Customer Reviews for

Thriller: Stories to Keep You up All Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best selection of shorts I've ever seen

I love this book! I admit I have a few stories left to read. I¿ve been out of the crime/spy stories loop for a while. So this book has been fantastic. I had forgotten the fast pace of the stories. Most of the authors¿ writing makes me want to go out and buy all of th...
I love this book! I admit I have a few stories left to read. I¿ve been out of the crime/spy stories loop for a while. So this book has been fantastic. I had forgotten the fast pace of the stories. Most of the authors¿ writing makes me want to go out and buy all of their books. My to be read list just grew quite a bit.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Scared the living hell out of me.

I almost peed. It is really scary. ( SHUDDER ) I got through it and could not sleep for a month. Is not recommended for elderly and children :0 ;s

posted by 11083704 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Best selection of shorts I've ever seen

    I love this book! I admit I have a few stories left to read. I¿ve been out of the crime/spy stories loop for a while. So this book has been fantastic. I had forgotten the fast pace of the stories. Most of the authors¿ writing makes me want to go out and buy all of their books. My to be read list just grew quite a bit.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrills to keep you up

    Great a book to see other thriller writer's writing styles. Some favorites of mine and some I have never read but will try now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    A gourmet collection of short stories by master authors

    &#65279 Imagine that you are a dedicated gourmet, used to eating in the finest restaurants in the world, and that 32 of your favorite world-class chefs come together in one place. You stand in front of a magnificent buffet that has an outstanding appetizer dish from each chef and you are allowed to sample each one. What we have in Thriller is the literary equivalent of that buffet. Collected in one book are 30 short stories by these 32 authors. Each one is a gem and worth the price of the book by itself. Each of these authors have written what I call ¿morning books.¿ You should start none of their books in the evening, or you will be up all night reading them and unable to sleep until you have gotten to the end of the story. The only bittersweet thing about reading Thriller is that Dennis Lynds is no longer with us and won¿t be writing any more of his great stories. There are stories by Lee Child, Alex Kava, David Morrell, Christopher Reich, Brad Thor, and many others. James Patterson is the editor and his comments prior to each short story are excellent in introducing each author and giving a little background on each one. This book is a keeper and one you can read over and over again and still be entertained.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Kudos!

    I must say, when i read the maximum ride books, i didn't think james patterson could get any better. But wasn't i proved wrong! This book scared the living hell out of me! Good work james and i am your biggest fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic anthology

    This anthology is faster than hyperspeed as each of the thirty contributions are well written thrillers using the definition provided by James Patterson in his introduction to the book as being 'the force with which they hurtle the reader along.' The tales run the gamut of what most readers consider a thriller though some seem more like a detective story. Included are legal, espionage, adventure, medical, police procedural (mystery genre?), romance, historical, high tech, political, religious and military, etc. The authors are the who¿s who superstars of the genre though some are probably more renowned as mystery writers as the line of demarcation seems blurred. What is fascinating is that several authors are females which were virtually unheard of just a decade or so ago. The introduction to each tale showcases how talented Mr. Patterson is while the short stories display the skills of the author. Fans will appreciate this fine compilation, the first by the newly formed International Thriller Writers group, which lives up to its subtitle: ¿Stories to Keep You up All Night¿ this compilation will do so for several evenings.-------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Scared the living hell out of me.

    I almost peed. It is really scary. ( SHUDDER ) I got through it and could not sleep for a month. Is not recommended for elderly and children :0 ;s

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Great Surprize/Great Reading

    Its like meeting old friends again. Authors that I have read over years are coming across and missing in some missing pieces. Its a good sounding board for readers that have never read them before. One cannot read every Myst/Spy novel out. I particularly enjoyed the forward to each story. Meeting the new crop of Authors was great also, hoping more books like this are published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    An Excellent Collection of Thriller Short Stories

    Although this anthology was first published in 2006, it is still extremely enjoyable. The stories are well written thrillers, and a few were not the kind of thriller I like but others made up for the ones that were not to my taste times ten. I would recommend this book both for fun and to see the surprisingly wide variety of kinds of thrillers and thriller authors. You may find an interesting new author's work to explore. Great for sampling and a great beach read too. And the introductions to each story are also very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Clueless

    I havent read this book but i want to know more about it can any one who loved it explane WHY? And people who didnt like it why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Hurricanebreeze

    She caught a vole and ate it continuing to hunt she caught a thrush and sat down why does ivystrike get to be deputy i was the first to join she thought midly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I WOULDREAD MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR KEEP THE

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I WOULDREAD MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    50 Shades of Grey

    Looking forward to the movie. William Levy can play Christian Grey. Lol :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Would not recommend this read.

    Keep your coins. Not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ,vk gs b gr

    bbgbgv

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Don't bother

    This is really boring. That is all I can say about it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    a work like none other

    to put such great minds together in one book is a brillant idea. Thriller takes you to a level where you can't put it down. Perfect for the beach or places were you may only have time to read a short part of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Well worth the cost of the book!

    Thriller is such a delight to read. The key is of course that readers like me see stories concerning some of our favorite characters from the authors past stories! I really liked David Morrells update from a long ago book, for instance. I would have bought this book just on the strength of that story alone. I would love to have had Eric Lustbader return one of his earlier characters, such as one from his Ninja series. The story he submitted is still very fulfilling though. Many of these fine authors were new to me, and I am now very likely to explore some of their previous works due to this exposure with their short stories. For instance Brad Thor takes us to Greece, Gayle Lynds I discovered hails from the same state as I grew up in (Iowa) and she takes us to the Mideast, J.A. Konrath shows up with a new twist on a man who doesn¿t care anymore, Dennis Lynds and his story of agents making tough choices, and so many others. If you love thrillers like I do, this is the book to make your reading time fly by and possibly you too will discover an author who may have escaped your earlier review, allowing you to plunge into another set of thrillers not yet purchased. Well worth the cost and the time to explore, I can¿t say enough good things about this book. Paul Swanson Empoweredvolunteer.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    This was so-so. Wouldn't recommend buying

    I enjoyed some of the stories however I grew tired of the long, boring introductions about the authors and backgrounds on the characters. I listened to this on CD. By the end, I was jumping ahead past these introductions to hear the stories. Some of the stories were so-so. Only a few really excited me. I recommend borrowing this book or getting from the library. Do not buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6