Customer Reviews for

Three Seconds

Average Rating 3.5
( 728 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended.

Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. Th...
Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. The pace is unrelenting and the tension rachets up until the very explosive end. This is crime fiction at its most compelling.

posted by Gavin10128 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not In This Millennium

I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time g...
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time getting into the story, and I found the main characters to be either uninteresting or unappealing. Furthermore, while I understand that Poland is a ferry-ride neighbor from Sweden, the authors' habit of maintaining some of the dialogue in Polish lost its charm quickly. Although I realize that many others have enjoyed this book, it should not try to ride on the coattails of the late, great Stieg Larsson.

posted by chesspain on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Not feeling it so much - shocked with all the positive reviews

    i have to say, i am just not feeling the book. I am going to push thru, but the way it is written is difficult to decipher who is doing what. The writing is choppy, I am not developing strong feelings for the characters. I am on page 300, and just like, engh... really. I am a fast reader, love crime genre, loved Stieg Larsons books, but I cross the board in books... and I was really hoping for a strong page turner here... but i am left with a weird writing style, strange translation... I dono, I know I am in the minority. But I will finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tough Read

    I am not the type to give up on a book I have started, but I sure am having trouble staying with this one. I read a few pages, then go on to another book. Just can't seem to get into it even though I keep trying. I will keep at it though, perhaps because of all the great reviews it got, but right now, I don't think it even comes close to the Stieg Larsson books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    A very well thought out plot

    It takes time to get into the book but it flows well once you are into it. The book is choppy at times as the authors try to put all the elements together. A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Slow and not captivating

    I am typically a fast reader, especially with crime novelsZ. However I found myself bored and would put the book down for days. Often times I'd forget what my eyes (not mind) just read. I think comparing this book to a Stieg Larsson book is invalid and somewhat misleading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ok European crime novel

    The book was fairly interesting and the plot moved along rather quickly. Good character development. However, not sure if the authors anticipated the readers to put the book down and walk away for a few weekes at a time, but the book was very repetitive. Many times I experienced deja vu while reading. The authors summed up what just happened in the previous chapter over and over again. Could use a better finale. Predictable with a fairy tale ending that would have no merit based on the situation/history of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Okay

    The book was interesting, but someone else said it was like Steig Larsson's trilogy. Not so. Just because they're Swedish doesn't make it nearly as well written. I had trouble with figuring out who was speaking/thinking and found this very annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    drugs, killing

    this is not my kind of entertainment. don't agree with that kind of lifestyle. Book was well written and had a suspense. quality to it, just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No Steig

    This book should of been cut down many pages. Liked the characters but too worthless of letting the reader go on and on. Brillant ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Was fooled to believe this to be a Best Seller, shame, shame

    This is more likely a movie script made to sell like a book. There is action involving shooting and killing but there are plenty of gaps and holes in the plot that needs to be filled. The first half of the book sets me up to expect a crime fiction about the Swedish police force taking on the Polish mafia, and only to realize in the second half that this is about the standoff in a hostage negotiation deal, plus a very nonsence ending without letting the readers know what justice is being served to the higher-up conspirators, the State Secretary and the Police Commissioner.

    What's most disappointing is to have us believe that Roslund and Hellstrom can really write like Stieg Larson ("Heir Apparent to Stieg Larson"). It's not even close. The characters were not vivid and colorful. The story telling somewhat meandered as though it had hit turbulence at times. And above all, a lack of common sense and common events. Would you believe that if the largest prison really got blown up, would there not be any news media coverage mentioned as such ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't waste your time or $!

    Kept reading in hopes it would get better but nothing. Was hoping for a new larson bbut I guess I will have to keep searching.boring!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    A Different Kind of Swedish Novel

    As an avid reader of the Mankell and Larsson novels, I was terribly disappointed by Three Seconds. The protagonist was somewhat believable, but most of the supporting characters were never really developed enough to make this book an interesting one to read. It was exciting to some extent, with some tension-filled episodes, but in the long run, I found my attention drifting and my interest waning. Give me a Kurt Wallander novel any day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7