Customer Reviews for

Three Stations (Arkady Renko Series #7)

Average Rating 3
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Arkady Renko returns!!!

Without a any hyperbole, I can honestly say I love Martin Cruz Smith. His writing style is so different than every other cookie cutter mystery writer out there. His characters all seem reasonable and distinct. I have never been anywhere remotely close to Russia but S...
Without a any hyperbole, I can honestly say I love Martin Cruz Smith. His writing style is so different than every other cookie cutter mystery writer out there. His characters all seem reasonable and distinct. I have never been anywhere remotely close to Russia but Smith makes it so easy to see. I feel like I've been there. Renko is classically sarcastic without even trying and a great hero without any reason to be. My only qualm with this novel is that the other Renko novels seemed to spend more time with the red herrings and here there were only a handful of possible killers. I still really enjoyed it!

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

save your money, read his earlier books instead

I have anticipated each new book from Cruz-Smith until now. Unlike some of his other books, this one seems as if it was written purely to capitalize on the author's name. People wander in and out of the story and have no real relation to the plot. They are put there...
I have anticipated each new book from Cruz-Smith until now. Unlike some of his other books, this one seems as if it was written purely to capitalize on the author's name. People wander in and out of the story and have no real relation to the plot. They are put there to add pages to the book which is already only about 200 pages long. Then at the end of the book, the author says "times up" and just wraps up the story. There is no evolving to the conclusion. He just writes a terse ending.

Save your money and hope Martin Cruz Smith returns to serious writing. His earlier books were well worth reading.

posted by DaleGPS on September 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Arkady Renko returns!!!

    Without a any hyperbole, I can honestly say I love Martin Cruz Smith. His writing style is so different than every other cookie cutter mystery writer out there. His characters all seem reasonable and distinct. I have never been anywhere remotely close to Russia but Smith makes it so easy to see. I feel like I've been there. Renko is classically sarcastic without even trying and a great hero without any reason to be. My only qualm with this novel is that the other Renko novels seemed to spend more time with the red herrings and here there were only a handful of possible killers. I still really enjoyed it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    save your money, read his earlier books instead

    I have anticipated each new book from Cruz-Smith until now. Unlike some of his other books, this one seems as if it was written purely to capitalize on the author's name. People wander in and out of the story and have no real relation to the plot. They are put there to add pages to the book which is already only about 200 pages long. Then at the end of the book, the author says "times up" and just wraps up the story. There is no evolving to the conclusion. He just writes a terse ending.

    Save your money and hope Martin Cruz Smith returns to serious writing. His earlier books were well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Re-read Gorky Park instead

    It was basically a waste of money to buy this for my Nook. The beginning of the story sets the hook, but then it is as if the author lost interest. At about the same time, the reader does also. Characters wander in, are introduced, and then vanish. For the first time in a Renko novel, the plot seems forced as if the author forgot how to integrate the characters and plot.
    The book is essentially a ghost of Gorky Park, Polar Star, Red Square, and Havana Bay.
    Save your money and re-read the other novels in the series, which are much more complicated and engaging.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Disappointing

    Yikes. Disjointed characters, unresolved plot lines, abrupt conclusions, random prose... Not what i came to expect from the Renko series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The First Review

    Well, the first review from someone who has actually read the book. Martin Cruz Smith takes us back to Moscow and the nitty gritty world of lost children- those both runaway and those stolen. It's a modest effort, never once really taking off and just about falling apart at the finish. We care somewhat for the children, but life has bad things in store, and Renko can only accompany us on the path through which these souls travel. It is a dark, bleak world, one in which the author makes no attempt to ease the way, other than to cut the story off at about page 243. Was that an act of mercy or did he have no more to say?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Renko! What a guy!

    I don't have to read it to tell you how good it is, but as soon as it came out I bought it, and am reading it now. As usual, it grabbed me right off. If it's by Martin Cruz Smith and about Arkady Renko, it's got to be good. (Polar Star is still my favorite, with Hanava Bay next.) I put Smith's Renko books at the very top of the list.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Shining news request

    I need you to put out a missing cat request for SageWhiskee at ':3' result one. I also need to put out a clan request for ShadeClan at ':3' result one.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    K-9 unit dog house

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Typically good Martin Cruz Smith

    Having read all of the Arkady Renko series, I was not dissappointed. Having an interest in Russian culture, Martin Cruz Smith gives insight to the way of life in a country we knew little about for so long. Can't wait for the next release.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Arkady returns

    Moscow has become more corrupted by the Russian Mafia and Renko becomes involved in yet another squalid crime through his complicated relationship with Zhenya AND the Prosecutor's Office. Read "Wolves eat Dogs" before this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9