Customer Reviews for

Three Musketeers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 581 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

"One for all, and all for one!"

"The Three Musketeers" by Alexandre Dumas is now one of my favorite books ever! Yes, it is slightly boring until the chapter "A Court Intrigue", but stick with it, and you'll love it as much as I did. It is an extremely romantic novel that is filled with wit, action, sa...
"The Three Musketeers" by Alexandre Dumas is now one of my favorite books ever! Yes, it is slightly boring until the chapter "A Court Intrigue", but stick with it, and you'll love it as much as I did. It is an extremely romantic novel that is filled with wit, action, sadness, and complexity. Because of its intricate plot, I would recommend it to any lovers of Dumas' English contemporary, Charles Dickens. It also contains one of my new favorite literary character: the femme fatale, Milady.

posted by Benedick_101 on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Quick ?

I am about the age of 11 is this book a very good fit for a young girl who has read all of the harry potter books 2 time that is just so you know my reading level

posted by 10846603 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "One for all, and all for one!"

    "The Three Musketeers" by Alexandre Dumas is now one of my favorite books ever! Yes, it is slightly boring until the chapter "A Court Intrigue", but stick with it, and you'll love it as much as I did. It is an extremely romantic novel that is filled with wit, action, sadness, and complexity. Because of its intricate plot, I would recommend it to any lovers of Dumas' English contemporary, Charles Dickens. It also contains one of my new favorite literary character: the femme fatale, Milady.

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Dumas is a literary genius!

    I was a bit hesitant to read this book... while I find classics extremely appealing this just seem too... I don't know boyish? adventurous? But I couldn't have been more wrong! Adventure is teamed with romance, suspense, politics, and it couldn't produce a better read! One of my top 3 favorite classics of all time!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Amusing

    Disregard for the law, but very, very funny. These men are in the king's guard and could care less about the law against dueling. Every few pages, someone feels insulted and challenges the offender to a duel. It's amazing how men act when they have a sword and no proper supervision - and an evil cardinal who is an utter pain. Of course this is just the fly-over version; it ends up being much more complicated than a bunch of sword-fights and ridiculous taunting.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Why it's a classic

    Simply stated- I read this book every two or three years. I still laugh out loud each time!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Wow!

    Read this book, it is just amazing!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Super

    Great describing words. Great story. And it is free. Amazing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Gr8 book

    Must read classic!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Three Musketeers

    This story has everything you would ever want - romance, friendship, heroism, and, adventure. The Three Musketeers is written with such eloquence and style that it is obvious why it has gone down in history as a distinguished novel. The sword fights are described with such detail that you feel you are standing with Athos and Porthos to fight the Cardinal's guards.
    As a hopeless romantic, I am always looking for a great romance. So if there is one negative, it would be the love story. I don't want to give away the ending. But as an avid reader of Jane Austen, if the lovers don't end up happy and together, I finish the book feeling unfulfilled. Dumas does, however, compensate with the wonderful relationship of the band of musketeers. Even though in the end they follow their own paths, you know they will always be able to rely on each other.
    In all other regards, The Three Musketeers is excellent. It leaves you exhilarated and reminds you that true friends come together in troubled times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    The Three Musketeers

    Imagine a story where Medieval European history is combined with a Romantic, action packed theme. That¿s exactly what you get from Alexander Dumas¿ The Three Musketeers. Written in 1840, the book begins in France during the time of King Louis XIII. The classic novel begins rather humorously and light-hearted, with a young man named Gascon who leaves his home in search of Monsiuer de Treville. He takes with him his father¿s blessing of ¿bravery and determination can achieve anything¿ On arriving in Paris, Gascon, who is portrayed as very proud and strong, yet nervous in numerous situations, meets three of the King¿s Musketeers: Aramis, Porthos and Athos. At first the newcomer did not fit in well with the three musketeers leading to several duels and brawls, however, Gascon works hard to prove himself as worthy as the others. Eventually the three become very hospitable and King Louis XIII invites Gascon to join the Musketeers. At first life continues normally for the Musketeers as they continue doing their best to defend the king in what seem to be insignificant fights. Dumas does an amazing job of describing the duels in an exciting and engaging way that really draws the reader in. Eventually the excitement really picks up through rescuing a kidnapped mistress, traveling to England to deliver a letter, falling in love with all the wrong people, love affairs that lead to much larger fights and becoming involved in Cardinal Richelieu's plots to embarrass the royal family. Through it all the Musketeers stick to their famous motto ¿all for one and one for all!¿ They show that even if it means death, they are willing to stand up for one another. The Three Musketeers is a really great novel that is enjoyable in almost every aspect. The creativity and hard work put in by Dumas really comes out in all of the character descriptions, as well as the detailed and dramatic fighting scenes. He does a really great job of describing each character in a way that makes the reader feel close to each one, and also allows judgments to be passed and a favorite to be chosen. During this time period there was a very significant rivalry going on between King Louis and the Cardinal Richelieu of France, so one of the main purposes of this novel was to portray this on-going feud. Instead of simply listing the exact happenings the author tried to show other seemingly smaller events that represented the larger picture. Dumas does a good job of keeping the nonfiction historical part of the story somewhat separate from the plot of the novel. It keeps the story interesting without boring the audience with drawn- out historical facts. Although the story did have a bit of a disappointing ending, overall it was a book that is and always will be a classic for all ages. Get your copy today!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Awesome

    I LOVED IT

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    The Three Musketeers

    This book is great! As the main characters and D'artagnan fights the cardinals gaurdsmen, gets stronger, and eventually becomes a Musketeer. This book uses an advanced used of vocabulary, and old styled dialogue

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awfullllllll

    Hate this forever gross sucks

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    REVIEW

    I thuroughly (sp) enjoyed this book. The online dictionary was very useful for this book. I think there should be a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Do adventure stories get any better?

    If you like swash-bucklers or adventure stories, you can't beat Dumas in general and especially his Three Musketeers stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Olivia Bieber

    Team Peeta Mellark

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    A lot more in the Musketeers

    I really found this enjoyable on so many levels, most notably the depth of the muskteers and heroes, their habits, their lackies, oh... The lackies were wonderfully crafted! A joy to read and an easy read at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Bookworm

    I absolutely love this book! Best one ever!!! It's also my favorite and I've read it ten times, going to my eleventh. I hope you like it too!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Long but good

    The book was real long but you can never stop reading it! I love reaing this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    ?

    Seems like a great book ;) ive heared of the story befote too

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Ripplepaw's bio

    Name Ripplepaw
    <p>
    Gender she
    <p>
    age eight moons
    <p>
    Description silver she-cat with white ear tips and dark grey splashes on her chest
    <p>
    Personality usually bubbly, friendly
    <p>
    Mate none
    <p>
    Crush none
    <p>
    Kits none
    <p>
    Kin her littermate was sickly and died just days after birth. Her parents were killed by a fox
    <p>
    Other ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30