BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Three Seconds

Average Rating 3.5
( 727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended.

Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. Th...
Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. The pace is unrelenting and the tension rachets up until the very explosive end. This is crime fiction at its most compelling.

posted by Gavin10128 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not In This Millennium

I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time g...
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time getting into the story, and I found the main characters to be either uninteresting or unappealing. Furthermore, while I understand that Poland is a ferry-ride neighbor from Sweden, the authors' habit of maintaining some of the dialogue in Polish lost its charm quickly. Although I realize that many others have enjoyed this book, it should not try to ride on the coattails of the late, great Stieg Larsson.

posted by chesspain on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Not In This Millennium

    I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time getting into the story, and I found the main characters to be either uninteresting or unappealing. Furthermore, while I understand that Poland is a ferry-ride neighbor from Sweden, the authors' habit of maintaining some of the dialogue in Polish lost its charm quickly. Although I realize that many others have enjoyed this book, it should not try to ride on the coattails of the late, great Stieg Larsson.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Three Seconds

    This book is disgusting and gruesome. After gagging over the beginning pages, the following text is repetitious and rather boring. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Zzzzzzzzzz

    How do you say boring in Swedish? To make matters worse, the translation is stilted and confusing. A real disapointment. Time for the Swedish mystery syndicate to take a rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    I cant understand it....

    I just dont like that they talk in a diff language. NOT BUYING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Text+is+jumbled...

    On+my+e-reader.++Don%27t+bother.++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Struggling to finish

    Odd translation, hard to connect with characters. Dissapointing compared to other Swedish athors in this genre (e.g. Joe Nesbo)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    not my type

    this not really my type

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Joe

    Way too old for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Definitely NOT better than Larsson.

    I was really excited to read this considering it was supposed to be better than the Millennium series and LOVED them, but this book just sucked. It finally got intense toward the end but by that time I was so frustrated with reading it, it no longer mattered. The writing (or translating) is terrible, the characters underdeveloped and generic, and the story takes forever to actually get around to the action it promises. If you are going to read any Swedish crime fiction, stick to the Millennium series, this book does not deserve to be compared to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Wait to Put it Down

    This was very disappointing. The writing was choppy. The characters unlikable. The story was ok, but not really developed. An International Best Seller? Where? I kept reading and reading hoping that it would get better. And it actually did get better in the middle, but then it just went on and on and on....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    ready to correct

    The story made me tense in the middle but it was the total opposite inn the begining . It makes you feel tight in the stomache and the charecters were not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Not a good book

    Tried really hard to get interested in this book but couldn't get past the first 150 pages. I thought it sounded really interesting but it wasn't the book for me. Really hard names to pronounce, confusing scened in the book. Never quite knew what was happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Did not meet my expectation

    Was looking for something as exciting as the Stig Larsson books......does not compare in holding my interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    don't waste your money

    This book is boring, very slow, the characters I don't like, I think their supposed to be quaint but they are lazy and nothing cute about them. The conversations in the book you don't know who is talking or responding without flipping back a few pages to pick them up again. I'm forcing myself to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    BORING

    Sorry took me awhile to get through the sample which didn't do this book any justice was not good at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5