Customer Reviews for

Throne of Jade (Temeraire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Throne of Jade

    One of the things I enjoy most about reading is getting the sense that time is just pausing and that everything around you - the noise and chaos just falls away. Then, when you are deepest into the story and your imagination is filled with the incredible things being described and you can hear the voices of the characters and the sounds of the cities or oceans or landscapes they are in... the author drops a simple little comical thing that tips everything over the edge and you end up laughing hysterically because <i>that is life</i>.

    Throne of Jade is the journey of Temeraire the dragon and Captain Laurence to China. Temeraire is a special breed of dragon, a dragon given only to Emperors and their descendents, yet this lowly Captain, originally of His Majesty's Naval Force, is the one Temeraire has chosen. The book begins with a trial and an attempt to separate these two personalities that feed off of each other.

    Most of the story takes place on the sea with the fierce battles I've now come to expect of Novik and the fascinating historical descriptions. Everything is treated so carefully that sometimes I find myself wondering at how easy it would be to imagine Napoleon astride his own dragon, leading the French to war against England.

    But in the midst of battle and death, of polities and intrigue there is heart, emotion and laughter. From a comical moment in which a man spits a fish out of his mouth during the heat of battle to Temeraire falling in love when it was.. most inopportune, I found myself smiling and feeling the release of the tension that had been building up and I was able to fall even more deeply into the story.

    This was a beautifully written, well-paced story and I'm very much looking forward to book 3.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    A Fan

    Book 1 made me a Temeraire fan. Book 2 sealed the deal. While at first glance the premise of the Napoleanic wars being faught with the use of dragons sounds far fetched, you begin to believe it when you read Ms. Novik's books. I was quickly drawn into book 1 by the personalities of the dragons and the humans who use them. If you are a fan of either fantasy or military genre, you'll be a fan of Temeraire very quickly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Good but Slow

    I liked this book it is a very good dragon book with a very good plot. The only part about this book that I don't like is that it is very slow especially when Temeraire and Laurence are at sea. Once they get to China the plot is really good. When I finished this book I definately wanted to read the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    great fantasy

    The Chinese leadership is irate that not only does upstart Englishman Will Laurence bond until death with a rare Chinese Celestial Dragon Temeraire he turned the intellectual dragon into a war beast of burden. Not wanting an incident with China as they already are at war with France, the British Admiralty Board acquiesces to the demands of Yongxing, brother to the Chinese Emperor and orders Will to separate from his soulmate. An irate Will refuses risking arrest and death. The English bureaucracy sees an escape for them without alienating the Chinese Emperor they send Will and Temeraire to China for a final disposition. --- On the treacherous sea voyage, monsters lurk, but to Will the most dangerous one is the sly Yongxing, who educates Temeraire on the life he missed as a venerated Celestial Dragon in the Forbidden City while teaching the dragon to speak and write Chinese. Will is perturbed by Yongxing¿s action, but can do little except trust his soulmate to stay with him. Yongxing also arranges for accidents to happen to Will for the Emperor¿s horrified brother believes the westerner mistreats this special dragon by using Temeraire in combat, but also sees the dragon as an opportunity to further his personal ambitions. --- THRONE OF JADE is a great fantasy that complements the tremendous first novel, HIS MAJESTY¿S DRAGON, as the story line cleverly explores human-dragon relationships and de jure and de facto inequality and injustice. Will and Temeraire debate the dragon lifestyle in England after seeing the abusive ugly slave trade on the West African coast and compare England to China where dragons reside freely in towns. Even Will begins to reassess whether his mate would be better off in China where Celestial Dragons are revered and other dragons treated with respect as equals. This cerebral emotional theme enhances a powerful action-packed tale in exotic locations. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Jade

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    John to girl

    Go up a res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Dvnaer

    XvsfXfyeusdsy xsgrq cbdfbcqe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    A new kind of dragon to enjoy.

    Excellent, enjoying the series. Love the dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Back in March I read the first two books in the Temeraire series

    Back in March I read the first two books in the Temeraire series very close together. In fact I had barely finished the first one before I started the second one and I was so surprised that I did that because I don't do it very often.

    When I first started Throne of Jade I was both excited and nervous. I was excited because I had loved the first book so much and I was nervous because I loved it so much and wanted it to keep up the momentum which can sometimes drop off when it comes to a second book in a series but I was so relieved to see that this wasn't the case with this novel at all.

    This novel follows the growing juvenile dragon Temeraire and his keeper Captain Laurence as they travel by sea back to China the so-called rightful homeland as per request of both the Chinese and British Governments. Full of deception, heartbreak, joy, betrayal and of course copious amounts of adventure the author's writing really came together in this one.

    Throne of Jade was full of plot twists with political undercurrents that made it a very intriguing and consuming read. Poor Mr. Turning the Pages was neglected for the couple of days that I spent reading the first two books in this series and I think he grew rather tired of me talking about talking dragons, months long sea voyages and battles with sea creatures. Throne of Jade was just one of those books that I had to talk about because it was so detailed and complex.

    While I was pleased to see that the plot was so cohesive and detailed I was even more ecstatic to see that the characters of Will and Temeraire were growing and evolving so well. It was awesome to see their personalities coming out more and especially in the case of Temeraire as he along with Will were presented with some tough situations that have the potential to cause severe repercussions for not only the two of them but both the nations of England and China.

    Overall, with all the new plot twists that were throne in, the story line was fantastic and I really enjoyed the descriptive way Naomi Novik described the scenes in her book especially when it came to China and the dragon's living there. It was a fantastic follow up to His Majesty's Dragon and I can't wait to read the third book in this fantastic series.

    I would recommend this book to all those who read and enjoyed the first book in the series His Majesty's Dragon. If you haven't read the first book in the series I highly suggest doing so especially if you have a penchant for talking dragons, adventure, alternative history and well developed stories that are equally character and plot driven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Believable, touching and beautifully written. Definitely as out

    Believable, touching and beautifully written. Definitely as outstanding as the first in the series, maybe even more so. The pacing is exceptional and the flow is amazing. Throne of Jade grips your emotions and will not let go until you reach the end, leading you through all the twists and turns of Novik's loveable characters. I look forward to reading the next books in the series! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    Confused, Implausible Plot

    Not as engaging as the first book of the series, this story of Temeraire the dragon has a more confused and implausible plot, and an anticlimactic ending with a few loose ends. As with the first book, it is well-written and well-edited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable and fast paced.

    The first book had me hooked and wasn't sure if the second could keep me interested but the storyline is so completely different but just as exciting as the first. So glad she has written several more books so the adventures can continue...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    easy read

    An easy read, but not as good as the 1st in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Throne Of Jade By karen

    Great second book, i have been reading this book over and over i cannot seem to put it down, i am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awsome

    very well written just couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well-written but not as good as the first

    I began this series when B&N offered His Majetsy's Dragon as a free eBook. This is an interesting concept that revisits the Napoleonic Wars and makes dragons one of the crucial weapons in deciding the outcome. What makes the concept more enjoyable and interesting is that the dragons are individuals with unique personalities just like their human counterparts. They brood, get excited, get scared, celebrate and mourn. They each approach life and their challenges differently and succeed or fail due to the fabric of their character. They are so human-like in their personalities that, at times, you have to remind yourself that you are dealing with a dragon.

    What made the initial book more than just a pure beach-read was its exploration of the differences between duty and liberty. In this book, the concept of duty takes an enormous backseat. This book removes the two main characters from England and the Napoleonic Wars and places them in China. While there is an occasional discussion of duty, there reaplly is a focus on liberty, with an assumption that duty is not nearly as important. In other words, it seems to answer the question, rather than allowing the reader to think through whether there even is an answer to which is more important. Does serving ones duty protect liberty? Is duty at the cost of liberty worth it? These are great, difficult questions that we all should wrestle with and they get lost in this book.

    Also, the author tends to set up interesting conflicts and then ignore that they happened, rather than resolve them. The fight between the drgaon captain and the ship's captain simply vanishes. Fairly unrealistic when it involves insults to one of theri families. The question of whether the dragon should feel badly about killing the sea monster likewise simply vanishes without adequate exploration.

    The writing is excellent, which helps the reader get through the periods of the book that otherwise drag. Long strecthes at sea with nothing to break up the monotony are actually beautifully crafted and a pleasure to read.

    In short, while this is a well-writtn book, I am not running out to read the next one as I was once I finished the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Throne of Jade

    This is the second of the series and is just as gripping as the first, Picks up where she left off in "His Majesty's Dragon" and the plot thickens, I have to admit I was skeptical with the first book, The time period in history is accurate and the story flows flawlessly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Engrossing,

    Love the book, love the series. Naomi Novik writes in style that is quick and easy to read, yet conveys the flavor of Napoleonic times. The story is action packed, yet the characters are well developed and realistic. The action takes place on an alternate earth where large dragons are used in warfare along with muskets and cannon, so the book isn't for everyone, but if you like dragons and have some interest in the napoleonic era, I think you will like the book. In this second book, Temeraire travels to China and picks up many revolutionary ideas to bring back to England while he and Laurence barely manage to stay alive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe Even Better Than the First

    I loved Novik's first entry in this series, His Majesty's Dragon. Her books are kinda a smash up of Horatio Hornblower (age of sail, Napoleonic wars) and Anne McCaffrey (dragons!) but with its own individual twists that make it like no other. What stood out to me in the first book was that she made dragons have just as much (or more) personality or intellect as any of the human characters. In "Throne of Jade" she expands on that by letting us see a sophisticated society of dragons integrated into 19th century China. The personal and cultural clashes are done well with a tightly written action-adventure that didn't let me up for a moment until I found myself at the end of the book and pinning for more--I'm glad there's more to be had. It certainly made me want to read the next book in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Second book in a great series

    I highly reccomend all of the books in the Temeraire series- they are so addicting! I bought the first one on general positive reviews (Napoleonic Wars! With dragons!) and the moment I finished it I ordered the next four and read all of those in breathless succession. I have not regretted this for an instant, even in the slower parts, and I am now restlessly anticipating the sixth book. All lovers of history, fantasy, war stories, or just plain interesting reading need to read these books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22