Customer Reviews for

Three Sisters

Average Rating 4.5
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 470 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book!!  From the first chapter I was hoo

    I absolutely loved this book!!  From the first chapter I was hooked.  This is the story of 3 women.  Three woman with very different lives and struggles  who start out as neighbors and end up as friends.  From the first chapter I couldn't put it down.  You would at first think that the book would be about sisters, but those "sisters" are actually houses - the three houses owned by the main characters.  Andi is the newest neighbor, a pediatrician recently left at the altar, who is trying to begin again.  Then we have Boston, the artist, who is struggling with the recent death of her baby.  Lastly, we have Deanna, the perfectionist, who has five daughters, a beautiful home, and a past that she can't escape from.   I truly loved the characters (well, except Deanna - at first), and I think any woman that reads it will enjoy it too.  Susan Mallery has a way of making the characters come alive - I could picture these women as being my own neighbors. I have already passed my copy on to my friends at work.  

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I absolutely loved "Three Sisters"! Susan Mallery has

    I absolutely loved "Three Sisters"! Susan Mallery has done it again! When I started reading this book, I was pulled into it immediately! The three women of the Three Sisters are so realistic I felt like I was right there with them. The true to life struggles that each is going through that seems to be tearing at them becomes what pulls each of them together. The learn to let the past go & laugh, to begin to live and make their way towards the future with new friendships. I could feel right along with them laughing, crying and feeling a joy of newness! So emotionally touching! This book is one I will most certainly be reading again! Thank you again for a job well done Susan Mallery!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I couldn¿t put it down. Seriously I kept saying to myself ¿You



    I couldn’t put it down.
    Seriously I kept saying to myself “You have to stop reading and get to work”.
    As can be expected from Susan Mallery this book is a definite must read. It flows so well that you’ll be halfway through it before you come up for air. The characters are so well defined you’ll think that you’ve always known them. Most of all the storyline is believable. It is written in a way that there were multiple possibilities for an ending. Not so clear cut that you defineatly know what to expect.
    This book is a women’s fiction novel not a romance but there is romance in the story. It is a book about women who are neighbors that become close friends, that come together to help each other overcome devastating circumstances.
    This is book 2 of A Blackberry Island Series however reading book one is not required. The characters of Barefoot Season receive only a mere mention, knowing their story is not critical to Three Sisters.
    I would prefer to give this book 4½ stars (I reserve 5 for the best book I’ve EVER read).

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Three Sisters was great! I laughed and cried through the whole b

    Three Sisters was great! I laughed and cried through the whole book. Each of the main characters are going through their own struggles. Real life struggles that people face all of the time. Very good book with real life struggles!! I highly recommend this book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I was on the edge of my seat all the way through this book. I f

    I was on the edge of my seat all the way through this book. I found out just how impatient I really am! This book was great. It has multiple things going on at the same time so I wasn't ssure I could keep up. Susan did great job putting the whole story together. At first I thought I would put the book down and go back later but I couldn't. I had to find out what would happen next! I'll read it again.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    The title Three Sisters is not refering to the main characters,

    The title Three Sisters is not refering to the main characters, but to the houses they live in.  This was an amazing story of the three women who live in the houses and the men in their lives.  Mostly though its about the women, their relationships and how they overcome their personal problems and life's trials and tribulations.   I couldn't put this book down.  It was started and finished in a day and I would probably be able to say less if it hadn't been for pesky work and life getting in the way.  I laughed with these ladies, I cried, and best yet I could relate.  We females are a tricky lot, as are our thoughts and friendships and Susan Mallery nailed it to a tee.  

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I would recommend this to anyone.

    Three sisters is about three women who are neighbors. All of them are faced with problems, some more serious than others. They find that sharing their problems they are helping each other and becoming real friends. All three of the characters are not likeable to begin with, but that changes. The story moves along at a nice pace and keeps one interested and anxious to continue.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The book was amazing. The story line was so gripping. I found a

    The book was amazing. The story line was so gripping. I found a little of myself in each of the characters. I loved the ending and feel that it couldn't have been written any better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Three Sisters was an excellent book. Once I started the book, I

    Three Sisters was an excellent book. Once I started the book, I was unable to put it down. I felt that I was there on Blackberry Island watching how everything turned out. Three Sisters has become my favorite book by Susan. I was emotionally moved by the trials the three women were going through-it all felt so real. This book by far is Susan's best written!! I can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Another great Susan Mallery book!!! I loved the way Susan intert

    Another great Susan Mallery book!!!
    I loved the way Susan intertwined the three separate heroines lives.
    There stories are believable which makes you want to laugh and cry with them, and I did.
    I can't wait for the 3rd book on Blackberry Island.
    This will be a re-read for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Good story

    Well written interesting characters quick read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    3-1/2 Stars for Me.  This was my first Susan Mallery novel, and

    3-1/2 Stars for Me. 
    This was my first Susan Mallery novel, and overall, I enjoyed it very much.  Following three women at different stages in their lives ensures the story moves forward while giving readers the chance to see the characters from different points of view
    My few quibbles mainly concern Andi’s storyline. She was left at the altar by her boyfriend of 10 years. Something we hear about again and again and again as she oh-so slowly gains perspective on that relationship.  She has, rather predictably, sworn off men.  Enter Wade King who makes her “girly bits” tingle. (Yes, it’s a phrase we read often – and in my case, at least, with less amusement each time.)  Andi’s a pediatrician, though, and Wade’s a contractor so misunderstandings ensue because apparently there’s some kind of class structure on Blackberry Island that prevents them from having their happily-ever-after without some prerequisite conflict, drama and tension.
    I liked Deanna and Boston’s stories which had more depth and tension.  Both characters grew through the course of the book.  I wouldn’t have minded Andi’s quite so much if it hadn’t been the primary focus of the three.  I understand that Andi buying the house was the catalyst for the book, but there was nothing fresh about her story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Three Sisters, the latest novel by Susan Mallery is about three

    Three Sisters, the latest novel by Susan Mallery is about three women who live next door to each other in three side by side Queen Anne style homes on Blackberry Island in Washington state.

    Andi is a pediatrician who has just survived the humiliation of being left at the alter. She puchases the vacant "Sister", a run-down, ranshackle affair that she plans to fix up to use as a combination home and office. Deanna and Boston live in the other two "Sisters"; beautiful old homes that they have lived in them since childhood and now occupy with their families.

    This book has a "you can't judge a book (or in this case, occupant) by it's cover" theme. From the outside, all three women seem to be happy and have it all together but in reality, they are each on the verge of their own emotional collapse and are fighting to stay sane and hold on to the lives they want to live. How they come together and save each other by being there for one another proves that in the end, the women are the "Three Sisters" of the title, not their homes.

    Mallery does a great job revealing the depth of each character and how each woman's circumstances in life have contrived to become her own personal hell -- and the strength and support it takes to survive, overcome and eventually triumph.

    This story truly illustrates the blessing of good friends. Three Sisters is a testament to what people can do for each other when they are willing to face their demons, bare their souls and find the love and help they need.

    In the spirit of full disclosure, I received this book free from the author in return for reviewing it, however this review is completely honest and entirely my opinion and no one else's.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Three different women from three different walks of life are bro

    Three different women from three different walks of life are brought together into a sisterhood in this very compelling book.
     I absolutely loved this book.  I loved it so much that I read it in one afternoon sitting.  Susan Mallery has a way of drawing her readers
     in and keeping them captivated in the character of her books.  All three women are at different stages in their career, love and life.  
    They are brought together by being neighbors and develop a wonderful sisterhood to help each other during this time.  It remind me of
     my friends who are more than just friends, they are my sisters.  I laughed, cried and was very happy with the way the the book ended.
     There is an inner dialogue that Andi (one of the women) has at the end the book that just spoke to my heart: "A house she's bought
    impulsively, with the idea that if she could fix the house, she could fix herself.  From that day to this she had figured out how to let go
    of the past, she'd fallen in love, learned that maybe she didn't need as much fixing as she'd first thought and discovered that sometimes
     sisters were made, not born."  I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    This is the 2nd book in the Blackberry Island series and I love

    This is the 2nd book in the Blackberry Island series and I loved it. The three main characters faced real life problems and had real life struggles. I loved watching the characters grow and over come there problems. I also loved watching the three “sisters” become friends. I would highly recommend both books in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Don't give up on it! After ¿ page 75, the story takes off! Firs

    Don't give up on it! After ≈ page 75, the story takes off!

    First note that “Three Sisters” refers to a group of three houses on Blackberry Island. I initially read the first 75 pages, put the book down and considered not picking it back up. The three main characters were WIP (works in progress), and I figured I could guess how the ending would come together. I was right about the ending, but the journey to get there was well worth the read. 

    Another reason I think I had issues with the book was because I saw too much of myself in Deanna. Deanna was clearly unstable, but the OCD and need for rules struck too close to home. Of course, it took awhile for me to care about Deanna, but she eventually, seing Deanna’s journey, Andi’s restart on life, and Boston’s struggles, brought a smile to my face and had me rooting for each of women and their families. 

    So can you guess what happened when I picked up the book to continue reading past around page 75? You got it, I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning finishing the entire book. 

    Susan Mallery has a way of making you care about every story thrown into the mix. Often times, the side stories can be skimmed over and the reader doesn’t become truly interested in the side stories. Not Mallery – the reader had a vested interest in very plot, winding and weaving together on the small island of Blackberry Island, and I wanted to be involved in the development of each. 

    Don’t miss out on another heartfelt and intriguing Susan Mallery book. When all of the pieces fall into place at the end, I immediately went to look up when the next Mallery book is to be released. 

    Final thought:  I have yet to read the first book in the Blackberry Island series, but that was no problem. 

    Happy Reading!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    What can I say, Susan Mallery knows how tell a story. I really

    What can I say, Susan Mallery knows how tell a story. I really enjoyed this book. I like that the three main characters are completely different yet in spite of their differences they form a friendship that you know will last. I especially enjoyed this book because it shows real life problems and how they coped with them. This is very good read. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good read

    Great sister story. Good depth of characters and developing storyline. Easy read but full of emotion and passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    What a wonderful story. This one just flowed for me, each chara

    What a wonderful story. This one just flowed for me, each character was relatable and touched my heart. I shed some tears with this one as each lady overcame her struggle/problem. Boston holds a special place in my mind for sure! I will have a book hangover for weeks about these characters. Well done Susan Mallery another winner in my book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Good Beach Read

    Good beach read - easy reading, interesting, no heavy lifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 470 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24