Customer Reviews for

Three Little Words: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Book That You Could Never Get Tired Of

This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The em...
This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The emotion that Ashley Rhodes-Courter put into this was incredible. Maybe it's because it was a true story that she lived through, or because she is a great author. Either way, this book is unforgettable and phenomenal. You won't regret picking it up.

I originally borrowed this book from a friend after she persuaded me to read it. I'm so thankful that she did! Now, I have bought the book and read it multiple times.

I have read many books. I am an avid reader, and my bedroom is full of them. I even have another room just full of books! This has to be, by far, one of the best I've read.

Personally, I think you should be 12 or older to read this book, maybe 13. I was 12 when I read it for the first time. It depends on your maturity level, though.

You will not regret buying this at all.

posted by PartyOnTheMoon on December 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Caution this book contains porn beginning on page 49-50.

this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this...
this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this book and if they are then shame on all of you!
Take the child off the cover and replace it with a picture of satan stealing the innocence of children who have never lived a life like that. I am very sorry that there are not more like me protecting children from this kind of gross injustice. This arthor should not be writing books for children at all if this is what you have to offer. Shame on you for this material. Shame!!!!

posted by mother-protector on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    A Book That You Could Never Get Tired Of

    This is one of the best books I have ever written.<BR/>Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone? <BR/>After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.<BR/>This book has made me cry often. The emotion that Ashley Rhodes-Courter put into this was incredible. Maybe it's because it was a true story that she lived through, or because she is a great author. Either way, this book is unforgettable and phenomenal. You won't regret picking it up.<BR/><BR/>I originally borrowed this book from a friend after she persuaded me to read it. I'm so thankful that she did! Now, I have bought the book and read it multiple times.<BR/><BR/>I have read many books. I am an avid reader, and my bedroom is full of them. I even have another room just full of books! This has to be, by far, one of the best I've read. <BR/><BR/>Personally, I think you should be 12 or older to read this book, maybe 13. I was 12 when I read it for the first time. It depends on your maturity level, though.<BR/><BR/>You will not regret buying this at all.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    In what may be the most powerful part of the book, Rhodes-Courte

    In what may be the most powerful part of the book, Rhodes-Courter asks a very good question. Why do states pay a fortune for foster care instead of subsidizing the birth parents? What would have happened if her own mother had been given money and support to keep her own children? And why does the state ignore reports of abuse in a foster home yet whisk children away from their own parents at the slightest hint of a problem? If you are considering adopting or fostering a child, this book is a must. As you read, you will understand what these children have to go through. That understanding brings compassion. You will also understand what would be parents go through because both sides of the story are told effectively. This brave young woman's account of the long road she traveled after being forcibly removed from her birth mother's care to eventually finding security with a family who nurtures her in ways she never could have imagined is a heartbreaker. While the often terrifying journey ends well for Ashley, we know there are thousands more &quot;lost&quot; children out there who will never be as smart, as determined--or as lucky. Now twenty-two and a successful crusader for those caught in the foster-care system as she was--almost interminably--Ashley Rhodes-Courter stands as witness that there has to be a better way to deal with the children left behind when &quot;the state&quot; decides their parents are unfit. Three Little Words (they are not the ones you think) is an incredibly well-written tale, all the more powerful for the fact that every word is true. I hope and pray that all continues to well with her and her brother.    

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Kudos to Ashley Rhodes-Courter. I am a foster parent and unlike so many we do provide a loving home to children. To this day children come into our home with a garbage bag. It was incredible to see her story through her eyes and experiences.<BR/><BR/>I wish the Moss's would have gotten much worse, however Ashley set the state of Florida on a better path. The foster children in the United States are greatly overlooked. While we are not interested in adopting, we do long term foster care and let kids know they are loveable. They do stay in our lives for a very long time.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    this book is amazing.

    well i haven't finish the whole book. but so far the book is amazing i mean its deep,thrilling and will leave you breath less. you can really get lost in this book my teacher told me about it and i was like i'll check it out. so i read the first couple of pages and could'nt stop. my oppinion is that you would love it to. even if don't like to read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Love

    I love this book. I do not relate to anything she went threw, i grew up in a great home. But this book really made me feel her pain and strugle. I would recommend this book to many of my teenage friends.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    It was very good and moving. It had a powerful message, and it really touched me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I connected alot with this book. Im a child that was adopted and had alot of agreements and connectings with my life. I hope people take care of their child like thry ment more then anything in the world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Raw Book! Must Read!!

    Three little words was a great book, it was very inspiring. It was about a young girl that had a very rough childhood. She bounced around to many different foster homes and was seperated from her family. She was abused and not treated right at some of the house she was placed in. She was giving up hope on finding a good family that is willing to adopt her. Years went on and with only a little hope left. In came the Courter family. They came a few times and started to get to know Ashley and she started to really like them. A little later they adopted her and gave her a brand new life. She never forgot her real family but she loved her new one. With their help she graduated from college and now she travles the world promoting people to go to foster homes and adopt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    life changing

    By reading the first chapter of Three little words I was already hooked on getting the book finished. I was very interested in knowing what her story was and how she overcame these obstacles. I honestly recommend this book to anyone. I think it¿s a very touching memoir and shows that we can¿t take everyone for granted because we all have a story. Ashley¿s story is one you will never forget. I recommend this for the ages of 15+
    -Kitty Timber Creek High School Class of 2011

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Three Little Words

    Okay. A little dramatic but really descriptive. I really could relate to her because my family currently has three foster kids. Its not easy but to see them be put in a bad foster care home, or worse, go back to their mother who doesnt take care of them at all. This book really portrys how foster kids feel and sometimes get treated. Definetly worthwhile read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A must read for anyone considering adoption

    This author painted a true picture of what goes on it the foster care system. As a volunteer with the Guardian-Ad-Litem program, I see a lot of this kind of treatment of the children that I represent. I believe anyone considering adoption should read this book and they will soon realize why the children they are about to adopt behave the way they do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    A book for anyone a mom/social worker/foster mom anyone involved with children this is 5 stars plus

    I am a mom biological and adoptive but as far as i am concerned some might not have my blood but they all have my heart mamma(as my grandchildren call me/ forever the words in this story are spoken so true they eill live inside your heart forever .... i was a foster mom for almost 10 years we had over 200 babies under the age of 2 also had children older when they came into our hearts 99.9 percent came with just the clothes they had on but not one of them left with a cloth bag not a garbage bag filled with some things they could hold onto that belong to them not oje child left with just what they came in and each child had either a handmade doll or teddy to hold onto when they were scarred we became foster parents again to our 2 toddler grandsons and we have seen 2 little lost children learn what it was to be loved and to give love we just had our last visit from our out of state social worker the adoption should be finalized soon i recommended this book to be used for programs regarding foster/adopted children, the stories in this book are stories that are true to what u read i am a mom grandma forever no matter what road they take

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book.

    I cried when I was reading this. Ashley reminded me of my granddaughter and Luke of my grandson. These poor souls, how they suffered. I hope Ashely is helping her brother who wanted to stay with her for so long. Poor sweet guy, he was looking for love and someone familiar. I have four half brothers because of the death of my father and mother remarrying and Ashley I would go to the ends of the earth for my brothers. Please help Luke. You are two precious people. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    FANTASTIC

    WHAT AN AMAZING BOOK. I Could not believe what ashley had to endure. Thank you to gay and phil who showered her with love and treated her as their own. A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Very nice book

    This book is a memoir. Ashley had to go through 9 years of the foster care system with her brother. They had 19 foster parents through 9 years. Ashley tells the good events and the bad events of her life after she is taken away from her parents. The author was trying to show the strength and that there is hope in this kind of a situation. She was taken away because her mother was 17 and she couldnt provide for her and her brother.This book madde me look diffeerently at life. It made me appreciate my parents morew then I did before. I feel very lucky to have both of my parents and that I didn't have to go thrrough the things Ashley did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    fantastic.....

    seriously, this was an absolutely amazing book.....must read for everyone :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    honestly written

    This book is beautifully and honestly written. Although sad this is a true depiction of what many children in fostercare go through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    very good book!

    this book was a quick read for me, as i kept turning pages, wanting to see how this little girl turned out. fortunately, it was a happy ending, but the pain she endured as a child is heartbreaking. it's an eye-opening book for those who know nothing or very little about our foster system. if you're like me and enjoy reading books about other people's true lives, you'll like this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Loved It

    Three Little Words is the story of Ashley's nine year journey through the limbo that we know as foster care. She tells her story of all the good and bad events from the day she and her brother were taken from her mother to her life after she is adopted. All she wanted was to be with her mother who just couldn't set herself straight. She tells her feelings, wants and fears in this compelling true story. I found it very hard to put this book down. What got me interested was it was about how a child (Ashley) thought and experienced going through the foster care system. I thought it would be interesting since I grew up around foster kids due to my grandparents. It was an amazing book and I just kept turning the pages anxiously wondering what was going to happen next. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good and easy book to read. -Taylor Langel

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Recommended

    I personally believe this is a very good book. It is based on the biography of Ashley Rhodes-Courter, a girl who unfortnetly had to go through the foster home system. As soon as I picked up the book and started reading, I imidiately connected to her life and what she went trough. It is a really well writen biography; it does not hold back in details, it is realisticlly descriptive, and it keeps you focused and anxious for reading more. I loved it and actually enjoyed reading it.

    Recommended to teenagers 14-up
    Timber Creek High School Class of 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6