BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Three Little Words: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Book That You Could Never Get Tired Of

This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The em...
This is one of the best books I have ever written.
Who ever knew that three little words really could mean so much to someone?
After reading this, I felt like I could've been there, and felt emotions through the roof.
This book has made me cry often. The emotion that Ashley Rhodes-Courter put into this was incredible. Maybe it's because it was a true story that she lived through, or because she is a great author. Either way, this book is unforgettable and phenomenal. You won't regret picking it up.

I originally borrowed this book from a friend after she persuaded me to read it. I'm so thankful that she did! Now, I have bought the book and read it multiple times.

I have read many books. I am an avid reader, and my bedroom is full of them. I even have another room just full of books! This has to be, by far, one of the best I've read.

Personally, I think you should be 12 or older to read this book, maybe 13. I was 12 when I read it for the first time. It depends on your maturity level, though.

You will not regret buying this at all.

posted by PartyOnTheMoon on December 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Caution this book contains porn beginning on page 49-50.

this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this...
this book is not for children. it should not be sold at book fairs
author could have told story with out this porn i am sure that the excellerated reader program is not testing our children, middle schoolers, and young teens on their understanding of this porn in this book and if they are then shame on all of you!
Take the child off the cover and replace it with a picture of satan stealing the innocence of children who have never lived a life like that. I am very sorry that there are not more like me protecting children from this kind of gross injustice. This arthor should not be writing books for children at all if this is what you have to offer. Shame on you for this material. Shame!!!!

posted by mother-protector on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Kudos to Ashley Rhodes-Courter. I am a foster parent and unlike so many we do provide a loving home to children. To this day children come into our home with a garbage bag. It was incredible to see her story through her eyes and experiences.<BR/><BR/>I wish the Moss's would have gotten much worse, however Ashley set the state of Florida on a better path. The foster children in the United States are greatly overlooked. While we are not interested in adopting, we do long term foster care and let kids know they are loveable. They do stay in our lives for a very long time.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    this book is amazing.

    well i haven't finish the whole book. but so far the book is amazing i mean its deep,thrilling and will leave you breath less. you can really get lost in this book my teacher told me about it and i was like i'll check it out. so i read the first couple of pages and could'nt stop. my oppinion is that you would love it to. even if don't like to read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Raw Book! Must Read!!

    Three little words was a great book, it was very inspiring. It was about a young girl that had a very rough childhood. She bounced around to many different foster homes and was seperated from her family. She was abused and not treated right at some of the house she was placed in. She was giving up hope on finding a good family that is willing to adopt her. Years went on and with only a little hope left. In came the Courter family. They came a few times and started to get to know Ashley and she started to really like them. A little later they adopted her and gave her a brand new life. She never forgot her real family but she loved her new one. With their help she graduated from college and now she travles the world promoting people to go to foster homes and adopt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    life changing

    By reading the first chapter of Three little words I was already hooked on getting the book finished. I was very interested in knowing what her story was and how she overcame these obstacles. I honestly recommend this book to anyone. I think it¿s a very touching memoir and shows that we can¿t take everyone for granted because we all have a story. Ashley¿s story is one you will never forget. I recommend this for the ages of 15+
    -Kitty Timber Creek High School Class of 2011

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Three Little Words

    Okay. A little dramatic but really descriptive. I really could relate to her because my family currently has three foster kids. Its not easy but to see them be put in a bad foster care home, or worse, go back to their mother who doesnt take care of them at all. This book really portrys how foster kids feel and sometimes get treated. Definetly worthwhile read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Very nice book

    This book is a memoir. Ashley had to go through 9 years of the foster care system with her brother. They had 19 foster parents through 9 years. Ashley tells the good events and the bad events of her life after she is taken away from her parents. The author was trying to show the strength and that there is hope in this kind of a situation. She was taken away because her mother was 17 and she couldnt provide for her and her brother.This book madde me look diffeerently at life. It made me appreciate my parents morew then I did before. I feel very lucky to have both of my parents and that I didn't have to go thrrough the things Ashley did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    very good book!

    this book was a quick read for me, as i kept turning pages, wanting to see how this little girl turned out. fortunately, it was a happy ending, but the pain she endured as a child is heartbreaking. it's an eye-opening book for those who know nothing or very little about our foster system. if you're like me and enjoy reading books about other people's true lives, you'll like this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Recommended

    I personally believe this is a very good book. It is based on the biography of Ashley Rhodes-Courter, a girl who unfortnetly had to go through the foster home system. As soon as I picked up the book and started reading, I imidiately connected to her life and what she went trough. It is a really well writen biography; it does not hold back in details, it is realisticlly descriptive, and it keeps you focused and anxious for reading more. I loved it and actually enjoyed reading it.

    Recommended to teenagers 14-up
    Timber Creek High School Class of 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Fast read and couldn't put it down.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I passed the book on to my grand daughter because I thought she might enjoy the story. I have had experience with social services adoptions in California and I have read in the newspapers about where social services did not do enough to protect children and in my own adoption experience I do not feel the children are well represented because it takes so long to sever parental rights. I also feel that some of the problem lies with too many cases for social services workers which makes it difficult to do as good a job as should be done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2014

    This is the first book that I have read that takes you through t

    This is the first book that I have read that takes you through the entire foster care system from the foster homes to adoption. The process seemed chaotic at best and took forever. I am truely suprised that little Ashley did not end up a broken child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In Search of a Family

    Three Little Words by Ashley Rhodes Courter explores love, family, and the everlasting longing for a true home. A young girl who is forced to move around the south east in search of the perfect family, Ashley strived for people to listen to her story. "Nothing in life comes easy, and if it does, you should be suspicious." Until the age of fourteen, nothing came easy to Ashley and her brother. Ashley soon realized that she had to become strong once she entered the system; you have to be to stay on top. As Ashley soon gets lost in the system of Foster Care, she must find the right family before the wrong one finds her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    three little words...

    was a amazing book. It is straight up and makes you experience how it feels to be a foster kid nad the difficulties Ashley had to go through. I recommend to foster kids and parents and anyone interested in adoption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Good

    I could relate to Ashley alot when I was reading this book because I am a foster kid too. I know what it's like being transferred from house to house, but I've never had it as bad as she did! Right now though I am permanently adopted by a family that loves me and everything is working out right just like it did for Ashley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2