Customer Reviews for

The Three Weissmanns of Westport

Average Rating 3
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyable reading day

This was the first of Cathleen Schine's books that I've read but I enjoyed it enough that I've purchased a few others of hers. The book takes place in CT and NY, both very familiar places to me. The character types are also familiar but because of that, I enjoyed it eve...
This was the first of Cathleen Schine's books that I've read but I enjoyed it enough that I've purchased a few others of hers. The book takes place in CT and NY, both very familiar places to me. The character types are also familiar but because of that, I enjoyed it even more. Sharply drawn characters and detailed depiction of different types of women who all depend on each other.

Loved her unique writing style. It struck me as a bit old-fashioned but because the book discussed very current themes, it made the whole experience even more enjoyable.

posted by BobbiNJ on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

once was enough

I like Schine's writing and wanted to read this so much that I mistakenly bought it twice! Once turned out to be enough -- I never found the characters to be convincing enough for me to really care about them or believe that they were connected in any way beyond the plo...
I like Schine's writing and wanted to read this so much that I mistakenly bought it twice! Once turned out to be enough -- I never found the characters to be convincing enough for me to really care about them or believe that they were connected in any way beyond the plot contrivances. It absorbed me more at the beginning and at the ending, but the middle was a long lull at the beach.

posted by Art-historian on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    once was enough

    I like Schine's writing and wanted to read this so much that I mistakenly bought it twice! Once turned out to be enough -- I never found the characters to be convincing enough for me to really care about them or believe that they were connected in any way beyond the plot contrivances. It absorbed me more at the beginning and at the ending, but the middle was a long lull at the beach.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Really enjoyable reading day

    This was the first of Cathleen Schine's books that I've read but I enjoyed it enough that I've purchased a few others of hers. The book takes place in CT and NY, both very familiar places to me. The character types are also familiar but because of that, I enjoyed it even more. Sharply drawn characters and detailed depiction of different types of women who all depend on each other.

    Loved her unique writing style. It struck me as a bit old-fashioned but because the book discussed very current themes, it made the whole experience even more enjoyable.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Three Women go to the beach because they are having Men Trouble

    This book was made out to be much better than it actually was. It was not very real and I was tired about hearing about all of the rejection from men. Life is more about life than men and who cares if they reject you. There is so much more about life than evolving yourself around men. I wished I would not have wasted my time!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    The Weissmanns are Wonderful

    A thoroughly enjoybale read that pulled me into the lives and travails of the characters instantly. Those quirky, charming, colorful and memorable characters. You care about them becasue they are so human and offbeat. I found that it was too short a story and would have loved to be with them a little longer. Perhaps the saga of the Weissmann women could go on and all the intersecting characters and subplots could as well. With flashbacks, of course. i have already recommended it to friends. And because I enjoyed it so much, I have become interested in reading more of author Cathleen Schine's work with which I was not familiar. I became interested enough to order this book after reading a review in the Sunday New York Times Book Review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    My apologies to the writer.

    I simply could not get into this book and only read about half of it. The plot idea was so intriguing, and I was really excited about reading it. I even went to the store to pick it up right away because I couldn't wait for shipping. Very disappointed with the characters. They were so silly and self-centered. Perhaps someday I will pick it up again, but cannot think of a good reason why when there are so many good books out there to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    a comic novel with depth of feeling!

    loved the characters and was contantly surprised by the plot despite the Austin homage. A lovely intelligent novel about family relationships and the stages of romantic love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    This is not Jane Austen

    This is the wordiest book! This book is for people who delight in other people's suffering. It was very overwhelming in that so many things happened to the characters. Sometimes there was a smile, but most times it was a furrowed brow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Jane Austen's books are classics for a reason--leave them alone!

    I absolutely hated this book. HATED. I kept hearing so many good things about it (reviews, not word of mouth) so when the library got a copy in, I decided to give it a shot. I hated it fairly early on. I forgot that it was based on Sense & Sensibility, one of my favorite Jane Austen novels, so when I recognized this fact (pretty early on--you are pretty much beat over the head with it plot/character similarities) I was annoyed. It was just so irritating to have this author subvert a gloriously written classic novel into her boring prose and annoying characters. Schine didn't just base this novel on S&S, she pretty much followed it to the extent that it was distracting--I began anticipating the plot and renaming the characters in my head (oh, yeah, this is so and so from S&S). While I love Jane Austen's characters, despite and because of their flaws, I found Schine's characters simply ineffectual, stupid, and annoying. I found absolutely nothing humorous in the book, and couldn't relate to the wealthy NYC Jewish-ness of the characters. I began skimming about 3/4 of the way thru because I found it too irritating to read every sentence. I didn't care about the ending and how anyone ended up. Awful, awful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Disappointing

    After reading a number of wonderful reviews of this book, I could not wait to buy and read it. I even recommended it to my book group. Instead of a nuanced, classic read, I found this book to be flat and the characters, for the most part, uninteresting. I found that I mostly did not care about what happened to any of them in the end. My advice for would-be readers is to stick with Sense and Sensibility.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved the story and the writing.

    I didn't think I was going to like it at first but fell in love with the writing. Would really like a sequel to see how things turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    loved this book

    this book took place in connecticut where i live. it was also the first book that i read on my nook. put all these things together and you come up with a great story that can be related to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Enjoying the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. I only finishe

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. I only finished it because once I start a book I'm compelled to read it to the end. It is almost 300 pages of the characters' constant complaining -- "kvetching," I believe it is called. The plot is totally contrived, with the same characters popping up everywhere. If I could give it no stars, I would. Jane Austen? Cathleen Schine can't tie Jane Austen's shoelaces!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great!

    Loved this story. The characters are endearing and a joy to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Loved It

    Not meant to rival Jane Austen. Sense & Sensibility is only an inspiration. Read it instead for the humor and truth of the overarching situations of the mother's & sisters' lives & loves. I was genuinely charmed. This is Shine's best novel. Her others are only fair; this one is excellent -- more than a beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Not my favorite

    This was mildly entertaining quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Horrible

    Only finished because it was our book club read. Terrible characters, stupid story. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Witty and delightful

    I really loved the shadow of "Sense and Sensibility" in the storyline of the book. Since S and S is my fav of the Austen books it was fun to anticipate how the story would turn to follow the original story line. It is certainly not the same story -but similar nonetheless. Fast easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

    This book was terrible. I could barely get through it. It was painful to read. If I could give it no stars, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    I couldn't wait to finish it because it was so boring.

    The first few pages of this book seemed interesting. However, the more I read, the more boring it became. I was confused by all the different characters and how they were involved with each other. I finished the book even though I thought it was a complete waste of my time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8