Customer Reviews for

Throat

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REally Good!!!

    Was very surprised by this one, I didn't think it was going to be as good as it was. Action-Packed,Danger,Romance, Adventure= Throat! Really good REad!! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Better than twilight

    I usually hate books about vampires but seriously...
    The first thing that shocked me was the idea of being a half vampire. Awesome.
    Then of course, there's the love story. There's no love at first sight, and I wasn't actually sickened by the romance. Sagan is an enjoyable character. And he's not a vampire that does all the work!
    There are a few funny moments in this book like when Emma shows Sagan what a half vampire can do.
    My only criticism is that there's room for a sequel but there is no sign of there being any.
    Overall:
    No love triangle
    Steady romance
    Humor
    Female protagonist
    Vampires
    Yep! Better love story than Twilight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I will admit that this is a strange book that actually got my attention. What got me hooked was the plot. The characters were a little hard to grasp. Some seemed unbelievable while others you can get right away!
    Emma is not your normal teenager. She had epilepsy and the things of the world seem far for her. She struggles with finding who she is or where she fits. After having everything she has worked for blown up in her face, Emma runs away crashing the car. But not before a vampire named Wirtz gets to her.

    I really enjoyed reading Emma. Her character has gone through so much and for once just wanted to be normal. No doctors, no medications, just a regular teenager. I felt for Emma and the anger that she harbored. She had a lot to deal with. After becoming a vampire, Emma seems to find herself more. She finds strength in not only what she has become but she finds strength in her new relationship with Sagan. Emma draws strength from him in order to do what she has to do. She does her best to protect her family by separating herself from them.

    The relationship between Emma and Sagan I loved. They fell into an easy relationship that was not stressed. They brought peace and comfort to each other was nice. I like how Sagan was there for her and helped her out. The setting I did find a bit strange. The whole thing was based on a NASA base plant where Emma was hiding out. Sagan worked there. There was lots of talk of aliens and astronomy.
    Overall, it was a good, fun, read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Read for yourself and be the judge!

    If you like strong female characters, action, realism, and your nerves on edge, you will probably like this story. The characters aren't stereotyped and flat, they are original and well rounded, but this is clearly a plot-driven story with an interesting setting. Plenty of tension sexual and otherwise. With something for both males and females who like to be entertained by a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THROAT

    Had no idea if this was going to be a good read, but man did I hit the jack pot, the plot
    is so engrossing . You have a 17 year old girl who has epilepsy seizures that hit her
    randomly,and trying to be normal young girl going to school and living with this is
    really unthinkable . But this book gets you so engrossed with Emma and her battle
    to try and stay one step ahead of this Evil Vampire Wirtz who is stocking her every
    move, and of course there's a young heartthrob of a guy who helps Emma , so I will
    leave you with this little tidbit to entice you to read THROAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo

    Emma's epilepsy has ruined her life on more than one occasion, but she'll never forget the time it saved her from being killed by a vampire named Wirtz. She's grateful to be alive, but she soon learns she'll never be the same. Emma has the abilities and powers of a vampire, but without the curses of drinking blood and avoiding sunlight. It's a great feeling, until she realizes it's put her in danger. The vampire who bit her isn't about to let her walk free. He's hunting her, and Emma knows it's only a matter of time before he finds her. Desperate to keep her family safe, Emma runs away. She doesn't count on meeting Sagan and falling in love. When Wirtz catches up with her, she'll have to fight for her life - and for Sagan's, too. But Wirtz is a vampire other vampires fear, and he doesn't fight his battles alone. Emma isn't sure she can win the fight, but it won't be for lack of trying. Nelson's dark tale of ugly vampires is a refreshing change from the gorgeous vampires found in other novels. I loved Emma from the start. The characters and places are vivid, making it easy for the story to play in full color in my mind. The NASA Space Center setting is a particularly brilliant touch. I bit into THROAT, enjoyed every gulp of dark mystery, and was sorry to set it aside once I'd drained the story from it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    wow!!!

    great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1