Customer Reviews for

Three Times Lucky

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences

This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences I knew I was in for a rare treat. The writing style kept me reading and the plot line would not let me put the book down (read it in one sitting). While Sheila Turnage’s book, Three Times Lucky, is wr...
This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences I knew I was in for a rare treat. The writing style kept me reading and the plot line would not let me put the book down (read it in one sitting). While Sheila Turnage’s book, Three Times Lucky, is written for kids, don’t let that keep you from getting pulled into the delightful town of Tupelo Landing, falling in love with Mo and Dale, (who, while Mo is precocious, act like rising 6th graders and not like small versions of sneaky adults) and all the other entertaining characters.

posted by 7076081 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

?

DOES IT HAVE PICTURES?!? I haven't read it yet

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences

    This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences I knew I was in for a rare treat. The writing style kept me reading and the plot line would not let me put the book down (read it in one sitting). While Sheila Turnage’s book, Three Times Lucky, is written for kids, don’t let that keep you from getting pulled into the delightful town of Tupelo Landing, falling in love with Mo and Dale, (who, while Mo is precocious, act like rising 6th graders and not like small versions of sneaky adults) and all the other entertaining characters.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    THREE TIMES LUCKY is one of those books written for kids but adu

    THREE TIMES LUCKY is one of those books written for kids but adults will totally enjoy. I bought this for my niece who loves anything with a mystery and found myself reading it before I even gave it to her.
    As a character, Mo was just too delightful for words. She had a lot of spunk but was not an annoying caricature of a smart kid. I loved the backstory of her being found by The Colonel and raised by him and Miss Lana. And I got choked up whenever she sent another letter-filled bottle into the water in hopes of it finding her “upstream mother.” But the character that warmed my heart the most was Dale, a kid who has literally been kicked around by life but still has a kindness and innocence I never want him to lose.
    The mystery was very compelling and had a few twists and turns I didn’t see coming. I liked that the author gave the story a sense of danger without it being too scary. Despite the lack of cellphone service I’d consider moving to Tupelo Landing if I could drop in for lunch at the cafe and listen to a good spell of town gossip.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book! Smart, witty, and bursting with pe

    I absolutely loved this book! Smart, witty, and bursting with personality, Three Times Lucky was a fun ride. Turnage created characters that were as beautiful as they were quirky. I loved each and every one of them. The words just came alive for me.

    If you haven't had the pleasure of reading this book yet, I would highly recommend doing so.

    Content: Clean

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Interested

    This book in particular seems like a excellent book to read for a 11 year old.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    XD

    Freakin awesome

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Loved it

    I liked it so much I wrote a 3 1/2 page book report on it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Amazing book

    I adored this book! I loved the ending of the story and moses is a wonderful person. I also liked lavender too. The colonel and miss lana are wonderful parents for moses lebeau!;)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    Why Kids Will Love It - The humor, adventure and mystery are eno

    Why Kids Will Love It - The humor, adventure and mystery are enough to draw in any middle-grade reader into the story. My son was drawn in from the first chapter and couldn't put it down until all the answers had been revealed. We are both excited for the sequel coming out next year - THE GHOSTS OF TUPELO LANDING.
    What I learned as a writer - The mastery of language is what stood out for me in this book. And the way Turnage shared details about the characters was so seamless, the reader doesn't even realize she is doing it. This is a book where the setting is it's own character, without it the book wouldn't be what it became - 2013 a Newbery Honor Book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Loooved it!!!!!

    I thought this boowas very gripping and I seriously couldnt stop reading it. I would definetly reccomend this book to anyone who likes mystery & suspense with the perfect amount of humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great

    Its very mysterious and always intertaining!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For a Mystery/Thriller buff like me I am amazed I love a kids bo

    For a Mystery/Thriller buff like me I am amazed I love a kids book! Mo is a spunky 11 year old whippersnapper who was found as an infant
    floating on a river after a hurricane and has been trying to find her "up stream mother" ever since. Moses Lobeau "Mo" loves her Miss Lana & The Colonel who found and care for her, together they run a small & very unique cafe in the tiny town of Tupelo Landing in NC, population 148... This book has mystery, mayhem, fun quirky characters, hurricanes & sweet tea! Just a delightful read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Three times lucky

    I loved this book. I will be honest i mainly liked it because of Lavender. But also because it makes you switch gears on who you think it is alot well atleast it did for me. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a good mystery :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This book is pure awesomeness!!!

    Love this book! Its fricken AWESOME!!!! :) :) :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Anonyomus

    Buy it is awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    good

    good

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    :D

    Is " Three Times Lucky" a good book, cuz I haven't read it yet.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    asome book

    I really love this book I think people like me would this book I know I did. Bethany

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Terrific story and a great read

    I purchased this book for my daughter after seeing a review in the local paper. (As a Yankee in Charlotte NC, I'm always looking for insight into NC culture, plus we spent time over the summer in eastern NC.) I read it first and enjoyed it tremendously. Mo is a fun and balanced character - nowhere near perfect, but she keeps trying. Her written voice is spot on, with flavor and individuality. The whole community is represented faithfully and as individuals, without a smidge of condescension or cariacture. The mystery is twisty and intriguing. Highly recommended for adults and for kids who wouldn't be frustrated by a cast of characters and subtle and emotional reasoning. Enjoy!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Taylor

    Its pretty lucy

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Awsome book ahead!

    I loved this book I read it 3/ times its sweet and mmean with a hint of misteryous

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3