Customer Reviews for

Through Stone and Sea (Noble Dead Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Crowd Pleaser

This is one of my all-time favorite series, and I think if anything . . . the writing just keeps getting better.

I liked Wynn and Chane from their first entrances "on screen" back in THIEF OF LIVES, so I was pleased when the Hendees announced that these two character...
This is one of my all-time favorite series, and I think if anything . . . the writing just keeps getting better.

I liked Wynn and Chane from their first entrances "on screen" back in THIEF OF LIVES, so I was pleased when the Hendees announced that these two characters were getting their own trilogy. But this is a saga, so these books simply build upon the larger story, and I read on Barb's blog that she and JC have just signed on for three more books after this trilogy--to continue the saga. I'm hoping Magiere, Leesil, and Chap will return.

But THROUGH STONE AND SEA is a wonderful novel. Again, the writing is just top notch. The main characters are deep and complex, and even the side characters jump off the page as "real." I was so interested to see how the entire culture of the dwarves was developed here, and I haven't read any other fantasy novels that take place in a dwarven city, so this was new ground for me--and it was quite fun.

My only possible criticism--or maybe caution--would be that until this novel, I think any reader could have picked up one of the books in the series and understood the overall arc of the larger plot developing. As this novel is the eighth in the series, I'm not sure someone could come in at this point and understand everything without having read a few of the previous books.

But it's still an amazing and entertaining read.

posted by Mira-Rose on February 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good build up to suspense, just never delivers it.

I liked reading the Noble Dead series, but the Hendees need to stop developing the story and start getting to the action. In their latest book "Through Stone and Sea", the authors spend too much time getting to anything dramatic. Yes the drama, when it finally arrived...
I liked reading the Noble Dead series, but the Hendees need to stop developing the story and start getting to the action. In their latest book "Through Stone and Sea", the authors spend too much time getting to anything dramatic. Yes the drama, when it finally arrived, was good but way to brief. This seems to be a problem with many of their books in the Noble Dead Series. Too much time is spent building up the final scene, and when the final scene arrives, its way to short and lacking in anything substantive with respect to the storyline. The authors spend way to much time developing characters and ideas.

The pace needs to pick up with the next book or I'm going to abandon this series.

posted by CraigInMaumee on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Crowd Pleaser

    This is one of my all-time favorite series, and I think if anything . . . the writing just keeps getting better.

    I liked Wynn and Chane from their first entrances "on screen" back in THIEF OF LIVES, so I was pleased when the Hendees announced that these two characters were getting their own trilogy. But this is a saga, so these books simply build upon the larger story, and I read on Barb's blog that she and JC have just signed on for three more books after this trilogy--to continue the saga. I'm hoping Magiere, Leesil, and Chap will return.

    But THROUGH STONE AND SEA is a wonderful novel. Again, the writing is just top notch. The main characters are deep and complex, and even the side characters jump off the page as "real." I was so interested to see how the entire culture of the dwarves was developed here, and I haven't read any other fantasy novels that take place in a dwarven city, so this was new ground for me--and it was quite fun.

    My only possible criticism--or maybe caution--would be that until this novel, I think any reader could have picked up one of the books in the series and understood the overall arc of the larger plot developing. As this novel is the eighth in the series, I'm not sure someone could come in at this point and understand everything without having read a few of the previous books.

    But it's still an amazing and entertaining read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good build up to suspense, just never delivers it.

    I liked reading the Noble Dead series, but the Hendees need to stop developing the story and start getting to the action. In their latest book "Through Stone and Sea", the authors spend too much time getting to anything dramatic. Yes the drama, when it finally arrived, was good but way to brief. This seems to be a problem with many of their books in the Noble Dead Series. Too much time is spent building up the final scene, and when the final scene arrives, its way to short and lacking in anything substantive with respect to the storyline. The authors spend way to much time developing characters and ideas.

    The pace needs to pick up with the next book or I'm going to abandon this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Better than the last

    The last one was slow but this one made it worth reading the prior. Very good book just like rest :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love it Love it Love it

    I love to read this series. It is very entertaining and I just can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great continuation of the series

    If you enjoyed the rest of the noble dead series you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A thoroughly good read

    This book flowed effortlessly from the previous book. Wynn, Chane, and Shade get into one escapade after another in her quest to discover what was in the documents from the lost library that would cause a murderous rampage by a spectre. At times, you want to shake Wynn and ask her what she is thinking though. The book was engrossing and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another good story in an original series

    These authors produce interesting story lines and deliver a good story consistently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Writing

    I read a lot of fantasy books - but RARELY anything with vampires. But I saw that the writers are teachers so figured the writing had to be good. I've not been disappointed with any of their books. Great charcters, great writing and I love the mystery-type storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another book in a successful franchise

    As noted in "CONS", I have felt at times the author is stretching the series into more books to keep a franchise going. Still overall, a read I look forward to...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Series

    Nice story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good series

    Good series, some plot lines that are not expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    Outstanding Series

    Through Stone and Sea is another superb installment in the Noble Dead Series. I can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book two of second series epic vampire adventure.

    I loved the first series and I think I am loving this series even more! The characters are wonderful. There is no good stopping point... you just want to keep reading till the end. Book two starts right where the first book left off and it is very easy to get right back into the story. If you haven't read these books, this series deals with a cleric and the noble dead who is in love with her. Not at ALL a sappy love story, though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Good book

    I loved the story, though it was a little slow at first. Getting to know more about the Wraith was particularly appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Expectations!!!!!!

    I just read the first two chapters of the book on there website nobledead.com and it was really good lloks like this book is going to be a great addition to my noble dead saga section of my bookshelf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating quest fantasy

    Wynn Hygeorht returned to the Guild of Sagecraft in Calm Seatt expecting a heroine's welcome due to the copies she made of arcane texts written by vampires during the time of the Forgotten History and the Great War, millennia ago. Instead of being one of the translators, she is ignored as the highest rank of scholars rejects her thesis that Noble Dead Vampires exist (see In Shade and Shadow).

    The Guild Scholars continue to translate the incredible find while also sending them to be copied at selected scriptoriums. Two sages go to pick up the work, but are murdered. The belief is that the Stonewalker dwarves are behind the assassinations and thefts. Wynn, accompanied by the Noble Dead Chane and Shade the elven wolf, as both feel a deep heart felt need to keep her safe, treks to the mountain stronghold of the legendary Stonewalkers. There waits them someone from her past, when she quested with Leesil the half human elf and Magiere the half mortal vampire, who has resurfaced from what the heroine and her then allies thought were the permanent grave.

    Stone and Sea is a fascinating entry in the Wynn Noble Dead quest fantasy. The heroine is terrific as she goes on her latest escapades; but is relatively simple compared to Chane and even to a degree Shade. The fast-paced story line grips fans who will relish this super entry that is an adventure unto itself yet sets in motion the next "wynning" exploit.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4