Customer Reviews for

Three Seconds

Average Rating 3.5
( 727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended.

Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. Th...
Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. The pace is unrelenting and the tension rachets up until the very explosive end. This is crime fiction at its most compelling.

posted by Gavin10128 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not In This Millennium

I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time g...
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time getting into the story, and I found the main characters to be either uninteresting or unappealing. Furthermore, while I understand that Poland is a ferry-ride neighbor from Sweden, the authors' habit of maintaining some of the dialogue in Polish lost its charm quickly. Although I realize that many others have enjoyed this book, it should not try to ride on the coattails of the late, great Stieg Larsson.

posted by chesspain on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not get into it

    I had a hard time gettnig into this book. I received an advance US copy and had a hard time staying interested. It was choppy and the dialouge was weird a sentence would start strond and end weak. Again it could be because it was an advance copy but it was trying a little to hard to be intense. I may circle back around to it againa nd see if I can get into it. Not really that impressed on first impression though.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Waned to like this more than I did

    Interesting book. The plot was engrossing and fun with intricate twists. However, I just couldn't get into the characters, they were a bit shallow and I feel like I only got to know them on the surface. The main character, the criminal infiltrator, came across as just too competent to be true. Still, I may read more by these authors in the future.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just couldn't get into it

    I tried so hard to get into this book and like it. I had to force myself to read it daily but just felt like I was wasting my time. I feel terrible because so many people love this book. The bottom line is this book was just not for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Good but not great.

    For some reason I just couldn't get into this book. I read it as part of B&N's "First Look" series. I suppose it could be that I'm not a huge crime fan, or that I had just read all the "Girl With" books, but I just couldn't get into it. Glad others liked it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Intense Novel

    I have just finished reading a Crime Suspense novel entitled "Three Seconds", by Swedish authors Roslund & Hellstrom. This novel takes place in Sweden and involves the Police using criminals to infiltrate various factions, such as the various Mafias in the area. The main charactor, Piet Hoffmann (aka) Paula, is being handled by a police officer by the name of Wilson. They are trying to infiltrate the Polish mafia and take over the Drug trade in the prisons. Piet, is going to go to prison as an informant to take out the Polish Mafia's drug business.

    The story is good, however, it takes a couple of hundred pages to develop. The entire first part of the story is devoted to character development, and even then the reader is not quite sure who is who, and what is actually going on. From Part 2 on, the story takes off and you as the reader find yourself playing detective. The main character for the police is a older Detective by the name of Ewert Grens. He is methodical in his approach and reminds me of the old Columbo series on television. Grens does not give up when he is faced with trying to interview Hoffmann, and then after a siege at the prison, Grens is put in charge of the scene when Piet Hoffmann, takes hostages. Grens also is dealing with other issues in his life, such as the loss of his wife. Between the loss of his wife and the current situation with an infiltrator/criminal, Grens is relentless.

    Piet Hoffmann, is also dealing with leaving his wife Zofia and his two children. He is tornbut feels that he must act according to what his police handler is asking him to do. All in all, this story is very good, with what I considered an unexpected finale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Over done

    Three Seconds was a terrific story made tedious by clumsy technique. There was too much repetion of themes and phrases, perhaps in an attempt to highten suspense. Readers are smart enough to follow the action and understand characters' motivations; we don't need to be led. Te events and details were riveting, though, and left me pondering the big picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long and confusing

    Originally written in Swedish, names and locations are in Sweden and Poland. Even though there is a "cast of characters" at the start, I got confused easily on who was who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tulips and drug-smuggling...Europe never seemed closer

    An undercover agent is sent to jail to burn a crime ring from the inside, only to find that he is suspected by both the regular police and the crime ring he has gone to infiltrate. Devilishly clever, this novel showcases a truly unique plan by an inmate to elude his pursuers. This was my first time to realize a connection between tulips and drug-smuggling, which had the result of completely unfettering my imagination.


    Stockholm has a group of mystery writers that clearly exploit some real or imagined public mistrust of public security. The cover copy on this title claims Anders Roslund,and Börge Hellström are heirs-apparent to Steig Larsson: because all three take on public corruption, one might place the thrillers in the same category. Certainly Roslund and Hellstrom have created a unique and unusual character in Piet Hoffman, just as Larsson did with Lisbeth Salander. But while one admires what Piet Hoffman does to prepare for his stint in the clink, one stands at a remove while evaluating his situation. In contrast, Lizbeth Salander inspires loyalty, perhaps even fealty, in those who meet her. Clearly wronged by a justice system gone amok, both protagonists fight their way to freedom, though not without damage.


    This novel took place in a matter of weeks, though there were times when time slowed so completely that every second was recorded. This collapse of time was effective in highlighting the keen attention to detail that was required for the escape plan to succeed in the final, nail-biting seconds. Roslund and Hellstrom have a successful thriller here, though I listened to the audiobook and was not enamored of the reading by Christopher Lane. I found myself wondering more than once if I would like the main investigator, Detective Inspector Ewert Grens, more if I had read the book myself. As it was, none of the characters was particularly sympathetic, and as a result, one scarcely cares whether or not they succeed. I believe the voice inflection could have been responsible for this spin on the material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    TERRIBLE TRANSLATION

    It's tough to get into this book because the translation is awful and the editing is worse. But it you stick with the first 250 pages (a slog) the last 200 pages are worth the slog. I might read another book by these authors, but NOT if the publisher uses the same translators.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    book

    cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Three Seconds

    This book is about the criminal underworld in Sweden and how the authorities try to place Piet Hoffman (an ex-criminal turned informant) deep undercover in the Polish Mafia. And once he's there he's on his own; hiding from one investigator who doesn't know he is working for them. As with other foreign books that I have read, I had a difficult time with the translation but putting that aside, this novel starts slow but picks up quickly. The authors give a detailed description of the workings of both the Swedish police and the criminal element.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Boring and predictable!

    overhyped and not as good as Stieg novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Three Seconds

    I had a hard time getting into this book. I think the storyline was hard for me to follow in the beginning and kind of made the book a chore for me to read. I really wanted to like it more. Over halfway through, the book picked up speed and held my interest. If you like a good, dark crime story you may like this. Just be ready to be patient in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Minty milk meow puurrrlease!!!

    MEOWSERS!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Well Done!

    It took me some time to really get into this book but once in I couldn't put it down! Very detailed really let you feel what was going on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Guys and Bad Guys

    Three Seconds, by Roslund & Hellstrom is a very suspenseful crime thriller, with twists and turns that keep you on edge. The action packed novel centers mostly on a character Piet Hoffman, an ex-con who dares to collaborate with Swedish police and help with taking down a dangerous drug monopoly.
    The book introduces questions concerning our beliefs in a pure justice system, our ideas of right and wrong, and our trust of electronic data to give uniform information that could lead to conviction or freedom.

    The authors (with the aid of translators) give us a glimpse into the international crime scene, and also into the masterminds of the inmates and the investigators in their search for truth.

    Personally, I am not a great fan of crime novels and this book was so intense in its descriptions of every aspect of crime and criminals, which I found upsetting. I realize the general public needs to be aware of the "darker" side of the world's population; but it was difficult to make a connection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Three Seconds"

    Drugs, murder, infiltrators, prison, corruption - all this and more can be found within the pages of "Three Seconds" by Roslund and Hellstrom. Piet Hoffman is a former criminal turned infiltrator for the police, who is trying to do his part in getting mafia control of the drug trade out of Aspsas prison. Ewert Grens is a police detective who while haunted by the death of his wife, is pulled into the investigation at the prison. What does it mean to be burned while you are in prison? What happens to the recordings Piet made? Where is the line between the good and bad guys? Will Ewert Grens be one of the few good guys left standing at the end? While the book picked up in the middle and sped to the end, I had a hard time getting into it. It seemed that the authors spent a little too much time setting things up for me. I also didn't like all the darkness and maliciousness that seemed pervasive in the characters whether they were the police or high ranking government officials or prisoners. They were always thinking that "the end justifies the means." This book makes good reading for dark crime novel fans, and does make for interesting group discussion as we found in the First Look program at Barnes and Noble. I thank them for the opportunity to read and discuss this ARC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8