BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Three Wishes

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Three Wishes is a remarkable book. It finds a way to be both fun

Three Wishes is a remarkable book. It finds a way to be both funny and heart touching at the same time. At times I found myself laughing out loud. Five Stars

posted by Ash5 on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok read

This book is told from many different perspectives. It is a story about a set of female triplets, clebrating their 34 birthday, reflecting on their past and contemplating their future. It is about 300 pages long. I had a really had a hard time getting into this book. I ...
This book is told from many different perspectives. It is a story about a set of female triplets, clebrating their 34 birthday, reflecting on their past and contemplating their future. It is about 300 pages long. I had a really had a hard time getting into this book. I found the first few chapters hard to get into. This book is chick lit. There are many reviews which are plot spoilers, so I am not going to add my three cents worth. It was well edited, sometimes sad, sometimes funny and has one of the most disfunctional families, I have ever read about. Not a mystery, romance, adventure or paranormal story. It is chick lit, about a family with a lot of problems. For ages 18 and up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Crack-up Kettles!

    The Kettle family is quite a trip. There¿s Nana Kettle, mother of Frank Kettle, ex-husband of Maxine (Max) Kettle, mother of the wackiest triplets on the planet, Lynnette (Lyn), Catriona (Cat), and Gemma Kettle. The girls are long-legged and beautiful, but that¿s where the similarity ends. Author Moriarty grew up in a family with six children, she being the eldest, so she probably has an excellent concept of what chaos in a family means. The scene is Sydney, Australia, and the story is about the triplets as they approach their thirty-fourth birthday. There are snippets of their lives from birth, including the divorce of their parents when they were six, the death of the fiancé of one of the girls; marriages, childbirth, miscarriage, unfaithful husbands, etc. There are happy events, too, but mostly these three girls and their family members try, like most of us, to survive one another. It¿s quite a hoot. However, there is one aspect of this story I found very disturbing. Since art imitates life, we all know of situations like the one portrayed in the book. All I can say is ¿Get out!¿ Ms. Moriarty not only used prose to tell her story, she included emails between these very modern sisters, which I thought was very clever. In addition, she included vignettes by people who had been ¿exposed¿ to the sisters over the course of their lives. These vignettes were presented in italicized text. I liked the feature as it gave the unusual view of the story¿s characters from people outside the story line. Carolyn Rowe Hill

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Very enjoyable read!

    I really enjoyed this story of triplet sisters. It is told in a unique way. I was caught up in their lives and relationship in the first chapter. The sister' relationship with their mother is also examined. Those who enjoy stories about the complex relationships within families will enjoy this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Quick read, very entertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    A great read


    Another good book from Liane Moriarty. The characters were so realistic. It was a easy read. I really liked that the sisteres were so similar, yet oh so different - just like in real life. The opening of the book was very funny. I initially thought this was going to be a light hearted book with some touches of seriousness, but as the book went on, it did shift and deal with more serious issues. I enjoyed seeing how the girls, their significant others, and parents grew as the book progressed. I loved the sprinkles of onlookers' perspectives of them. I am a avid people watcher, so I thought this added a great element to the book. If I didn't have such a busy summer I would have finished this book along time ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Seth

    You eant to find a book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    good read

    This book was a little difficult to follow at first but it came around. Good book about a quirky family....good light hearted read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    New fav author, Liane Moriarty

    Great story of triplets and their relationship with each other and the men in their lives. Liked it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    Loved Three Wishes!

    If you have one sister, you know the chaos that can be created. Imagine that chaos times 3(and all the same age)! Three Wishes follows triplet sisters through a year in their life. The sisters love, hate, laugh and create mass hysteria and you'll laugh and cry with them. I'm a fan of Liane Moriarty and I always enjoy her witty writing style and perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    A quick read, very funny!

    I really enjoyed this story of three sisters. I couldn't put the book down, I had to know what happened to each sister. If you are looking for an entertaining read, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    loved it

    Loved this book. These sisters are very different from one another yet similar in the way they treat each other. Good ending. I will be purchasing more books from this author for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Good book!

    Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    This is a great beach/pool read. Very funny, yet poignant. Highl

    This is a great beach/pool read. Very funny, yet poignant. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Charming, if slightly confusing at first

    The multiple-viewpoint technique makes this book a bit difficult to follow at first, but you get used to the characters' voices and it stops being a problem.

    Overall, I found this book utterly enjoyable. I especially liked that the characters were so real. The author sugar-coats nothing and I found myself living, hating, and pitying each sister by turn.

    The thing I love most, I think, is the ending. It managed to give a sense of completeness without tying a pretty bow on everything. The characters do not get everything they ever wanted, which is refreshing, but we still get the sense that everything will be okay.

    I will be looking for more from this author, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Cute story

    This is both a heartfelt and light-hearted read. I liked it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Clover tail

    Comes in "rouges"she rasps licking her wounds i ws hunting

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Where are bios?

    ?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Lillystar

    Nods.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2