Customer Reviews for

Three Men in a Boat (to Say Nothing of the Dog)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great book, great read and great author.

Every page of the book is fun to read. period.

posted by Wunna on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

This has been digitized from a print edition. It has so many typos it's not worth reading.

posted by ilikaj on February 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Great book, great read and great author.

    Every page of the book is fun to read. period.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    A classic

    This should be reread annuallyy as an antidote to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    JUST TOO FUNNY!

    This book is just too funny! I cannot recommend it highly enough. This is just one nonstop laughter. I absolutely loved the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must-read for any fan of British deadpan humor

    I loved this classic tale of three Victorian slackers boating on the Thames. The first-person narration of their bumbling pleasure trip up and down the river is filled with dry humor, frequent rabbit trails, and the occasional overly-flowery Victorian paragraph.

    Jerome K. Jerome's humorous style has clearly influenced other British writers such as Douglas Adams (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy) and Terry Pratchett (Discworld). This is a must read of any fan of British humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Laugh Out Funny!

    This book is laugh out funny ... a complete riot. Enough hilarious scenes to make anyone roll on the floor!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    hilarious and a quick read...

    Three Men in a Boat is a very funny travelogue/comedy novel. It was very entertaining with all the misadventure that seemed to follow these fellows up the Thames. You never knew what might happen next. This book is well know for it's timeless feel. It was written in the 19th century but the writing and the humor seem ageless. It reminded me of a Bill Bryson travel book. Three Men in a Boat is lively and amusing, and a quick read too at under 200 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Recomand cu multa placere

    O carte pe care o devorezi cu zambetul pe buze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    A classiic

    Well worth an annual rereading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Misspellings?

    A delightful read but text had spelling errors here and there. Or was that a part of the humour? ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Just Awesome! The FUNNIEST BOOK YOU WILL EVER READ!

    This is by far the funniest book that I have ever read. It had me laughing out loud in the bus, the subway and even in the sandwich shop. I can't believe I just discovered this book. 100% HILARIOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The Funniest Book in the World!

    If you are ever down or depressed, this is the book for you. This is the funniest book you will ever read and will have you in stitches as soon as you pick it up and start getting into the story. Absolutely hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    I Loved the book 15 years ago, I still love it!!

    We had to read this book in our undergraduate program as part of the curriculum. I loved it then. I read it again and again even after I had finished my masters. Unfortunately I lost the book during a move. I would like my daughter to read this book one day. I would love to have it in my 'collection'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3