Customer Reviews for

Through Her Eyes

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This is one book that is totally different from the very start. Filled with a great love ghost story that is sort of twisted, it had me on the edge of my seat. Tansy has moved to a new town with new home that has secret. a secret that her Grandfather has been holding for many years. As Tansy finds clues in the house, she begins to unravel a secret that is pulling her in deeper and deeper into the past.


    Now this is the type of plot I love. A plot so good it pulls you in, literally. Tansy is a great character. I loved her spirit of adventure. As she found clues she let it take her in. It allowed the reader to read into the clues and see them as she does. Tansy doesn't hold back and if anything, she goes further than she has to. She helped her grandfather say what need to be said.


    I like the great mysterious of this book. With every page, the reader gets clues only to suck you in further. As the reader gets into the clues you find yourself super excited to learn to big secret. The way Ms. Archer wrote the buildup is great. It had me at the edge of the seat, biting my nails.


    Now the love interest is most definitely a unique one that I rarely see. This love interest involved a real person and a ghost. I though it was interesting the way Tansy fell for him but also feel for the other guy. It was like they were one and the same. I also like how well it connected both of them to find the clues and discovery what really happen.


    Through Her Eyes, is a great book that allows the reader to really see through her eyes. It was a super good, mysterious read that had you read each line faster and faster. Hauntingly beautiful, I know that once you pick up this book it would be one you would never forget.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Original Ghost Story

    Tansy Piper is not happy about moving to Cedar Canyon, Texas. The small, podunk hometown of her grandfather does not suit her at all. But when her mother, an author of horror novels, decides to move there to help with the setting of her new book, Tansy has no choice but to go. Tansy has been carted around by her flighty mother for most of her life since her father and grandmother were killed in an automobile accident. Now, she and her grandfather are carted around from city to city, settling only long enough for her mother to finish writing, before being uprooted again.

    Lately Tansy's grandfather (Papa Dan) has grown distant, no longer speaks and seems to have slipped off into his own world. Moving to his hometown seems to have added to his troubles. When they move in to the old house where an old classmate of Papa Dan's once lived, Tansy notices some changes in her grandfather. The boy, Henry, was troubled and it is rumored that he committed suicide when he was younger. The house is supposedly haunted by his spirit, and though Tansy doesn't necessarily believe in ghosts upon her arrival, her mind is soon changed. She begins seeing old scenes play out whenever she lifts her camera to her eye. A mysterious nightengale seems to call to her every night, and there's something going on in the old cellar outside the house. Who (or what) does she see out there? As Tansy grows more and more involved with Henry's story, she finds herself losing her grip on her own life. Is she going crazy, or is Henry really trying to take her away?

    Jennifer Archer provides plenty of suspense throughout the book, and enough twists to keep the reader guessing. This is a different type of ghost story. It's more than just things going bump in the night. I liked that it was non-conventional. Her characters are well developed and though the set-up is one we've seen many times before (awkward teen girl, doesn't fit in, feels isolated) she handles it in a way that makes it feel fresh. The book wasn't as creepy as I'd hoped, but it is original. It will definitely have you thinking about it long after the final page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    O-O

    This book sounds WAY too scary for me! However if u r not easily scared this us a great read for u!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Go, jennifer archer!

    I havent read this book yet, but i have read another book by this author: the shadow girl. That was an awesome book, and from the reviews, was set up very similar to this one. Im 13 years old and a total book nerd, and i think that jennifer archer is a great author, so this book should be good, and im ready recommending it to people about my age or older

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    good book

    It was a good book but i did not like the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good book

    1 of the best books for gohst stories, breathe and crossroads r also really well writen good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    i read this book and thought it to be "Exceptional". i

    i read this book and thought it to be "Exceptional". if your looking for a book to read to unravel a mystery and throw in a little romance on the way, this would be perfect for you! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    Awesome book, im 13 and love to read. I really recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Crepy

    I cnt wait to read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Fantastic

    This book was intersting but at times very slow. What i really like about it though is that you really understand tansy and all that she goes through throughout this paranormal adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy and imaginative!

    Through Her Eyes was a fantastically written story! The writing was easy and flowed and hooked me from page one. I loved the suspense and mystery weaved throughout. I was always on edge and couldn't stop reading to discover the next piece of the puzzle!

    Tansy Piper's mom, a famous horror author, moves their family (Tansy, her mom, and her Papa Dan) around often enough that Tansy has learned not to trust anyone and shields herself to any connections. Just when Tansy thought she's had the best friend ever, they up and move again. She struggles with leaving her friend behind, but her friend soon betrays her and Tansy realizes just why she shouldn't trust.

    I loved Tansy from the moment I met her. She had a quality about her that was real. Although she struggles with fitting in and getting along with the few kids in the tiny town of Cedar Canyon, Texas, she's seems to be content as long as she has the strange tokens from the past-a pocket watch, a poetry journal, and a crystal-that she found in the property's cellar.

    Tansy likes to take photographs and she discovers a 'world' behind the lens of her camera and soon finds her self thrust into the mind and past life of Henry, a troubled teen who resided at the same house Tansy just moved into. She becomes determined to work out the puzzle and clear the rumors about what has been said about Henry and his death.

    There was also a couple more characters that I absolutely loved. Bethyl Ann, for one, is a Shakespeare freak and a genius. Bethyl Ann is just as determined to figure out what really happened with Henry and help Tansy figure out what's going on with her. Then there is Tate. Tate is kind of a hot and cold case that just gets off on the wrong foot, but Tansy can't help but to feel attracted to him and beats herself up for it.

    The romance was light and at times I thought it was a bit weird. I was definitely a fan of the love interest in Tansy's real life, though! Overall, you MUST read Through Her Eyes! Its a great story of sadness, anger, happiness, suspense, and finding out the truth no matter what.

    Review based on ARC copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Ghost Story With a Contemporary Feel To It

    Through Her Eyes starts off strong with the likable Tansy Piper, her slightly eccentric writer mom, and quiet, but sweet Papa Dan. Their move to a small town puts Tansy in the position of being the new girl at school, alone, and different from everyone. Anyone can relate to her feelings of being an outsider. I liked Tansy right away because she is who she is and makes no apologies for it. So she doesn't mind walking around with her camera, taking photos of everything, and wearing her Papa Dan's old hats.

    The first third of the book has a very creepy feel to it and I wish that had lingered as well throughout the entire novel. The poetry in the journal, along with the nightingale that only Tansy hears and her sudden trips into a black and white world, make this new town and this new house very eerie. The teens in the black and white world are all-engrossing, especially Henry, the boy whose house Tansy now resides in. Henry is a creep. His dark eyes and violent attitude are captivating, but terrifying at the same time. Tansy's draw to him is understandable.

    Once Tansy begins 'falling into' Henry's world, she starts to become less her and more the girl she falls into, Isabel. This is where the story should pick up, but it actually feels more like a lull - a bit too drawn out, but still enjoyable. Each trip to Henry's world brings Tansy's own a little more out of focus, to the point where she debates which one to stay in. On top of all this time slip stuff, are some wonderful characters. The secondary characters are a joy to know. There's the brainy, 13 year old wunderkind, Bethyl Ann 'Stinky' Pugh, the hot and cold Tate, Tansy's mother, both the Papa Dan of the present and the Daniel of the past, and characters like straight A-Allison, Rooster Boy, and beer for breakfast Shanna. They're all nicely placed and have purpose in the story.

    Through Her Eyes is a uniquely creepy ghost story with a time slip nature and some engrossing characters. Jennifer Archer brings both her characters and the plot full circle, and does so in one novel. No sequels, no continuations of the story. In a time when nearly all YA books become a series, I was delighted to read such a strong standalone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2