Customer Reviews for

Three Men in a Boat

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Read

This title came to me from a book store in Durham NC. They were about to have a local author review it. The thing that interested me most is that it was published 120 yrs. ago and has Never been out of print. Yet, it is just as interesting now as it was then. The on...
This title came to me from a book store in Durham NC. They were about to have a local author review it. The thing that interested me most is that it was published 120 yrs. ago and has Never been out of print. Yet, it is just as interesting now as it was then. The one major drawback for me was that the book didn't include a map of the river area where the characters were boating.

The author originally planned this book as a travel narrative. He decided that he should add some characters to make it more palatable. He added himself and a couple of friends. And the dog, which I didn't think added appreciably to the book, regardless of the cover blurb. What he winds up with is an interesting mish-mnash of travelogue and stream of consciousness chatter. Not boring. Mostly not laugh-out-loud. Just a nice fun read. Good hammock reading. A good pick to keep in your purse to read in waiting rooms and such.

posted by bookbearTN on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

This has been digitized from a print edition. It has so many typos it's not worth reading.

posted by ilikaj on February 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Don't bother

    This has been digitized from a print edition. It has so many typos it's not worth reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Great book, great read and great author.

    Every page of the book is fun to read. period.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read

    This title came to me from a book store in Durham NC. They were about to have a local author review it. The thing that interested me most is that it was published 120 yrs. ago and has Never been out of print. Yet, it is just as interesting now as it was then. The one major drawback for me was that the book didn't include a map of the river area where the characters were boating.

    The author originally planned this book as a travel narrative. He decided that he should add some characters to make it more palatable. He added himself and a couple of friends. And the dog, which I didn't think added appreciably to the book, regardless of the cover blurb. What he winds up with is an interesting mish-mnash of travelogue and stream of consciousness chatter. Not boring. Mostly not laugh-out-loud. Just a nice fun read. Good hammock reading. A good pick to keep in your purse to read in waiting rooms and such.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2001

    Very Funny book

    I got this as a present after I'd been raving about Connie Willis' 'To say Nothing of the Dog' and it is a very nice and comic book. It covers a trip up the Thames in 1888 (I think) and the adventures had. Possibly the funniest bit is the German singer and everyone laughing at his tragic song because someone tells them it's a comic song. It's worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    JUST TOO FUNNY!

    This book is just too funny! I cannot recommend it highly enough. This is just one nonstop laughter. I absolutely loved the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must-read for any fan of British deadpan humor

    I loved this classic tale of three Victorian slackers boating on the Thames. The first-person narration of their bumbling pleasure trip up and down the river is filled with dry humor, frequent rabbit trails, and the occasional overly-flowery Victorian paragraph.

    Jerome K. Jerome's humorous style has clearly influenced other British writers such as Douglas Adams (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy) and Terry Pratchett (Discworld). This is a must read of any fan of British humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Laugh Out Funny!

    This book is laugh out funny ... a complete riot. Enough hilarious scenes to make anyone roll on the floor!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Poor Formatting

    The story is great, a classic. But the digital formatting of this free edition makes the book hard to read. Spending .99 or 1.99 for a formatted copy would be worthwhile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    hilarious and a quick read...

    Three Men in a Boat is a very funny travelogue/comedy novel. It was very entertaining with all the misadventure that seemed to follow these fellows up the Thames. You never knew what might happen next. This book is well know for it's timeless feel. It was written in the 19th century but the writing and the humor seem ageless. It reminded me of a Bill Bryson travel book. Three Men in a Boat is lively and amusing, and a quick read too at under 200 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Recomand cu multa placere

    O carte pe care o devorezi cu zambetul pe buze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    This is a delightful account of three men taking a boat trip thr

    This is a delightful account of three men taking a boat trip through England’s little towns. Unlike most novels written so long ago it does not waste a great deal of words on tedious talk for the sake of talk, though there is a great deal of talking and musing in it. It just isn’t dull. This is a funny read that has remained funny through time.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    A classic

    This should be reread annuallyy as an antidote to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly entertaining

    A laugh-at-loud account of the exploits of three English gentlemen who decide to while away their idle plying the waters of the Thames and its tributaries. Renting a small boat, which they fill with three years-and-a-day's worth of supplies, they set off. By turns pushing, pulling and rowing they make their way through a maze of channels splicing the English countryside, all the while stumbling and bumbling their way through one misadventure after another. A smart, funny book well worth the hour or two it takes to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    A classiic

    Well worth an annual rereading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Still a Delight!

    This was one of the first books printed (in translation) in post-WWII Germany. I loved it as a child and still love it as a "Senior Reader". The dry humor and the reminder of a kinder, gentler England are still very appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Misspellings?

    A delightful read but text had spelling errors here and there. Or was that a part of the humour? ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Just Awesome! The FUNNIEST BOOK YOU WILL EVER READ!

    This is by far the funniest book that I have ever read. It had me laughing out loud in the bus, the subway and even in the sandwich shop. I can't believe I just discovered this book. 100% HILARIOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The Funniest Book in the World!

    If you are ever down or depressed, this is the book for you. This is the funniest book you will ever read and will have you in stitches as soon as you pick it up and start getting into the story. Absolutely hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Delightful!

    This is a charming little gem of a book - part comedy, part travel guide - an altoghether entertaining and amusing account of three adventurous young men in Victorian England who take a boat trip on the Thames River. Jerome K. Jerome's writing is similar to that of P.G. Wodehouse and he is often laugh-out-loud funny when relating the events of the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Bad quality

    This addition is so full of typos that it makes reading highly difficult. More time is spent trying to understand what the words are than enjoying the book.
    However, the book itself is highly enjoyable. Despite being written in 1888, the humor is still freash and modern.
    Because of the abundant typos of this edition, I recommend paying the ninty-nine cents for a better version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5