Customer Reviews for

Three Little Words

Average Rating 4.5
( 515 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(380)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I started reading the first few chapters late one night and coul

I started reading the first few chapters late one night and couldn't wait to pick it up the next day to finish it.  I loved that got both Ford and Kent Hendrix's stories in one great book. Wow! What diverse brothers falling for girls who are their opposites yet balance ...
I started reading the first few chapters late one night and couldn't wait to pick it up the next day to finish it.  I loved that got both Ford and Kent Hendrix's stories in one great book. Wow! What diverse brothers falling for girls who are their opposites yet balance them out perfectly. As in all the Fools Gold books, there are obstacles on the way to happily ever after.  Another one knocked out of the park by Susan Mallery!

posted by JenLW on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

3 1/2 stars. I always want to like Susan Mallery¿s Fool¿s Go

3 1/2 stars.




I always want to like Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold books more than I actually do. Don’t get me wrong—the setting is charming, the small-town feel is idyllic, and the characters are fun and quirky. They’re feel-good books, to be sure. I have enjoyed much ...
3 1/2 stars.




I always want to like Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold books more than I actually do. Don’t get me wrong—the setting is charming, the small-town feel is idyllic, and the characters are fun and quirky. They’re feel-good books, to be sure. I have enjoyed much about these books—obviously, because I keep coming back for more. Lately, though, their “cookie cutter” feel is beginning to overpower their overall charm for me.




They start out with two characters—our hero and heroine—who aren’t in/don’t want to be in/never can be in a true relationship. In Three Little Words, it’s Ford Hendrix and Isabel Beebe. Ford, recently out of the military, has never been in love and therefore assumes he never can be. Isabel is fresh from a divorce, and only in town temporarily—she’s getting the family bridal boutique ready to be sold and then she’s back off to NYC where she’ll begin her own business with a designer friend.




Next our hero and heroine start some sort of relationship that for whatever reason isn’t a “real” one. In this case, Ford’s mother is anxious to marry off her last two single children—Ford and his divorced brother Kent—and Ford and Isabel agree to have a fake relationship to keep her off of Ford’s back.




The hero and heroine, of course, always know the deal—they will not/cannot fall in love…but of course they do. In Fool’s Gold, it’s almost always the heroine who realizes it first, but she knows that she can never, ever tell the hero. Because then the gig would be up. (It’s usually at this point that the heroine loses some of her appeal for me. Her inner monologue tends to turn a bit maudlin.)




But he finds out, and…leaves. The heroine is sad, so all the women of the town (okay, not all of them but it feels pretty darn close) converge on her house with frosty alcoholic beverages and yummy snacks. They drink together and commiserate with the heroine’s plight.




Someone/something/the entire town helps the hero see the error of his ways. He rushes back to her, declares his love, and FINIS! story over.




In between each of these steps, though, we also see a huge amount of set-up for future books. We’re practically hit over the head with future love possibilities galore, and it really begins to feel like they detract from the time spent on the current story. Oh, and there’s always an older town resident or two running in and out of scenes, doing things that are vaguely disturbing: octogenarians drooling over twenty- and thirty-something guys and pinching their butts, mothers setting up a booth at a town festival to get applicants for their sons’ hands in marriage, mayors who freely admit to knowing everything and blithely encouraging the rest of the townspeople to just accept it….




Kind of scary.




Still, this installment had more going for it than some—mainly Ford and Isabel and their backstory. Once upon a time—fourteen years ago—Ford was engaged to Isabel’s older sister. Maeve called off the wedding at the last minute, and Isabel, who had harbored a crush on Ford forever, was devastated. She wanted to make everything better for him. When Ford left town to join the Navy days later, she began writing him letters. She wrote letters to him for ten years, pouring out her heart to him in each and every one.




I know I’m only fourteen, but I love you. I’ll love you forever and I’ll write you every day. Or at least once a week.








Ford never responds, and finally when Isabel believes her current boyfriend is going to propose, she stops writing.




The letters are a really sweet touch. There’re excerpts of some of them scattered throughout the book, and Ford uses the “I’ll love you forever” comment to tease Isabel more than once.




Ford comes off as over-the-top confident of himself and his abilities, and though some reviews I read found this to be annoying, this was one of my favorite things about him. I loved his snarky comments. He totally didn’t take himself at all seriously, and I found his cockiness endearing. What can I say? He reminded me of Han Solo, one of my all-time favorite movie heroes. I’m a sucker for the confident ones with a touch of bad boy.




For the most part the childhood crush-all grown up troupe was nicely done here. With a little less set-up for future novels and a little more originality in the overall plot arc, this would definitely have gotten a higher rating. It’s a sweet, fell-good story. If you are a die hard Fool’s Gold fan, you’ll like it. If you like sweet contemporaries, it’ll do.




(One thing that really bothered me, though--Isabel said several times that "Nothing ever happens in Fool's Gold" when Ford chastised her for leaving her door open. Hello? Wasn't a little girl kidnapped by a murdering psychopath two books ago? And didn't Ford take the culprit down? Why did no one else seem to recall this?)




In a nutshell: Though this is definitely the strongest of the current trilogy, it still falls prey to the too-predictable Fool’s Gold formula. The charismatic hero and the adorable-ness of Isabel’s letters bumped it up to a 3 ½ star rating.




I received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

posted by beckymmoe on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars. I always want to like Susan Mallery¿s Fool¿s Go

    3 1/2 stars.




    I always want to like Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold books more than I actually do. Don’t get me wrong—the setting is charming, the small-town feel is idyllic, and the characters are fun and quirky. They’re feel-good books, to be sure. I have enjoyed much about these books—obviously, because I keep coming back for more. Lately, though, their “cookie cutter” feel is beginning to overpower their overall charm for me.




    They start out with two characters—our hero and heroine—who aren’t in/don’t want to be in/never can be in a true relationship. In Three Little Words, it’s Ford Hendrix and Isabel Beebe. Ford, recently out of the military, has never been in love and therefore assumes he never can be. Isabel is fresh from a divorce, and only in town temporarily—she’s getting the family bridal boutique ready to be sold and then she’s back off to NYC where she’ll begin her own business with a designer friend.




    Next our hero and heroine start some sort of relationship that for whatever reason isn’t a “real” one. In this case, Ford’s mother is anxious to marry off her last two single children—Ford and his divorced brother Kent—and Ford and Isabel agree to have a fake relationship to keep her off of Ford’s back.




    The hero and heroine, of course, always know the deal—they will not/cannot fall in love…but of course they do. In Fool’s Gold, it’s almost always the heroine who realizes it first, but she knows that she can never, ever tell the hero. Because then the gig would be up. (It’s usually at this point that the heroine loses some of her appeal for me. Her inner monologue tends to turn a bit maudlin.)




    But he finds out, and…leaves. The heroine is sad, so all the women of the town (okay, not all of them but it feels pretty darn close) converge on her house with frosty alcoholic beverages and yummy snacks. They drink together and commiserate with the heroine’s plight.




    Someone/something/the entire town helps the hero see the error of his ways. He rushes back to her, declares his love, and FINIS! story over.




    In between each of these steps, though, we also see a huge amount of set-up for future books. We’re practically hit over the head with future love possibilities galore, and it really begins to feel like they detract from the time spent on the current story. Oh, and there’s always an older town resident or two running in and out of scenes, doing things that are vaguely disturbing: octogenarians drooling over twenty- and thirty-something guys and pinching their butts, mothers setting up a booth at a town festival to get applicants for their sons’ hands in marriage, mayors who freely admit to knowing everything and blithely encouraging the rest of the townspeople to just accept it….




    Kind of scary.




    Still, this installment had more going for it than some—mainly Ford and Isabel and their backstory. Once upon a time—fourteen years ago—Ford was engaged to Isabel’s older sister. Maeve called off the wedding at the last minute, and Isabel, who had harbored a crush on Ford forever, was devastated. She wanted to make everything better for him. When Ford left town to join the Navy days later, she began writing him letters. She wrote letters to him for ten years, pouring out her heart to him in each and every one.




    I know I’m only fourteen, but I love you. I’ll love you forever and I’ll write you every day. Or at least once a week.








    Ford never responds, and finally when Isabel believes her current boyfriend is going to propose, she stops writing.




    The letters are a really sweet touch. There’re excerpts of some of them scattered throughout the book, and Ford uses the “I’ll love you forever” comment to tease Isabel more than once.




    Ford comes off as over-the-top confident of himself and his abilities, and though some reviews I read found this to be annoying, this was one of my favorite things about him. I loved his snarky comments. He totally didn’t take himself at all seriously, and I found his cockiness endearing. What can I say? He reminded me of Han Solo, one of my all-time favorite movie heroes. I’m a sucker for the confident ones with a touch of bad boy.




    For the most part the childhood crush-all grown up troupe was nicely done here. With a little less set-up for future novels and a little more originality in the overall plot arc, this would definitely have gotten a higher rating. It’s a sweet, fell-good story. If you are a die hard Fool’s Gold fan, you’ll like it. If you like sweet contemporaries, it’ll do.




    (One thing that really bothered me, though--Isabel said several times that "Nothing ever happens in Fool's Gold" when Ford chastised her for leaving her door open. Hello? Wasn't a little girl kidnapped by a murdering psychopath two books ago? And didn't Ford take the culprit down? Why did no one else seem to recall this?)




    In a nutshell: Though this is definitely the strongest of the current trilogy, it still falls prey to the too-predictable Fool’s Gold formula. The charismatic hero and the adorable-ness of Isabel’s letters bumped it up to a 3 ½ star rating.




    I received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I started reading the first few chapters late one night and coul

    I started reading the first few chapters late one night and couldn't wait to pick it up the next day to finish it.  I loved that got both Ford and Kent Hendrix's stories in one great book. Wow! What diverse brothers falling for girls who are their opposites yet balance them out perfectly. As in all the Fools Gold books, there are obstacles on the way to happily ever after.  Another one knocked out of the park by Susan Mallery!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Good addition to the Fools Gold community

    I have to admit of the two romances I liked Kent's story better than Ford's . Guess I'm more about the nice guy than the hot guy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    The story of Isabel and Ford is a true love story. She falls in

    The story of Isabel and Ford is a true love story. She falls in love with him as a teenager and it never goes away. Remember your first love? Susan Mallery has done it again. Stole my heart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I received this book from the author for a honest review. I love

    I received this book from the author for a honest review. I love Isabel and Ford's story. I love the fact that she had a crush and him and wrote to him and that he kept the letters and told her how much the letters meant to him. The fact that Isabel and Ford are great together and it is proven though tout this book and by both of them and they fact that Ford shows her things that she has never done before and Isabel awakens feelings he doesn't thank he deserves to have.I also liked the fact the his brother Kent found love with Consuelos too. They all deserved to find happiness and they did. Another great Fool's Gold Book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    An absolutely FUN SUMMER Fool's Gold book!!!   Yea Susan - I sta

    An absolutely FUN SUMMER Fool's Gold book!!!   Yea Susan - I started & couldn't put it down! The last to Hendrix boys Ford and Kent have yet to fall in love...in this story you will laugh, cry and be in awe of how these two amazingly, different  brothers meet up with their true love.  Isabel has had a crush on Ford for years and then when he comes back home - they agree to a pretend relationship to throw Ford's mom off his back of finding love.  They are such great friends that ....well will fate take over and keep them together ... Well, while Kent , divorced and a father of a young boy, isn't really looking for love and finds Consuelos.  She is tough and could kill him in an instant with all her training and Kent is no match for that but his heart yearns for what possibly could be.  All this and then the mingling of all the residents of Fool's Gold, makes you feel so much a part of this amazing town.  Great job Susan! I love to escape to Fool's Gold and this one was definitely a much need escape! Sorry to see the end to this trilogy but look forward to Noelle story and possibly Angel's. Keep 'em coming Susan!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Let me first say that I was lucky enough to be given an advance


    Let me first say that I was lucky enough to be given an advanced copy of Three Little Words
    to review.
    Susan Mallery did a wonderful job with the characters in this story. The letters written by a lovesick teenager to a Navy Seal were a refreshing touch. It is a sweet story that also has an additional bonus love story within it.
    The story flows well. There were no lulls. It grabbed me at the first paragraph and never slowed down. I didn’t want to put it down.
    Three Little Words is book #12 of the Fool's Gold Series and #3 of the bodyguards. Don't worry you won't feel lost if you haven't read any of the previous Fool's Gold books. As always there is an introduction to those characters that will be featured in future Fool's Gold books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I have read every single Fools Gold book and this is one of my f

    I have read every single Fools Gold book and this is one of my favorites! To have Isabel's childhood love grow to love her in such a precious way and finally admit it was beautiful. And their pretend dating was very hot! I kept waiting for Denise Hendrix to walk in on them since Isabel never locks her door. And I loved the addition of Kent and Consuelos story as well. I'm sorry to see this trilogy come to an end, but with the new businesses coming to town, I see lots more romance and Jo just might need to expand the back room.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Susan is three for three with this trilogy. I loved it. Anothe

    Susan is three for three with this trilogy. I loved it. Another book that I had a hard time putting down, but as I neared the end, I found myself deliberately putting the book down so I wouldn't get to the end! The story of Ford and Isabel is sweet. From her teens Isabel was in love with Ford. He went off to the military and she wrote him letters during that time. Even though he never answered, she kept writing. Which actually got him through the bad times. You find yourself rooting for them to become a couple. A surprise for me was Susan pairing Consuelo with Ford's brother Kent. It's an unusual couple, but seems to work. Consuelo has her own issues from the missions she has been involved with, but Kent accepts her as she is and does not pressure her to tell him everything. It was a very enjoyable story. Humor, a little "heat" and some hot men make for a great story! I definitely recommend this book. I agree with another reviewer that said "I want to live in this town". So do I!! I also would love to have a "FORD" in my life!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Three Little Words by Susan Mallery Fool's Gold #13 This Fool's

    Three Little Words by Susan Mallery Fool's Gold #13
    This Fool's Gold book is mainly about Isabel and Ford.
    Lots of fun scenes and heartbreak for many along the way. Glad to catch up with the others and how their life's intertwine.
    We do catch up with the others in the town, marriages, births, new business openings, etc.
    Such a fun loving caring community where everybody turns out when one of their own is in need.
    Ford had returned to start the business with Justice and Angel. He was dreading coming back as he's been in the military and his mother and sisters hover over him...
    Isabel is back in town to bring her mothers bridal shop up to date and to get it ready to be sold, then she will return to NY.
    There are other romances and new people come to the area to live and work. The outcome isn't what you would typically think...
    I received this book from Net Galley and the author in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Disappointment

    This book did not live up to the high standard set before by susan Mallery. It had LOTS of sex scenes that would take up a whole chapter. In her holiday books there would be a little sex but not go in to excessive detail. This did. Also, thete were two relationships that were focused on. Ford and Isabel were together and were the main focus of the story. But Kent and Conseulo were also dating (and were significant enough to the story to get their own sex scene) but they just appeared in random bits and pieces throughout the book but had no clear ending for the two of them. The whole story was predictable and if you really want to read it just get it from your local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Aubrey
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Without a doubt, this is my all time favorite Susan Mallery novel. I have been waiting for Ford’s novel since he was first introduced as a character. There is something about Ford that makes him super endearing and lovable. I wanted to fix him and take his problems. You feel sorry for him because his mother wants to marry him off to stay in Fool’s Gold.

    Isabel is a super adorable character who has been in love with Ford since she was 14. She doesn’t believe Ford would ever love her back. Little does she know!

    Three Little Words has all of Mallery’s usual charms. A wonderful love story with glimpses of past main characters, humor and wit. All her novels are charming but this one was extra sweet. A long awaited love is one of my favorite love stories. I’m always jealous of the characters that finally find love with the ones that they have loved most of their adult life.

    I would totally read this again as well as recommend the book to all my fellow romance lovers!!! I cannot wait till next year’s Fool’s Gold installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    A Must Read

    I loved this book. Susan Mallery is one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Great read

    Like this book Thank You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Loved it!

    Just love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    great read

    loved this series, it's like visiting long lost friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    I purchased this book right away after reading Two of Kind. I re

    I purchased this book right away after reading Two of Kind. I really want Kent's and Consuela's  romance.  I was disappointed that they weren't getting their own book but the love story is split pretty evenly between charming ex Navy seal Ford and  the witty Isabel and Kent, sexy math teacher  and the  Kick ass Conseula so in the end I was pleased. 




    Both romances are lovely with Consuela's being a bit more angsty and Ford taking a lot longer to understanding his feelings. The town and secondaries are wonderful and Fool's Gold is a great place to be. 




    I love Warrior Women and I love that she wanted a mellower kind of guy but that Kent was still complex. 




    With Ford and Isabel, we get the whole town involved and this is a good time in this pretend relationship trope. 




    I think Consuela and Kent deserved a few more scenes and couple time though. 




    I do have a question: What is there water on all these covers? Is there a lake I am missing near the town? 




    You don't have to have read the whole series to enjoy this one but I do suggest picking up Two of Kind for a  richer read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good word!

    Im gonna use it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    When Isabel was 14 years old she fell in love with her older sis

    When Isabel was 14 years old she fell in love with her older sister's fiance, Ford. But when Maeve and Ford's too-young romance implodes because Maeve fell in love with his best friend, Ford leaves their small-town and joins the military. He becomes a SEAL and serves in the army for 14 years. Isabel starts writing Ford letters, declaring her love for him (at 14 years old), telling him about herself and her life and urging him to stay safe but Ford never writes back. Isabel continues growing up, goes to school, moves to NYC and gets married. When her marriage ends, she returns to her hometown to house sit for her parents and to help with the wedding shop while her parents on vacation. 

    Ford is back in town too and lives in the apartment over the house Isabel is living and they find an easy friendship. When Ford needs Isabel's help to end his mother's nonstop matchmaking she agrees to pretend to be his girlfriend. They both are enjoying the 'pretend' relationship and spend much more time together than necessary for their fake relationship to look real. Isabel starts to worry when she realizes she has feelings for Ford because she knows he is not into commitments and may leave if he finds out how she feels.

    Mallery has a wonderful way of telling the story and keeping the reader guessing.  It's amazing how she draws you into the story and gets you worried that Ford may bolt if he finds out how Isabel really feels. I thought Isabel was pretty smart to have figured out what emotional support Ford needed when trying to deal with his large family gathering.  I was chuckling several times when reading this book and also several times had me thinking awwww that's sweet. Fool's Gold is a great little town with wonderful community spirit.  It is the perfect setting for Ford and Isabel's romance.

    I really liked Three Little Words and I will be reading more books by this author. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26