Customer Reviews for

Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Raw deal

    As a long-time Michigan fan I began the Rodriguez era with an open mind and expectations. As time wore on I gradually lost faith and began to expect/hope for change. Now that the dust is beginning to settle and people are moving on, this book starts to shed a little light on some of the reasons why Rich was probably never going to succeed at Michigan. The deck was probably always stacked against him, and that's a bit shameful as it wasnt fair. Not to Rich, not to the kids who worked so hard, and not to the fans. It's a good read. Hard to re-live some of those games, but hopefully everyone's moved on and we can get back to being Michigan again. Go Blue!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Excellent book

    Changed how I felt about Rich Rod, and our Michigan family in general.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great read.

    It connected the dots for me. I knew when Bo died the Michigan football program was in trouble. The last great leader of Michigan football was gone and nobody at the University of Michigan stepped up to the challenge. Darn cowards.
    A coach, a family and his team should never have to endure the politics and off field distractions to the extent they went through. Rich Rodriquez was doomed the day he was hired. It is too bad. I think he could have succeeded. He did not get the support he needed and deserved from the University of Michigan administration.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Mich

    GO BLUE!!!!!"""""!!!!!"!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Go inside the program with this one.

    Damn good. Read it this season.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Very Well Written and Interesting Perspective

    While I enjoyed reading the book very much, I would have liked to have seen the author give some of the other people in the book their say as well as this would have provided a more objective look at the events discussed. Even so, I found it to be a very good read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    An excellent sports book. Very well written, the book is an engrossing and somewhat heartbreaking account of the trials and tribulations of a newly hired college football coach and his team. I knew very little about Michigan's football program or Rodriguez before reading the book, but couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good

    This book changed my opinion of Rich Rod. After reading it, I have come to the conclusion that he got hosed by the university I attended and (still) love and support. I talked to RR briefly when I saw him at the gym one Saturday. He seemed like a cool dude but he looked like a very worried dude. John Bacon has done a pretty good job convincing me that RR really cared about his team in general and all the individual players in particular. I think, though, there are some examples in the book where he would mention something and then explsin what was said in a way that would lower the raised eyebrows. He seemed to diffuse situations he witnessed in order to avoid possible investigations into those situations. I also believed some events he described were a little too incredible for me to believe. As of today, 1/03, I am about 28 pages from finishing the book. Its bn a good read and I would recommend it to any college football fan. Keep an open mind about RR and be prepared, if you weere a naysayer as I was, to have your opinion about him changed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Can't put it down(when not reading about the games)

    I have a really hard reliving some of those games, I actually
    have to stop reading. This book has given me the ability to step back and re-evaluate the coach most fans didn't know, and a team that collapsed in on itself. I am able to appreciate the hard work every one of those coaches and players put in. If only things could have worked out.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Haven't read the book but GO BLUE!!!!!

    Yeah!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2