Customer Reviews for

Three Seconds

Average Rating 3.5
( 724 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended.

Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. Th...
Three Seconds is a tour de force about an ex-con turned undercover operative who must infiltrate the Polish mafia in order to stop drug distribution inside the prison system. In order to do this he must commit a crime and go back inside Sweden's most brutal prisons. The pace is unrelenting and the tension rachets up until the very explosive end. This is crime fiction at its most compelling.

posted by Gavin10128 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not In This Millennium

I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time g...
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book, since the promotional write-up had implied that it would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy. Unfortunately, I only made it approximately a quarter of the way through the book, as I had a difficult time getting into the story, and I found the main characters to be either uninteresting or unappealing. Furthermore, while I understand that Poland is a ferry-ride neighbor from Sweden, the authors' habit of maintaining some of the dialogue in Polish lost its charm quickly. Although I realize that many others have enjoyed this book, it should not try to ride on the coattails of the late, great Stieg Larsson.

posted by chesspain on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you enjoy clever plots, you'll enjoy this.

    International bestseller and winner of the Best Swedish Crime Novel, Roslund and Hellstrom weave a tale of deceit, intricate planning, prison life, drug trafficking and good cops tracking bad cops in this story of a man [Piet Hoffman] who is an infiltrator of the Polish mafia.
    This novel amazed me. The beginning went slow for me, as the authors introduce the characters and set the scene. But by Part 2 I was hooked! Fast paced, mastery at it's best with intricate planning on Piet Hoffman's part as infiltrator. Pieces start to click together for the reader and the police by then end of Part 3 and you just sit back and marvel at the cleverness of both the main character and the writers of this incredible story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book! Recommend to anyone who likes intrigue and suspense!

    Three Seconds is a book about an ex-con who turns police informant. He is now working with the Swedish Police to try and bring down the Polish Mafia. He has to commit a crime in order to be thrown back into prison to try and blow the drug-trade out of the prison system. It is a very suspenseful and fast paced book. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and reading into the wee hours of the morning. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes intrigue and suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    If you enjoy complicated plots with lots of twists and turns you will enjoy this suspense filled novel. Swedish novels such as The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo are very popular now and Three Seconds does not disappoint. A thriller that will amaze you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Intense fast-paced thriller

    A fantastic Swedish crime thriller that takes you into the world of drug trafficking in the Swedish prison system. The main character, Piet Hoffmann a former criminal who is now working for the Swedish Police as an inflitrator allows the police to send him to prison undercover as a drug dealer to attempt to take over the drug business from the Polish Mafia. Hoffmann is succeeding until corrupt government officials concerned about being discovered turn on him.
    The suspense never stops.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Three Seconds is the 6th novel featuring detective inspector Ewert Grens and police officer Sven Sundkvist.

    The chamber of commerce of Sweden wants you to think it's all lily white and crime free but the underbelly of crime still exists and with it the organizations that rule the underworld. On the other side of the fence sits the law enforcement officers who try to fight crime and with the help of certain citizens, undercover operatives they succeed more than they fail. This is a case of good vs evil only the lines will smear and soon even the best of you will have trouble separating the good guys from the bad. Piet Hoffmann is living a double life and soon the family man will have to be put away in order for the hardened criminal to come out and play. But the play will be rough and he may not survive. Erik Wilson is Piet's handler and while he's out of country learning how to be a better police man someone is attempting to put Piet out of commission, permanently. Ewert Grens has spent 35 years solving crimes and he's got a solid solve ratio going but he may have just found one of those that will have to be put on the cold case shelf unless he get's some cooperation and unless he get's some straight answers. Authors Mr.'s Roslund & Hellstrom know how to keep their audience's attention and they use every trick in the book to do it, conspiracy theories, drug trafficking, prison infiltrators and corrupt officials nothing that you haven't seen in the paper or on the network news but they have such a way with words that you actually feel like you're living the life they're describing. The characters are all three dimensional and excellently portrayed in the novel with each part so crucial to the outcome of the tale. Piet, Erik and Grens each play a main role and play it beautifully and out of the three I think that it's Piet who steals the show with his attention to detail to the ninth degree and yet it's his love for his family that really brings out the humanity in him. The only trouble you might have is the dialogue that may seem at times a bit choppy but if you were able to get through any of Stieg Larsson's novels this one will breeze by. Whether you're a fan of crime drama, thrillers, police mysteries or conspiracy theory novels this one has all the bells and whistles to fit the bill. It's an action packed, edge of you seat, non-stop roller coaster ride of an adventure one you'll not soon forget by a pair of brilliantly intricate storytellers. By the time you finish you'll have a hard time telling up from down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Hi

    All

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    A very good read

    Well written, a far fetched scenario made believable, you won't regret buying this book. I'm now looking for more books by these authors
    A Dedicated Die Hard Mystery Buff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Count Me In

    Count me in with all the other reviewers who saw this as a five star novel. Many times I feel like I was right in the room as the action happened. The story is so credible that it could be a non-fiction expose.
    It leads to many questions as we outsource government functions. Drug gangs may run the world as that is where the money is, and the police seem hampered to do anything about it, unless it is to join in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    test

    testing reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Highly recommend.

    Stieg Larson fans won't be disappointed. Excellent,nuanced character development, exciting and unique plot. A pleasure to read, one of the best in its genre. The Scandinavian mystery writers have raised the bar for the competition again. Roslund and Helstrom have a new book coming out in October, put it on your wish list, they are fabulous..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Great read!!! Engrossing material well worth reading.

    Well written and the plot thickens and thins and thickens giving the reader the idea that they know exactly what is going on. But is so well written that by the time you figure out you don't you don't care that you don't....... Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    awasome

    awasome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Can't put it down. So exciting. Hope they write another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    A Must Read!

    I think this has been my favorite First Look selection yet! Roslund & Hellstrom are brilliant and while their novel does jump around a lot with characters and it does take a bit to get used to it all comes together as the action picks up. It was very difficult to put this book down, I had to know what happens. This is definitely an edge of your seat, page turner. My boyfriend isn't much of a reader, but he doest enjoy audiobooks and I've already bought this for him and I know he'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Should be a Book of the Year selection

    Had this not been recommended by Barnes and Noble staff it would probably have slipped past me unnoticed. As with many of the books Barnes and Noble recommends, I chose to read it. It is probably the most intense book I have read in a long time, and I am an avid reader. Books are my passion. It is an intensely gripping and suspense filled story from the beginning. As the story unfolds it becomes more and more difficult to put down. I have never been so involved in a book that I could not at least take a "breather" break. Not so with this book. It had such a gipping hold on me that my heart was racing, and therefore, I did reach the point where I had to stop, take a deep breath, and let my adrenaline slow down. What a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    read...

    *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    What a ride! Roslund and Hellstrum sure can weave a story. They kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat until the final page. I'm ready for more from these authors. Bring it on! This reader wants an encore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Awesome book!

    This is my first crime novel. Roslund & Hellstrom do a great job telling this story. I am very impressed with how much research they did to tell this story using real facts. Can't wait to read "Box 21". Hope they come out with more books very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!!

    I'll admit that the beginning was slow and a little hard to follow but you have to stick with it and you will not be disappointed. It is an excellent crime novel that kept me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Very Impressed!

    This book was fantastic. Well written. The duo authors Roslund & Hellstrom did a great job at writing a thriller that kept me turning the page from beginning to end. I did not want to stop reading this one. Have not read a book this good in a long time long time.

    I can't wait to read more of their novels and definitely will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10