Customer Reviews for

Three Lives

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    First-rate piece of writing

    Most people have to be content with just one life. This is the tale of a man who led three very different lives.

    Nicholas Gambit is an African-American who has nearly graduated from the local university. He is desperate to escape his Kansas City ghetto, and is one of those who may actually make something of himself. Nicholas has gotten on the bad side of Raymond Smalls, a local drug dealer, by beating him up in a fight. Nicholas knows that it is only a matter of time before Raymond kills him, but he refuses to cower, or carry a gun.

    One night, his mother is murdered, and Nicholas almost joins her (courtesy of Smalls). In a moment of emotional crisis, Nicholas leaves with a man named Wilkes, who has learned that Nicholas has special "abilities." He is taken to an isolated compound, and along with others, taught to be a trained assassin. This is very high-level, and very serious training, in subjects ranging from self-defense to forensics to recent US foreign policy. In one self-defense class, two men are brought in with orders to kill Nicholas.

    Wilkes runs one of those super-secret organizations that is known to very few people. After several years of training, one of Nicholas' assignments is to protect a man who says he has evidence that the intentions of Wilkes are not exactly benign; that he is creating a private army. Meantime, an African princess named Chelsea is going to college in America. Back home, her father is overthrown, and her parents are killed, in a coup d'etat. Chelsea, who knows her way around subjects like weapons and fighting, takes it upon herself, along with those loyal to her, to kill anyone involved in the coup, no matter how indirectly. Another of Nicholas' assignments is to stop her.

    Wilkes is killed in a gun battle, so Nicholas finds himself as a "man without a country." He travels for a long time, finds love, and eventually enters into his third life, as a preacher.

    This is a really interesting story; the author certainly knows what he is doing. There is plenty of action and violence, but it also has heart and emotion, too. Here is a first-rate piece of writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    A must read for Three LIVES

    I enjoyed reading this book very much infact I read it twice. It has you captivated from the very first page to the end. I am waiting for him to release a sequel if not another book. Enjoy it while curled up on the couch and drinking some hot chocolate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Exceptional and Unique

    The storyline was quite interesting, the different people and their stories were each intriguing and I looked forward to reading them. Transitions were good and not to frequent between the three people (not perspectives, thank God). Often it would be at a time where things were becoming interesting, but I was just as delighted to move on to a different section as I was to continue the section I had been reading. Very well written, good grammar, and marvelous plot. I absolutely recommend this story, I didn't want to stop reading. The conclusion was very nice and everything concluded well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Excellent read, anonymous

    I couldnt put this book down. This was a verrrrrrry good book. I look forward to reading his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Captivating, intelligent and sexy - a must read!!!!

    In less than 24 hours after I purchased this book, I had read it cover to cover. Suspense, drama and action delicately laced with all forms of human love, made this a book I could not put down. I found this excellent literary exhibit to be captivating, intelligent and sexy to say the least. Mr. Washington's authentic characters, action packed sequences and detailed imagery offer a riveting and entertaining reading experience that I hated to see end. As Nicholas Gambit navigated various intense, unique and emotionally charged situations, I found myself completely drawn into his worlds. I anxiously await the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    MAGNETIC!!!

    Three Lives, by first time novelist Joe Washington, is a magnetic read - I couldn't put it down. While the author's story-telling itself is still a bit rough in places, the story is a captivating tale of a young black man who is determined to make good in life, despite the handicap of living in the Kansas City ghetto where the most likely career path is one in drugs and gangs that ends in early violent death. I liked the protagonist, Nicholas, from the start, and suffered with him through the transition from relative innocence to a super-skilled man of morals and integrity. Nicholas' wits and ethics are tested almost beyond endurance as he commits himself to a discipline of training under the tutelage of John Wilkes, a high ranking government operative shrouded in mystery but with lots of clout.

    A parallel story unravels while we watch Nicholas grow up. Chelsea Matawae, a young African princess, is the only child of a King and Queen murdered in a coup de ta. She is well trained in the same arts that Nicholas has been studying, and she is quickly forced to use those skills for her survival.

    Paths do eventually cross, but not enough to warrant the parallel story telling. Both stories are, in truth, deserving of their own books. Mr. Washington implies that there are sequels to this book in the offing, and I look forward to seeing more of Nicholas' story and watching Mr. Washington's story-telling capability develop through continuing practice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    A Real Page Turner

    I don't usually read fiction but this book grabbed me right away and kept me turning pages until the end. The initial factor that pulled me into this story was the central character, Nicolas Gambit, and his likeability. I was instantly on his side and kept turning pages to make sure he was safe. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and hope for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Great Book

    I don't usually read fiction, but this book grabbed me right away and kept me turning pages until the end. It allows the reader to really connect with the very likeable central character. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Excellent Story, Interesting Premise

    I've never written a review before, but after reading Three Lives, I really wanted to. I wasn't sure what to expect -- especially since the author is new to the scene, but once I got into the swing of the story, I have to admit, I was hooked. I've always liked science fiction and I'm not sure if you could put it in this category, but it was a good read that I will recommend to others. Nice job, Mr. Washington. I'll look forward to your next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    fiction at its best

    This book is just of the hook. If you feel that you've ever been torn through decisions i dare you to outwit the characters represented in this book.Its a lingering experience that kept me absorbed into the world of fiction. Fiction has never been sweeter than Three lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2