Customer Reviews for

Three Junes

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rarely does one find characters so compellingly human

Not since Madeline McCarthy in The Way the Crow Flies have I fallen so completely in love with a character. I want Fenno McCleod, so beautifully shown and not told by Julia Glass, in my life. I was intrigued though slightly put off by Paul, the patriarch, but Fenno drew...
Not since Madeline McCarthy in The Way the Crow Flies have I fallen so completely in love with a character. I want Fenno McCleod, so beautifully shown and not told by Julia Glass, in my life. I was intrigued though slightly put off by Paul, the patriarch, but Fenno drew me in and taught me lessons I still needed to learn: Family dynamics, the wounded children we still are even when we are grown, and the ultimate realization that, as Fenno says, we don't have to be understood to be loved. I hope Julia Glass has another novel in her because this one is now on my list of favorites.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

More Like a Long Short Story

I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstor...
I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstory. The first story was the best. The second story of the older brother (Fenno) was the longest and I felt the same for him when I started and when it was over - nothing.

The synopsis said this book was about, "a Scottish family as they confront the joys and longings, fulfillments, and betrayals of love in all its guises." I certainly didn't see a long of joy, longing, or fulfillment in this book. It was mostly depressing and very unsatisfying.

posted by jkny23 on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More Like a Long Short Story

    I struggled to finish this book. Though the descriptions of places and things were good, the transitions were jarring when floating from past to present and back again. I never really understood why or how they were connected besides it was a memory to give the backstory. The first story was the best. The second story of the older brother (Fenno) was the longest and I felt the same for him when I started and when it was over - nothing.

    The synopsis said this book was about, "a Scottish family as they confront the joys and longings, fulfillments, and betrayals of love in all its guises." I certainly didn't see a long of joy, longing, or fulfillment in this book. It was mostly depressing and very unsatisfying.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Love it or Hate it

    This is definitely one of those love it or hate it books. I couldn't get past the first 5 chapters. I was hoping it would get better, and that if I just kept reading, I'd get hooked. I was wrong! It seems many people enjoyed this read, but it just wasn't for me. This is one of those rare books that I wasn't able to will myself to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    HOW DID THIS BOOK GET PUBLISHED?

    THIS WAS 12 HOURS OF MY LIFE I WILL NEVER GET BACK. FROM START TO FINISH I KEPT WAITING FOR A STORY TO START AND IT NEVER DID. MS. GLASS DEVELOPED THE CHARACTERS BUT THE READER, ME, NEVER CARED ABOUT THEM...IT WAS ENDLESS. I LIKE A GOOD STORY NOT A BUNCH OF GOSSIP.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I tried, but could not finish this one

    I could have used a dictionary to look up the meanings of the big words in this book, and there were so many foreign phrases and terms that I felt it was more of a homework assignment than a relaxing read. I read about 1/3 of it and decided not to waste any more of my summer on it, so will donate it back to the thrift store where I bought it in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Boring Read

    Not only was this book too slow, but it was boring and bounced around too much as well. There were also things said in another language that werent defined in english so parts of the main dialogue were hard to follow. Also, it seemed as though the writer was more interested in a vocabulary lesson than a plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Didn't like it-

    I really didn't like this book. I have read far better books. Don't waste your time on this one. This book is about three older brothers and it follows their lives. I struggled through this story (because sometimes they get better- but this one didn't). I really gave it an effort but it was not catching me at all. I wasn't interested and the book was hard to read. I read to be entertained and have fun, this book was more like a chore than a piece of entertainment. Don't do it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Send her back to the drawing board

    or rather maybe TO the drawing board, as Julia Glass just does not have it as a writer, and perhaps she would have better luck with a paintbrush in her hand. If I had known I was going to have to endure 95% of the book reading about gays, I certainly would never even have started it. I hate to even stick one star on the book, but must according to the rules of sending a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    This Won an Award?????

    I bought this book because of the reviews and the fact that it had won a national book award. I'll take a light romance book instead any day. I usually try to finish a book I've started but no more. My time is worth more to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Hello .... was the ending left out in this book !

    I enjoyed the characters - but - the story about them went absolutely nowhere ! I was totally dissapointed. I didn't even see the three Junes connection. I read ALL the time and feel that because of the lack of finality to this book - and - the lack of connection it was a big thumbs down !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    BORING

    I couldn't put the book down because I thought it would get better. No way! This book was a waste of time. Took forever to understand what the book was about and by that time I didn't care!!! Don't waste your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Junes???

    I have read the book and was clueless about the connections of the three Junes. There should be a clear defination of time here. A hugh thumbs down..it was hard to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Not worth the time

    This book is not worth the time. I found it dull and uninteresting. The characters are not developed well, you do not feel as if you know them fully. There is no closure. The writing is very disjointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    What a complete disaster

    Being a high rated, well though of book, our bookclub read it for May. What a waste of a good tree. Depressing,choppy, storylines without purpose or endings or beginnings I thoroughly disliked this book. The only two charcters I enjoyed were the young girl on the beach (who shows up again in the last June) and the dreaded sister-in-law who actually was quite a character and had some life. Eleven out of twelve hated it. Sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    READERS BEWARE !

    I have patiently persevered through the first 100 pages, and have YET to see what all the hype is about this book!! BORING!!! I keep waiting for the characters to develop some 'flesh and blood' and seem REAL !! Certainly, any book that wins such an award should grab the reader early on ! It is written in a VERY disjointed style and is exasperating to read! I really feel misled by all the hype printed about it. It was a complete waste of my money and time invested on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    1 Star for effort

    The book was a waste of time. It did nothing but bore me. Sometimes I can't even put a book down once I star reading it, with Three Junes I was longing for it to end, but the uninteresting plot (if any) seemed to be going on forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Worst book I have read in years!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is choppy and jumps back and forth in an awkward manner. Word choice is poor and does not flow. It was very hard to even keep reading!!!!! Plot is boring too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    What book did the reviewers read?

    I truly fail to see what the hype was about this book; it's one of the worst I've read in years. As another reviewer stated, the first section is shows promise and moves along nicely, but the other two are an ordeal. The second section, specifically, is primarily about a boring, self-absorbed, homosexual who can't seem to find anything to satisfy him in life. The third is an unfocused rambling about a number of people who find themselves sharing a few days together in a New York beach retreat. What was the point?<p>Spare yourself the agony of wasted hours of precious summer reading time, pass on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    Worst Book I've read in several Years

    The one star I awarded was given reluctantly as there was no lesser star to award. I found the book lacked the presence of a story line. The story kept jumping from one vignette to another with almost no rhyme or reason. The book also lacked an iota of a time line. And what's with all those parentheses, they were improperly used and most anoying. I made a promise with myself that I would complete each and every book I began, but with this one I almost broke my own vow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1