the characters well. I found Malachy interesting, a bit prickly in personality; the depiction of his illness is strong. I believe him to be the pivotal character in the story, around whom Fenno finds the strength to mature in his relationships. All said, I, unfortunately, was not very interested in the overall story; I could not seem to become engaged.

    I would definitely give another of the author's books a try. She is a good writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Beautiful and memorable!

    I read THREE JUNES a year ago, then decided to read it again over the last few days to see if it was actually as good as I remembered. Absolutely yes! I cried again when I came to the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Nearly Perfect

    This book was recommended to me by the owner of our local bookstore. I hadn't heard anything, positive or negative, about it so I read it with no preconceived notions or biases. I agree with all the accolades the book has garnered. This is a well-paced, well-crafted family story that manages to be exotic and familiar all at the same time. It would be worth five stars if the loose end of Paul's (the first main character in the book) unresolved death were covered a bit more clearly. It's one of those books you wish went a little longer. Exceptional for a first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    A captivating read

    I thought that this book started out a bit slow, but I am so glad I stuck it out. By then end I just couldn't bear to put it down. Glass creates a stunningly beautiful novel, rich in so many different aspects. I love the uplifting ending which so many books lack nowadays. Very well done!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    I started to read this because of my book club, but. . .

    I finished it because I fell in love with the book. The characters are fully fleshed and fallible. We see them at their best and at their worst, and like old friends, learn to love them BECAUSE of all their flaws, rather than despite them. Other reviewers felt as if they were left hanging at the end of this book, but that is the very nature of a charater-driven piece. I judge the quality of the writing by whether or not I can continue to visualize these characters in their lives, and whether or not what I imagine happening next would be of interest. In this case, the answer is a resounding 'YES!' to both questions. I highly recommend this book. It is a slice of life, over the course of 10 years and two generations of family. Like life, it does not neatly tie every loose end up in pretty bow for us to gaze at and admire. But it also reminds us that the joy is in the journey, not the destination.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5