Customer Reviews for

Three Weeks with My Brother

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ok

    Was not my complete favorite but glad i read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    What an amazing story

    I really loved diving into Nicholas Sparks' life in this book, and how he connected his trip with his brother to his past and how they became so close. This definitely shows why all of his books seem to have a sad ending or a sad scenario; he had a rough life! I enjoyed reading about their travels, and enjoyed even more reading about his life. The only thing that didnt interest me so much was the history he would give on the places they were visiting. I found myself kind of skimming over those parts at times. But i laughed, i cried, i smiled, and everything inbetween. Definitely recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Great read! Loved it.

    i loved this book. i normally dont read non fiction but this book captured my interest and held it through the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    This book was great!

    Nicholas Sparks lets you into his life and you can feel his struggles and triumphs as he and his brother travel the world. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Sparks, like you've never seen him before

    When a Nicholas Sparks book is brought up in conversation, usually his audience is "oohhing and ahhwwing" about the romance and creativity behind his fiction masterpiece . . . when Three Weeks with My Brother becomes a topic however, the tables turn. This is Sparks only non-fiction book written and it reflects the trials and hardship he has gone through throughout his life. You cannot say too much about this book because you do not want to give anything away. I can say, however that this is a side of this author we have not seen until now, and you will not want to go back. He combines his past events and his present adventure into one heart wrenching story. Nicholas and his brother Micah are the last two living people on their side of the family and they know how important they are to one another. Sadly, they had to go through a lot with each other to discover this. They are off on a three week escape around the world! The difference between his generation and the generation out there now, is astonishingly different. From playing video games today, to going out and building tree houses then, you do still find common ground. There will always be bullies in school, fights with your siblings and broken bones all along the way. This book shows you how important family is in your life. This book is geared toward an older audience because it talks about the life of a parent and a spouse but it does not limit it to a younger crowd. Many men do not connect well with Sparks' books because of his feminine outlook on things but I would definitely recommend this book to all men because it entails such a great life lesson. To all other Spark fans as well, this book does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Cool and Refreshing

    I am one of the biggest fans of Nicholas Sparks' novels. I wait each and every year for the newest to come out, and I generally read them in one sitting. At first I passed over Three Weeks with My Brother beacause I do not typically go for the biographical readings - but this gives a cool, refreshing, new taste to biography. The balance was good between story telling and the adventure at hand, however, I did find myself yearning for more on their background then of the trip itself. Nicholas Sparks is an excellent author and reading his story puts all of his novels into perspective. A great book that I would recommend to anyone. Maybe not a one sitting reader, but quite the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Autobiographical travalogue

    This sometimes humorous story gives the reader an insight into the lives of the Sparks brothers. The reader also gets to travel to places which may not be desired destinations but extremely interesting and vividly described. I thorougly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Sparks success!

    A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a look inside

    this non-fiction book by sparks gives insight into the novels he writes. it was easy to see how his life experiences have influenced his writing. its always good to see how someone can over come the tragedies in life and become happy and sucessful. the three week journey of a lifetime was incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Heavy

    Whew! There are a lot of 'tears flowing' in this memoir. If there is any common ground in this book, it is that all human beings have pain and heartache, and we can give up or fight our way through our personal events. Obviously, the Sparks are still working the program for living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Explains the underlying meanings of his other books.

    As I finished this book, I thought to myself, 'He's done it again.' When first beginning several of his other books, I've thought the stories were slow to intrigue me. However, his books always reach out and grab me just as I'm about to lose hope. Then I'm happily trapped and savoring every page. This story explains so much of the underlying meanings in his other books. When you learn more about his life, you can see his life in his stories. I always learn spiritual lessons from Sparks--words that help me to learn more about myself. Three Weeks with My Brother can be a little slow with all the talk of the trip, but the story of his life will keep you reading. Nicholas Sparks is a very real and down-to-earth person. I feel like I'm chatting with a friend when I read his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Nicholas Sparks: my favorute author

    I loved reading the book about the two brothers travelling the globe. I have read all of Nicholas Sparks books, and love all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    Heart-felt!

    I really enjoyed reading this book... it puts a new perspective on all of his novels that I've previously read by telling some of the inspiration behind them. Three Weeks With My Brother is heart-felt, has a great flow to the story telling, & keeps your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Great memoir, not so great travel book

    On the one hand, I loved the reflection anmd dialogue on family and loss between the two brothers. It's very human and moving. On the other hand, I feel Sparks could have made more of the travel writing, by laying his own experiences against those of, says, the Guatemalans who have known terrible tragedy and suffering. I feel there was an opportunity here to honor the commonality of the human experience, and indeed that such an approach is required to make sense of the memoir as journey. Having said that, I enjoyed the book, felt affection and empathy for the narrator, and happily recommend THREE WEEKS WITH MY BROTHER on that basis. If you're interested in seeing travel merge with memoir in a powerful and mind bening fashion then check out IN THE GHOST COUNTRY by Peter Hillary, where Hillary travels to the South Pole in the company of his many dead friends. Very moving and beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    A quick read

    I remembered my childhood and could identify with some of their stories. I really felt I was a part of their life. Need more books from Nicholas. I've read all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    The odyssey of mortality

    Two brothers deal with the confrontiong fact that they are the only family members still alive by seeing what else is out in the big wide world. It's a moving and inspiring journey, ultimately optimistic. Reminds me a little of IN THE GHOST COUNTRY another book that is breaking new ground in memoir and the psychology of grief, where a man walks to the South Pole with the ghost of his dead mother. Knockout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Wonderful!

    Yet another gripping novel by one the the world's most beloved authors. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3