Customer Reviews for

Three Little Words: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Book That You Could Never Get Tired Of

This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The em...
This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The emotion that Ashley Rhodes-Courter put into this was incredible. Maybe it's because it was a true story that she lived through, or because she is a great author. Either way, this book is unforgettable and phenomenal. You won't regret picking it up.

I originally borrowed this book from a friend after she persuaded me to read it. I'm so thankful that she did! Now, I have bought the book and read it multiple times.

I have read many books. I am an avid reader, and my bedroom is full of them. I even have another room just full of books! This has to be, by far, one of the best I've read.

Personally, I think you should be 12 or older to read this book, maybe 13. I was 12 when I read it for the first time. It depends on your maturity level, though.

You will not regret buying this at all.

posted by PartyOnTheMoon on December 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Caution this book contains porn beginning on page 49-50.

this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this...
this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this book and if they are then shame on all of you!
Take the child off the cover and replace it with a picture of satan stealing the innocence of children who have never lived a life like that. I am very sorry that there are not more like me protecting children from this kind of gross injustice. This arthor should not be writing books for children at all if this is what you have to offer. Shame on you for this material. Shame!!!!

posted by mother-protector on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    must read!!

    best book(:!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotional and Enticing

    i loved this book by ashley- rhodes its very emotional and i couldnt put the book down. this book is very real. it really made me think about how lucky i am that i have both of my parents and that i never had to go through anything like foster care and i really feel bad for all the kids that had to live with the mosses in the story???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Elizabeth Revels *This book is a really good book in my eyes*

    This book is a really good book for ages 15 and up. i think that this book can relate to many people. it helpped me find myself as a whole, because i had gone through foster care and i really connected with the litte girl in this book. even though i had some people pushing me towards the end of my foster care years to try to get out and do the things that i needed to do. i wish that i could meet ashley and tell her how much her book has helped me get through some of my problems. She seems like a really nice girl and I think from my own personal experience that she is a better person today because of everything that she had to go through as a child and all of the hard ships that she had to go through. I would rate this book really high because it helped me out a lot to figureing out my problems.
    TIMBER CREEK HIGH SCHOOL CLASS OF 2010 *ELIZABETH REVELS*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome and sad but overall the best book!

    This is a great book. It's a fast read and jumps right into the plot. Although, it will challenge you emotional and you may cry it is an unforgettable true story of courage for this younge girl. I think everyone should read this book whether they are young or old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Wonderful True Story

    This is a well written and very interesting true story about a young child in the Foster Care system. She tells her story of the good and the bad in a very compelling way. Thanks to finally being appointed a GAL (Guardian at Lidum) she has a wonderful new beginning. She tells of her struggles, fears and finally belief in her new family.It is quite a journey and I highly recommend it. Her speech coach is a good friend of ours (which is how I heard about the book) so that made it even more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Fast read and couldn't put it down.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I passed the book on to my grand daughter because I thought she might enjoy the story. I have had experience with social services adoptions in California and I have read in the newspapers about where social services did not do enough to protect children and in my own adoption experience I do not feel the children are well represented because it takes so long to sever parental rights. I also feel that some of the problem lies with too many cases for social services workers which makes it difficult to do as good a job as should be done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Touching Story

    I had the opportunity to meet and listen to Ashley spoke at the 39th Annual Adoption Convention. I must say, I was very saddened to hear what happened to her, and her brother while they were living in foster care. As a Case Manager for the Department of Child Services Ashley's story really broke my heart. On a positive note, Ashley has turned her life story into a positive role model to advocate for other young people who are in the Child Welfare System. I have not read her book yet, but planned to purchase a copy of it this weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Moving and touching

    I just finished this book and am shocked. I have a daughter who is 2 months older than Ashley and I am stunned that in these days this kind of neglect and abuse is going on especially in Foster Care where the foster parents are supposed to be watched and monitored by officials. The entire time I read this book I kept picturing my own daughter at that same age having BD parties, dressing up for halloween, having sleepovers, laughing and enjoying her youth and I never once thought that is was possible a child living in the United States her very same age was suffering the way Ashley and her little bother did as well as countless other children. Ashley is a fighter and I thank her for writing such a powerful memoir and sharing her story with us so we can all be more aware and knowledgable of this issue. I love this book and highly recommend it to everyone but I also hate this book because it is a true story of abuse and neglect that should have NEVER happened to any child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I think that this is a must-read for anyone considering adopting

    I think that this is a must-read for anyone considering adopting an older child. It was very emotional, especially taking into consideration that it was a true story written by the main character who was still barely more than a teenager when this was written. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Dear no ,

    Pound sand!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!this book is the best! You need to deal with it!!reply: bbgirl01

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Very Good book- easy read!

    This was a recommendation from a friend. My husband and I are in the process of being Certified Foster/Adoption parents in Louisiana and I have been reading what I can to get prepared. This book was WAYYYYYY better than I thought and I recommend anyone looking for personal insight into the world of fostering/adoption to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Such a great book. Couldnt get tired of it. Ever. 

    Such a great book. Couldnt get tired of it. Ever. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Three Little Words Review

    This was the most moving and best books i have ever read. She is a true insperarion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Best book ever

    Mind blow! Such a good book, sad at some parts. But amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Enjoy -Ncole

    I have this book in paper back and im in foster care so i know kinda what she went through enjoy -Nicole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    I love it

    This book was amazing i couldnt put it down ashley you are amazing and this book touched my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Really good!

    I had to read this book for a book report and after the first chapter I fell in love with it and thought it was a really great book about her life story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    love love love!

    The book Three Little Words is very inspirational! I highly recommend it. Theres no boring parts and its always intresting. This book takes you through the struggles of a child in foster care. Also it shows you how terrible a young pregnacy truly is. I honestly think this book is one of my top favorite books. I could not put it down. If your intrested in a book thats sort of trgic and sad, then you should deifinatly read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Touching

    Very interesting boook.
    Makes me sad everytime i read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great book!

    With such a hard confusing and abusive life she shows how life can go on even after going through a living hell..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6