Customer Reviews for

Three Weeks with My Brother

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Breathtaking and beautiful. Everyone needs to read this one.

    Breathtaking and beautiful. Everyone needs to read this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended, best book her has written

    I have read all of his books and I believe this is his best book. If you really want to know this writer, this is the book to read. You will laugh, cry and feel very inspired after reading it. I completed enjoyed reading it. I would encourage anyone to read this book, you can relate to him on many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Great book!

    This is a wonderful story of two brothers and how important family is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Laughter, tears, such a great book.

    Read this when it came out and had no idea what I was in store for. It is a great book, and very well written. I don't usually enjoy biographies, but this one is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is such a great book. I had never read a Nicholas Sparks book before. One of my best friends told me to read it. I loved it! I couldn't put it down! It's a beautiful memoir about Nicholas Sparks and his brother, Micah as they travel around the world. During the trip, they reminisce about their childhoods. You will laugh, cry, and smile! A must read!! You won't be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    What an amazing story

    I really loved diving into Nicholas Sparks' life in this book, and how he connected his trip with his brother to his past and how they became so close. This definitely shows why all of his books seem to have a sad ending or a sad scenario; he had a rough life! I enjoyed reading about their travels, and enjoyed even more reading about his life. The only thing that didnt interest me so much was the history he would give on the places they were visiting. I found myself kind of skimming over those parts at times. But i laughed, i cried, i smiled, and everything inbetween. Definitely recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Great read! Loved it.

    i loved this book. i normally dont read non fiction but this book captured my interest and held it through the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    It's okay - don't rush to read it.

    I love Nicholas Sparks and will read any of his books. This book is a story of his childhood and a trip he takes with his brother. Although it is interesting, it is not a page turner like his other books. I can hardly wait to continue reading one of his stories and this book is just something I am reading. I personally would not recommend anyone to spend money to purchase this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    I could not put this book down

    I loved this book and im so glad it was written. I felt at times like i was reading a diary, words so blunt and so honest, im thankful Nicholas Sparks wrote this book and shared his ups and downs with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    Well-written memoir that was hard to put down. Explains why his books often have sad/serious themes. The way he and his brother recall their experiences is amazing! You feel like you are right there with them! I laughed and cried throughout the whole thing. Wonderful book!!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Not very impressed...

    I purchased this book based on the great reviews, but to be honest, I'm having a real hard time staying interested and I'm more than halfway through it. I find this book to be a lesson on geography if anything. It really lingers on and it seems the same thing is wrote in each chapter...a little tid bit on their past and a whole lot about the next place they visit on their trip. Maybe I'm not getting it, but this book is so so. If you want to learn about different countries, it's very informational. I don't recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Excellent book!

    This book is not like his other books, but it gives you the insight into what inspired each book. It gives you a more in depth look into his life; the triumphs and struggles. I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Must Read!

    I didn't know if I would like it or not, it took me quite awhile to buy it, but I am so glad I did. Very good, true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    A Lifetime in the Making

    Spending three weeks with someone may not appear to be the longest time frame, but when you consider a lifetime in the making, well that is a very long time indeed. Three Weeks with My Brother is a story of the past, the present, and even the future. Micah and Nicholas relive every moment of absolute distress, as well as every moment of pure happiness as they exchange memories of their past during an extensive trip around the world together. This trip, (of course lasting a total of three weeks) brings the two brothers exceptionally close together. Sure they visit India, Ethiopia, Easter Island, and Jaipur, but they also visit the memories existing in their minds, that can never be replaced or forgotten. In the process of visiting those cherished memories together, they also discover truths of love, loss, and hope. Major themes that can be recognized throughout the book are also of love, loss, and hope. A major theme that stood out to me was that lost ones are never forgotten. This theme appears and reappears in the text because although it has been many years since Nicholas and Micah lost their loved ones, they will never forget them. They relive those losses every time they see or hear anything that reminds them of that individual. Another theme that also appeared evident to me was that hope requires support, because when Micah and Nicholas endured the loss of their parents and sister, they relied on each other for support which was the only thing giving them the hope to go on. What I liked about this book was that I couldn¿t put it down because I was so emotionally connected to everything I was reading. I felt like I could feel what they felt and see what they saw. It made me laugh and it made me cry and it takes a really good book to do that. What I disliked about the book was that at some parts I felt that the historical information about the places where the brothers visited around the world was expanded upon a little too much which caused me to want to just skip over those parts and get to the stories. I strongly encourage everyone to read this book because it truly makes you appreciate and cherish your loved ones more because you realize that some people aren¿t as lucky as you. Every single book that I¿ve read written by Nicholas Sparks has been an incredible one so I also encourage you to read the Notebook, A Walk to Remember, and True Believer, because they all have left a memorable impact on me and most likely everyone else who has read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Great read!

    This is an amazing story of two brothers able to rise above and triumph amongst a life of sorrow. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    This book was great!

    Nicholas Sparks lets you into his life and you can feel his struggles and triumphs as he and his brother travel the world. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I loved it

    A great memoir. I regret that it took me so long to get around to reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    I Highly Recommend This Book!

    I Loved This Book! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    amazing book

    i love all books by nicholas sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    kellie

    loved this book! and nicholas sparks he is a good author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17