Customer Reviews for

Thrill Ride (Black Knights Inc. Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!!!!

The title of this book is right on, from beginning to end it is a thrill ride. The chemistry between Rock and Vanessa is hot, hot, hot, and the action is very fast paced and intense. I loved this book and I can't wait for the next in the series. If you haven't read th...
The title of this book is right on, from beginning to end it is a thrill ride. The chemistry between Rock and Vanessa is hot, hot, hot, and the action is very fast paced and intense. I loved this book and I can't wait for the next in the series. If you haven't read the others in the series, I would recommend that you do, but I started with the third book, and even reading them out of order, I loved them. This is a fabulous series that just keeps getting better.

posted by Spifferfish on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh

I was excited for Rock's story because charming, yummy, bad-boy cajun... Yes, please! I'm left wanting more. Vanessa is supposed to be somewhat hardcore, yet she was crying and blubbering the whole time. She didnt use any skills she was supposedly hired for, she was jus...
I was excited for Rock's story because charming, yummy, bad-boy cajun... Yes, please! I'm left wanting more. Vanessa is supposed to be somewhat hardcore, yet she was crying and blubbering the whole time. She didnt use any skills she was supposedly hired for, she was just damsel in distress and dead weight.
Rock was still great. Ozzie still brought humor and charm. They saved the story from being a complete flop.
Also on a side note for writer/editor... it was Van Gogh who was missing an ear, not Picasso.

posted by Misty628 on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.25 stars:  THRILL RIDE is the fourth instalment in Julie Ann W

    4.25 stars:  THRILL RIDE is the fourth instalment in Julie Ann Walker’s adult, contemporary, romantic suspense series-Black Knight Inc. The focus of the series is on a group of former SEALs, FBI and Special Ops soldiers under the direction of Frank ‘Boss’ Knight. This is ex Navy SEAL Richard ‘Rock’ Babineaux and communication specialist Vanessa Cordova’s storyline. Rock has been missing for six months and the Department of Defense (DOD) has labeled the quiet Cajun as a rogue agent. Refusing to accept that Rock has turned his back on the American people, the Black Knights and Vanessa set out to prove that their friend and fellow operative has been set up to take a fall.
    The storyline follows Vanessa as she sets out to find Rock-from Chicago to Costa Rica- Vanessa knows that Rock is innocent of the crimes he has been accused of committing but staying under the CIA radar will prove to be a deadly and combative mission. With Black Op soldiers not far behind, Vanessa and the agents of BKI will discover that Rock has no plans to return in order to protect those that he loves.
    The relationship between Rock and Vanessa begins as colleagues to friends and lovers. The sexual tension is high as Rock continues to push Vanessa away at ever opportunity even though he is a man who has lost his heart to the feisty communications specialist. From the jungles of Costa Rica to the BKI warehouse, Vanessa will prove her love time and again by risking everything to protect Rock from the CIA and himself.
    Julie Ann Walker pulls the reader into a story of mystery and suspense. We experience the pain of the utmost betrayal when a man must face the reality of what he has done and the person(s) pulling the strings. The storyline is fast paced with just enough background information that the reader is well aware of the history and the men of the BKI-many of the previous storyline characters play active secondary roles that bring a familiarity of family and friends.
    THRILL RIDE is a wonderful story of friendship and love; betrayal and heartbreaking guilt; mystery and suspense. You can’t help but feel for a man forced to do something that he believes to be true but in the end discovers that everything had been a set up from the start.
    Julie Ann Walker writes a captivating and entertaining storyline that will have you on the edge of your seat waiting for the truth to finally be told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Julie Ann Walker has done it again. She’s created a roller coaster ride that takes the reader through the jungles of Costa Rica and American politics. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put this book down. This is the fourth book in Ms Walker’s Black Knights series, but it does stand alone. But as always, having read the prior books will enhance your read as many past characters are once again present in Thrill Ride.

    I absolutely love Vanessa. She’s a character that is relatable. She has issues she needs to work though, but she doesn’t let them hold her back. She’s also a loyal friend and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to help and support those she loves. I enjoyed all the interactions between Vanessa and Rock… especially during their time in Costa Rica.

    Rock on the other hand was a bit harder for me to get a handle on. He obviously has feelings for Vanessa and his friends in the Black Knights. But when the US Government names him as “rogue”, he runs… mostly to stay alive, but also to protect those friends. This story is really all about why he’s on the run and clearing his name. But it’s also about those relationships. His friends are willing to risk their lives because they believe in him and Vanessa… well, she’s in love. The most frustrating thing for me was Rock’s reluctance when it came to Vanessa. He’d push her away, then pull her back, push away and pull back. I got whiplash with his constant yo-yoing. It was totally understandable, but also frustrating when the sparks are flying between them but Rock’s internal struggle just couldn’t let him commit.

    While this book is a romantic suspense, the romance was almost secondary. I mean, it builds through out the story, but most of the book focuses on the Black Knights trying to clear Rock’s name. Ms Walker threw in lots of twists and turns and kept me on my toes. I think my one complaint would be the conclusion when it came to revealing the bad guy. It just seemed a little out there and even wrapped up tidier than I expected.

    All that said, I really did enjoy this story and it’s another fantastic addition to a pretty darn good series. I highly recommend for readers who enjoy suspenseful books with a touch of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Love this series

    I really like this series of books. This is rocks and vans story. Lots of action and suspense with a touch of romance. What else could you ask for in a book. I can not wait for bill and eves story. I already bought it and I am reading it next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Great

    Great book just like the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Plague

    Do you have a email?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Good

    I started to read this book to see if I would like it. I stopped in chapter one because i had been reading a different serious and wasnt ready for this. After a few weeks i started reading again on nook tablet. Few to no typos I always like that. I enjoyed Rock and Vanessas story enough to buy the first 3 books. Like them all. Military guys and gal or two, unique individuals suspense romance. It kept me reading. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Must check it out!

    Love the book! Great series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Thrill Ride is the best name possible for this book.  There was

    Thrill Ride is the best name possible for this book.  There was action from beginning to end and I loved every minute of it. It was so awesome to get to see some of our past favorites and meet a few newbies as well. The interaction between the main characters was hot and steamy but they also had a kind of admiration and respect for each other.  Can't wait to see where this series heads next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Very Good

    I have been reading this Series and it has been very entertaining, I just wish they could come out closer together, I sometimes forget the older characters. But this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Nothing better than a sexy cajun, and Rock is all that with a heart of gold.” ~Under the Covers

    THRILL RIDE was my favorite book in this series, so far. I think that the author seems more comfortable in her own writing with this one and the whole book flowed very well. Nothing felt pressured or rushed or out of place.

    The chemistry between Rock and Vanessa was sizzling, and that was even from book three when they were on assignment together. In this book, Rock starts out going rogue. But is he really responsible for what they’re blaming him for? Vanessa can’t wrap her mind around that and along with the Black Knights, they go in search of their teammate and will try to clear his name and take the target off his back.

    Of course, Vanessa is the one that finds him before the rest of the team and they are put in some dangers together. That chemistry I talked about before comes rushing back full force when they are secluded and all alone in the jungle…and Vanessa develops a serious case of the scares.

    What can I say about Rock….he’s hot, sexy, big, alpha and…CAJUN. *thud* Deadly combination on my senses. I think that may be why I loved him from the very beginning. Vanessa is a hot latina and tough chick (she is part of the Black Knights after all) but she showed a more feminine side in this book. I liked seeing the contrast and of course, I loved seeing Rock swoop in. Nothing better than a sexy cajun, and Rock is all that with a heart of gold.

    The story was interesting even though a bit predictable. We still had the funny themes we’ve seen throughout this series (I mean…vibrators taped to windows to jam listening devices? LOL).

    We also get bits of Billy and Eve in this book and they just make me so anxious to read their book, even though Eve is not a favorite of mine. It seems Billy has so much bottled up inside and maybe bringing all that out will bring a different side of Eve out as well. At least I’m hoping.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love these characters and this author, fantastic work! So far this my favorite of the Black Knights novels, the humor is wonderful and this story was fast paced and a wild ride. Can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of their own, Rock Babineaux, is accused of going rogue, no

    One of their own, Rock Babineaux, is accused of going rogue, no one of the Black Knights Inc. team believes in his guilt. Attempting to clear their team mate, a group of Knights search the globe for their missing friend.

    Vanessa Cordova has been drawn to Rock from their first meeting. She will do everything in her power to help Rock, even if he ends up hating her.

    Caught up in a world where you are being hunted by the good guys has not made the last 6 months easy for Rock. When, the dynamo, Vanessa comes crashing back into his life he must do everything he can to keep his heart from giving in to the emotions she stirs deep inside. Now he isn’t just trying to save himself but Vanessa as well.

    Why was Rock framed for something he didn’t do? Who is behind this black ops? You’ll have to read Thrill Ride and find out.

    I really enjoyed reading Thrill Ride. I have to admit, I’m a sucker for the special ops romance novels. There was lots of action, mystery and intrigue. The first half of the book had me riveted to the pages but then it started to slow down...don’t get me wrong, I was still invested in the outcome and interested to discover who the elusive identity of RD. The story pace just seemed to drop off, keeping me from absolutely loving it. In the end, I found Thrill Ride a good read with strong characters and just the right touch of humor.

    This ARC copy of Thrill Ride was given to me by Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date April 2, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1