Customer Reviews for

Three Weeks with My Brother

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 17
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    completely unaware of what i got out of this!

    this was one i chose due to waiting for his next novel...wow. this took me to another level of respect. nos you will see how his novels have heart. god bless him and his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    sparks life story, read it!

    i had no clue what this book was about when i picked it up. so was suprised to find that it was sparks writting about his life. he really can write more then just love stories. be perpaired with tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Read For All Nicholas Sparks Fans

    When I started the book, Three Weeks With My Brother, I figured that it would just be a story about how Nicholas Sparks and his brother, Micah, spent three weeks together. I was wrong. It does talk about the three weeks that they spent together and how they travel the world (within the three weeks). However, the book also talks about how Nicholas and his siblings were raised and how he got to be where he is now. You get a glimpse on his life previous to being an author and becoming the author we all know and love. One of the best parts about the book is how he tells about the trip and his closeness to his brother. The two are quite a pair. As a Nicholas Spark fan myself I know most of his stories and am glad that he gave me a peek as to how he was inspired to write. I know I am glad that he started. For anyone thinking that they want to look into reading his novels this is a must read. It will make you laugh and cry. The best part of the entire book is how he tells about the trip and his closeness to his brother. The two are quite a pair. As a Nicholas Sparks fan my-self I know most of his stories and am glad that he let me peek into his life and allowed me to see how he was inspired to write them. Throughout the book, he describes the places they visit and tells stories about his childhood, I feel as though I am there. He describes whatever memory in amazing detail. For anyone thinking that they want to start reading his novels, this is a great book to read to get an insight on the author. You get a glimpse at his writing style and how some of his most famous novels got started. I enjoyed this book very much and love most of his other novels. A definite must read for all Nicholas Sparks fans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story

    Reads like fiction but it is his real life. Has about as much drama too! Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    YA GOTTA READ THIS BOOK!

    I typically don't read memoirs and I've only read one of Mr. Spark's novels. This was loaned to me some time ago and I picked it up because I found myself caring for a sick grandchild with nothing else in the house to read. This book gives such insight to the man that the author is - a fantastic husband, father, brother, and son. I was so impressed with his faith and committment to family despite a life filled with tragedy. It was great to hear about the trip but the recounting of his life that got him to that point was the real story. Very inspirational!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Sparks, like you've never seen him before

    When a Nicholas Sparks book is brought up in conversation, usually his audience is "oohhing and ahhwwing" about the romance and creativity behind his fiction masterpiece . . . when Three Weeks with My Brother becomes a topic however, the tables turn. This is Sparks only non-fiction book written and it reflects the trials and hardship he has gone through throughout his life. You cannot say too much about this book because you do not want to give anything away. I can say, however that this is a side of this author we have not seen until now, and you will not want to go back. He combines his past events and his present adventure into one heart wrenching story. Nicholas and his brother Micah are the last two living people on their side of the family and they know how important they are to one another. Sadly, they had to go through a lot with each other to discover this. They are off on a three week escape around the world! The difference between his generation and the generation out there now, is astonishingly different. From playing video games today, to going out and building tree houses then, you do still find common ground. There will always be bullies in school, fights with your siblings and broken bones all along the way. This book shows you how important family is in your life. This book is geared toward an older audience because it talks about the life of a parent and a spouse but it does not limit it to a younger crowd. Many men do not connect well with Sparks' books because of his feminine outlook on things but I would definitely recommend this book to all men because it entails such a great life lesson. To all other Spark fans as well, this book does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Three Weeks With My Brother- One of the most engaging, emotional, and amazing books I have ever read.

    Three Weeks With My Brother, is by far one of my favorite books I have ever read. To be honest I am not much of a reader, but this book made me cry several times because of how touching the author's story is. This is a true story about the author Nicholas Sparks's life and all the hardships and struggles he faced throughout his life. This truely was an inspiring book that at some times was difficult to read. I really enjoyed the fact that Nicohlas Sparks was able to take a three week trip with his brother Micah Sparks around the world and wrote a book about his trip along with life experiences. The book is formed in a way that a few pages of the chapters talk about the different places the two brothers went on their trip, including things they saw and the events they attended. Then Nick Sparks starts describing his childhood and funny memories that make the reader literally laugh out loud. Then in the next chapter Nick would begin to talk about the trip followed by a flashback of his life. Throughout the book Nick would keep refferring to his brother as an inspiration in life and his role model. This book clearly shows the strong relationship Nick Sparks had with his brother Micah, and the love that these brothers and bestfriends have with each other. It was very interesting to me at how many struggles and challenges this man had to deal with. Though it was an extremely sad book, it is truely an amazing story. I highly recommend this book to anyone that would like to read about an unbelievably story, and think about how time flies by and how important family and friends are. Unexpected things can happen at any time and everyone should be aware of how they are spending their life. This book was absolutely wonderful and I plan to read more of the authors works. I am extremely satisfied that I read this book and therefore strongly encourage others to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A truely inspiring story!

    This book took me on an amazing journey. It was thrilling and I was completely absorbed. Nicholas Sparks is very candid in the telling of his early life. His love for his family and his ability to overcome the obstacles in his life are and inspiration to others. Since reading "Three Weeks with My Brother", I have purchased it as a gift for my mother in law and will likely purchase additional copies for future gifts for my loved ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very emotional book

    This was a very emotional book for me since i read it shortly after my oldest's sister's passing...and i am not very close to my middle sister. I had every emotion known while reading this book. there were times i was so furious along with the characters and then i would be so sad and crying with them as well. it was like being on an emotional rollercoaster with the author and his brother...it really hit home with my own family at the time. this book really was a healing experience for me in dealing with my own emotions of my sister passing and having to deal with my relationship issues with my middle sister. it was a great book for siblings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Cool and Refreshing

    I am one of the biggest fans of Nicholas Sparks' novels. I wait each and every year for the newest to come out, and I generally read them in one sitting. At first I passed over Three Weeks with My Brother beacause I do not typically go for the biographical readings - but this gives a cool, refreshing, new taste to biography. The balance was good between story telling and the adventure at hand, however, I did find myself yearning for more on their background then of the trip itself. Nicholas Sparks is an excellent author and reading his story puts all of his novels into perspective. A great book that I would recommend to anyone. Maybe not a one sitting reader, but quite the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Best Sparks book ever!

    I had purchased this on cd and listened to it while commuting to classes. My 15 yr old and I feel in love with it. I now have the book which is a keeper. Sparks is a true story teller. This is one of my favorite books because it is so similar to how I grew up in simpler times as well as how similar the family dynamics are almost the same as my childhood/adulthood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Wonderful memoir!!

    This is seriously one of the best books I have read. I am not a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks novels, but I love memoirs and thought I would give his a try. It was so engaging and heartfelt. It was incredibly inspirational. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Great audio book

    My 15 yr old and I had checked this out from the library and LOVED it and I couldn't believe it was under $10 on B & N. This will make you laugh, cry and takes you back to simpler times when life was not so complicated. The reader is especially good. I bought 2 copies and gave one to my brother because we grew up in much of the same way as Nicholas, Micah and Danna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Must Read

    I just wish I would have read this book first, before Spark's other works. Once you read this autobiographical piece, it helps you see how he intertwines his personal life into his stories. After reading this, I feel like I personally know Nicholas and his brother. Great one to listen to on audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    One of the best memoirs I've ever read!

    Nicholas Sparks shares his experience of taking a 3-week journey around the world with his brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Autobiographical travalogue

    This sometimes humorous story gives the reader an insight into the lives of the Sparks brothers. The reader also gets to travel to places which may not be desired destinations but extremely interesting and vividly described. I thorougly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Sparks success!

    A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a look inside

    this non-fiction book by sparks gives insight into the novels he writes. it was easy to see how his life experiences have influenced his writing. its always good to see how someone can over come the tragedies in life and become happy and sucessful. the three week journey of a lifetime was incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Review :)

    Three Weeks with My Brother is a very good book. Nicholas Sparks and Micah Sparks share their experiences and many tragedies throughout their adventures. It was very sweet, and yet bitter moments were included. I thought this book was very inspiring. I laughed a lot and was very sad at other times. Bored is not a feeling you will get from this book. I recommend this book for all readers who are looking for a great adventure, non-fiction book. You will not regret reading it. Enjoy! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story of a Journey and Lifetime

    Nicholas Sparks tells of his life story all while capturing the wonderful stories of his travel around the world with his brother, Micah Sparks. If it a dream to travel around the world, this book makes the reader feel as if they are traveling along too. The Sparks brothers life story is interesting and heart warming as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 17