Customer Reviews for

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Filled with fleshed out characters and intrigue this is sure to make my top ten list for 2012.

The tale begins when we meet eighteen year old Celaena Sardothien. She is Ardarlan’s most feared Assassin. The world is at war, and Celaena has spent the past year in the deadly salt mines of Endovier. Known for being a brutal prison; most do not last more than a few mo...
The tale begins when we meet eighteen year old Celaena Sardothien. She is Ardarlan’s most feared Assassin. The world is at war, and Celaena has spent the past year in the deadly salt mines of Endovier. Known for being a brutal prison; most do not last more than a few months. Starved and scarred she is summoned and assumes it is for her death. Prince Dorian Havilliard of Adarlan makes her an offer. If she wins the king’s competition for a royal assassin she can gain her freedom. Despite her hatred for the king, she readily accepts the prince’s offer. At Rifthold Castle she trains, makes friends and discovers secrets about herself and the castle. The tale that unfolds kept me riveted. Filled with romance, mystery and danger, I devoured this novel in two evenings. The characters were all fascinating from the cruel and power hungry king to the mysterious Princess Nehemia. Celaena has to be one of my all time favorite protagonists. She is smart, fearless and charming. She can be snarky, quick witted and utterly delightful. Trained from the age of eight she is a deadly weapon and yet she can be completely feminine. Her conversations with the main characters had me laughing aloud. She is complex and I loved seeing all the different sides of her. The novel hints at things to come with Celaena and I cannot wait to see her growth in this series. The Captain of the Guard, Chaol Westfall, is assigned to watch, train, and guard Celaena. He doesn’t trust her in the beginning but their relationship grows. I really connected with him and found him to be noble, sensitive and loyal. The Crown Prince, Dorian Havilliard hasn’t yet learned to stand up to his father. I felt sorry for this quite, sensitive man. Celaena draws him out and allows Maas to reveal the many facets of this would be king. The elements of a love triangle are in place, and I waivered back and forth between the two men. Other characters added to the intrigue, suspense and mystery. Some I adored like Nox and some I loathed like Cain and Lady Kaltain. I seriously wanted to scratch her eyes out more than once..LOL. The world building was fantastic, brilliant and spell-bounding. Maas breathed life into the glass castle, the characters and the world of Adarlan. In a world filled with Fae, witches and magic, the mortal king has outlawed all forms of magic. Celaena is well versed in the Fae and has a healthly fear of them. When she discovers Wyrdmarks around the castle she is intrigued and sets out to learn their meaning. I became swept up in the mystery of these marks and the discoveries she made. Something is brutally killing off the competitors and it doesn’t appear to be human. This adds a great deal of suspense to the tale. I loved the competitions the champions had to endure. I found myself on the edge of my seat as Celaena completed each phase. Maas has done an incredible job of weaving many different plots into a tale that is rich with well fleshed out characters. While this tale doesn’t end on a cliff-hanger, Maas leaves us with enough unanswered questions and suspense to have this reader itching to read book two. I want to thank Bloomsbury Publishing and netGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

posted by kimba88 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Lots and lots of mixed feelings about this book! Okay, let me

Lots and lots of mixed feelings about this book!


Okay, let me start of by saying I love the story line of this book.  There was something about the building of this world that I could see so clearly, especially at the start with the opening scene being at a salt mine....
Lots and lots of mixed feelings about this book!


Okay, let me start of by saying I love the story line of this book.  There was something about the building of this world that I could see so clearly, especially at the start with the opening scene being at a salt mine.  It gave the aura of oppression and of a story just ready to be told.


The whole journey and the events in the castle itself kept me riveted and the pace kept me alert and interested in what was happening around me, especially when the killings started happening.  I liked the whole mythical side to the story and how it was brought out in the plot.  


However, reading Throne of Glass was somewhat bittersweet.  I had an extreme love/hate relationship with all the characters.


Most of all with Celaena  - She was proud of who she was and there was no denying that, but at the same time she was narcissistic and totally full of herself.  Now I know that wasn’t the way she was meant to come across, but every now and then she said something or thought something that made me, well, want to slap her.  Haha, never mind that she could possibly kill me with my own fingernail.  While she was virtually fuming because she couldn’t tell the whole world who she was, I was silently thinking, ‘Don’t be too proud because you’re nothing more a glorified hitman.’  And, what’s really weird is that I didn’t feel that way at all about Ismae from 'Grave Mercy'.  


I think I questioned some of her wisdom too.  Within certain situations of the book, I could see why something was being done and I thought it was pretty smart, but not Celeana.  Because she didn't have anyone going 'ooh I scared.  I am in the presence of a great and powerful murderess...' -cough-'assassin.'  I think the reason I couldn't relate to her was because I didn't know enough of her back story.  I felt that only minimal information was given to the reader and so didn't help with my overall impression of her.


But, there were moments when I could have liked her.  In certain scenes within the book, I saw her softer side and that was the side that made me warm up to her.  She wasn't being selfish or shallow in those times.  She cared about things – like her dog and the princess.    She got hurt easily especially when she felt she had been betrayed.  Maybe she was just a complex character, but I've read other complex characters and they didn't leave me feeling like this.


The guys weren't quite as bad, but they were bad enough.  I hated how they seemed to lose a sense of themselves with Celaena.  Can't we have one book, just one, where ALL characters remain true to themselves?  And why do we have to have these love triangles?!  Why can't a girl just be left alone, or have the relationship develop over time - to ONE boy?  You can build romantic tension with just one boy.  You don't need two.  I think another thing that got to me was I never even got a sense on why each boy fell for Celaena.  No legit reason!  None! 


I must seem like I'm ranting and I guess I am in a way.  But, I was just so disappointed in a story that could have been so much better than what it was.  That's not to say that I won't go on to read the sequel, because I will.  I want to see what happens in the world Sarah J. Maas created.  I want to know more about Celaena and what drives her.  I want to see what happens to the Rulers, the princess and the people, including Elena's purpose. 


Overall, I thought the book was okay.  I didn't hate the book, but I didn't like it that much either.  It was just okay.  I would recommend this to anyone who likes action, love triangles, female assassins and fantasy.  


Book review by Sandy from Magical Manuscripts.

posted by sandyemerson on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    very much enjoyed

    it was not what i was accepting. But it was still a very good book. The way that it was written was different from the books i've read for he past few weeks but it was still really good It did have that whole 3-love triangle crap but it wasn't annoying (yeah!!) The action was very well played out it reminded me of a Hunger Games/Game of Thrones sort of thing and since i loved them both i loved the book :) :) Can't wait for the next one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Hunger gamesy

    I onlyv, give it 4 stars because it was waaaaaaay too hunger gamesey. Am I the only one who felt that way? Anyhoo...
    loved it!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Audio: 4.5 Stars I've been on an audiobook binge this year and I

    Audio: 4.5 Stars
    I've been on an audiobook binge this year and I'm happy to say, this one (along with it's sequel, Crown of Midnight) is one of the best on the market. Everyone involved makes this an entertaining experience, especially Elizabeth Evans, who does a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life and giving them each their own distinct "voice".

    Story: 3.75 Stars
    I'm not a huge fan of fantasy, but there are a few books that have been able to change my mind, and Throne of Glass is one of them.

    What I Liked: The writing, world-building and overall story. Celaena wasn't at all what I was expecting. Instead of being this hardened assassin whose closed off emotionally, she's smart, witty, and---kind. Her love of all things shiny and girly made her more endearing (to me, anyway) and I enjoyed watching how she interacted with the other characters. Particularly Dorian and Chaol. (I'm glad I had the audio for the correct name pronunciations otherwise I would have messed them up royally.)

    The pacing of the story felt a bit slow at first, and I wasn't crazy about the idea of a potential love triangle. Once I reached the end though, it was clear that Throne of Glass is the stage setter for the books that follow. Like a calm before the storm and I was REALLY glad I had the next book on deck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Don't read iif you don't like spoiler!!

    OMG!!! This book is wonderful!! If you want a book with like 20 twists and turns, this is the book for you. I love that it has murder/assasin, romance, and thrill in it! I totally think fthough that Choal and Celena should be together, I mean I kinda like Dorian, but i think Xhoal is sooo much better!At the very end when you find out who is really doing the wyrdmarks though it really changes alot! This story has so many twists and turns you'll be asking for even more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book. It reminds me a little of The Vampire Academy, nice plot did not bored me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    This summer I was bored because I had a lot of free time but no

    This summer I was bored because I had a lot of free time but not a lot to do in that free time. I decided I needed to get some new books to use up the time. I got several new books and one of them was Throne of Glass. The back of the book interested me when I was in the bookstore and I decided to buy and read it.

    If you like a strong female role in a book, the killing off your competitors like in The Hunger Games, the love triangle from Twilight, and medieval times then you will like Throne of Glass. A fantasy, action, and romance book where a girl named Celaena Sardothien’s parents were killed and she was taken in by the top assassin in the kingdom of Adarlan. She was trained and became the deadliest assassin only second to her mentor before she was captured by the government, at age 17, and sent to the mines, where the prisoners work until you die or you die of starvation and disease. 

    The King is cruel and heartless man who outlawed all magic. Anything magic related was burned, including people. Then the King thought he wanted a champion and decided to make a competition of getting a champion. He let each lord in the area and his son pick a criminal to enter into the competition.The prince picks Celaena to be his entry into the competition and the story starts. Under an alias of being a jewel thief named Lillian Gordaina, she tries not to draw attention to herself in the competition. She makes makes a few friends including a foreign princess secretly helping the rebels trying to take down this country. She also gets in a love triangle with the prince and the Captain of the Guard, who happens to be the prince’s childhood friend. Soon competitors in the competition are found sacrificed brutally in the servants hallways and Celaena must find out who it is and stop them before she becomes on the the sacrificed competitors.  

    Throne of Glass doesn’t have very many bad parts but there is one big one. The biggest problem is the fact that this is a action, fantasy and romance book with little romance. Celaena doesn’t choose between either Prince Dorian or the captain of the guard, Chaol. She doesn’t really go on dates with both boys, she just does things with them like walks with Chaol, and late night talks with Dorian. She likes both guys and at the end she doesn’t have a favorite. At the end of most books with romance in them, the person usually has a person they like more than the other or you can tell who with the two options is going to pick. In Throne of Glass, you as the reader can’t tell who she is going to pick even at the end of the book.

    What the book lacks in romance it makes up in drama and action. There is rarely a dull moment in the book and has some page turning twists. The King is not the only bad guy in the story, there is also Cain a fellow competitor, and Kaltain. Cain is a competitor in the competition who is the most likely to win the competition due to his expertise in fighting and is a very intimidating man. He also found out Celaena’s secret of not being a jewel thief from a border kingdom and he likes to make Celaena work so that h secret doesn’t come out.  Kaltain is a noble girl who is after the crown and the prince and will do anything to get it. She thinks that Celaena is after the prince, so Kaltain thinks of a way to get rid of Celaena. 

    Overall I think that Throne of Glass is a great book. I would give it a four out of five stars. There are two more books in the series currently, other than the few short stories that led up to where Celaena was starting in Throne of Glass. I have started the second book and I am already hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    Celaena is a young female assassin who has an eye for fashion and now convicted felon. In order to escape the life of slavery and win her freedom, she must compete to the death to become the King's Champion, the very man who imprisoned her. I laughed and cried with Celaena. I also found myself wanting to shake her for her (although somewhat understandable) selfishness, I truly enjoyed seeing her change and grow-up some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    This was a strange book for me. I fully expected to love it, but

    This was a strange book for me. I fully expected to love it, but when I started reading, it struck me as cliche and cheesy. Some things stayed that way through the whole book, but as the story progressed I found myself liking it more. The more immersed into the world I became, the more the characters grew on me. It doesn't get very intense until the last 100 pages or so. Most of the book is spent developing the characters, setting up the world, and dabbling in romance.

    The romance was the one part of the book that irritated me almost all the way through. Regardless, I enjoyed the rest of the story and particularly liked Celaena's friendship with Nehemia and Nox. I liked the mystery around the dark power lurking in the castle, and I enjoyed the competition between the Champions. I really liked the relationship that developed between Celaena and Chaol. He was one of my favorite characters and I really hope to see more of him in the next book.

    The second half of the book found me turning pages late into the night. The ending was spectacular. I loved the last chapters.

    Content: There is some kissing and innuendo, some language, and some violence. Recommended for ages 14+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    I highly recommended it.

    This is a story that grabs you and holds on. i could not put it down.

    Sarah does an outstand job of creating the charcaters and the world they live in. The only draw back is that i have to wait fro the next book, i want to read it now....

    This is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Liked it!

    I really enjoyed this book, but there was some things that kept me from giving it a five.
    First I wasn't a big fan of how full Celaena was of her self.
    She would always think things like, "I could totally take all these People down and escape,.but she never did anything.
    Near the End of the book she did more fighting, At the begging she didn't seem so dangerous as she bragged.

    Something I liked was how much I could see what was going on. She described the world very well. I also liked The Ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Good story

    Much meatier than anticipated, not overly stereotypical for the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    unique series

    this series wasn't anything like I thought it was going to be. It was so much better at first I couldn't relate to the main character she seemed like a lot of talk and nothing to back it up but boy did that change quickly. the series sped up and I found myself hooked couldn't stop til I finished it fantastic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Great book!

    In the beginning it seemed a bit odd to me. A mix between feeling like a slave would never respond to people that held control over her life and when they came to the castle it reminded me of beauty and the beast.

    It didn't take long for the story to become its own and I'm very happy that I didn't give up on the book. It has a very unique and fantastic story, and I'm getting the next book in the series right now! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Pretty good read

    Its kind of a cross between Hunger games and Kiera Cass's The Selection series with an assasin twist thrown in. Definetly worth your time if you like liked either series. Keep reading book lovers!,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    I wasn't sure what to make of this book at first, but it was a surprisingly good read that I couldn't put down. Celeana is a reluctant heroine in a great story and I can't wait to find out more about her and her ultimate destiny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good read

    Good read. You really get into the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start

    This was a really good read. Been wanting to read this when I first read the summary. The writing was good, the pace while good was a little slow at times. The maybe, sort of, I guess you can say love triangle is there. But its a little different. Meaning that you kind of like the three. My favorite being the Captain of the Guard, Chaol. Dorian wasn't that bad either. Celaena was an interesting and fun character. At times you're kind of like, is she serious, they have good reason to help (when it came to hiding her real identity, controlling her temper, only to have her not seeing why this is a good idea and only wanting to show off, be the best, a little arrogant and what not). Face palmed most of those scenes during those. By the end, she's not as arrogant, I guess. Her backstory however was just sad. There's references to the prequels which I haven't read so I was a little confused. It was kind of obvious who was the killer and what not. Still liked reading the book, as the suspense unfolded near the end. The fight scenes I liked a little better tthan the romance and found myself while liking it, wanted to read more about her training and what not. And moments with Chaol. Don't get me wrong I like romance in books and all, and would rather not be the main focus but hinted at. A good start and curious as to what will happen to Celaena and her new found friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I had no idea what I was letting myself in for with this book, b

    I had no idea what I was letting myself in for with this book, but oh my goodness, I could never have guessed I would enjoy it as much as I have! Whatever I was expecting, it wasn’t this. I’ll admit it took me about seventy or so pages to get used to Celaena’s character and for the story to grip me, but once I got into it, there was no turning back or putting it down until I was done. I was hooked until the end. From page hundred onwards, I tore through this book and begged for it not to end.

    At first, I didn’t care much for Celaena’s character. She was too rude and juvenile for my liking. After a couple of chapters and further into the story, I got to know and understand Celaena better and realized that what I mistook for rudeness and immaturity, is actually Celaena being defiant; and taking her past into account, even bold. How else would an assassin behave after spending two years in a death camp? Three things I really loved about Celaena are how her character grew throughout the story, her sense of humor, and the fact that she literally kicks butt without batting an eyelash. No weepy drama queen to be found in this stunning novel. Another admirable trait about Celaena’s character is when she gets the living daylights beaten out of her, she’s more concerned about the feelings of the people she cares about, than her own injuries. In short, she’s an assassin with a heart. Enough said.

    I’m glad I didn’t know in advance that there would be a love-triangle in this book, or I might not have read it. But, I’ll be honest, this love-triangle fitted perfectly into the plot and isn’t an irritatingly angsty sort of love-triangle. It actually adds a lot to the story and makes it way more interesting. You see, unlike armloads of books I’ve read where the love-triangle fuels the plot; this is a story where the two male protagonists don’t fall in love with the heroine right away. It develops gradually over time and by the end you’re still not hundred percent sure whether one of the two is really in love with Celaena, even though there are a lot of indications that he might be. Or maybe he only has a soft spot for her? I love books that don’t force the reader to instantly fall in love with one of its main characters! And because this is the first book in the series, I’m curious to know who Celaena will choose: charming, generous Prince Dorian, or the strong but aloof Captain of the King’s Guard, Chaol.

    In terms of world building, there isn’t much to be seen outside of the glass castle. A detailed world map of Erilea is presented to the reader at the start of the story, but the reader is only told about certain parts of Erilea by means of its history, Celaena’s past and a few rumors of the king of Adarlan’s whereabouts. The inside of the castle, where most of the story takes place, is a vast world on its own and this backdrop is vividly described in colorful detail to make the reader feel right at home. The most exciting parts which had shivers running down my spine were the times Celaena ventured into the forgotten passageways and secret rooms beneath the castle; as well as the epic, but terrifying confrontation with the monstrous ridderak – a nightmarish beast. Endless twists abound in this fantastical story of ancient legends, forbidden magic, dark powers and unimaginable horrors.

    Throne of Glass was an awesome surprise and worth every hour it took me to finish this book. Maas is no Tolkien or George R.R. Martin, but she holds her own with an exceptionally imaginative endeavor into the fantasy genre and her precise writing and to-the-point dialogue makes this a memorable read suitable for readers aged thirteen and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Wow!

    This was an awesome book (so was the novellas)! It is brutal for a teen book which I loved! The main character is so perceptive and deep. Well developed! A+!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3