Customer Reviews for

Through Thick & Thin

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A great read!

    Sandra Byrd has once again out-done herself. If it's even possible the second book in her London Confidential Series, Through Thick and Thin, is better than the first. In this book we once again join fifteen-year-old Savvy Smith as she navigates through her new life in England.
    Things are finally beginning to look up for Savvy- she now is the super-secret writer on the schools new advice column 'Asking for Trouble', and it seems that she might be on the verge of finally having a friend. Of course, to everyone else she's still the newspaper delivery girl, and naturally Savvy still wants to see her name on the by-line of an article. So when her almost-friend Penny offers her the chance of a lifetime she grabs at it. However, things don't exactly go as planned, and soon Savvy finds herself at odds with her family and Penny as well, the consequence of her own foolish actions.
    I absolutely loved this book. Not only do you see Savvy once again being her very-human self and learning some new life lessons, but you really can't help but love her for being the person that she is. And although it's painful at times to see her having to learn from her mistakes, it's also encouraging to see how she reacts to her circumstances and becomes a better person for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Wow.

    This book has so many good caricters. My favorites are savvy and penny. All yong teens should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Missing pages

    While this was an amazing book, it was missing multiple pages. This made for a hard to follow book at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Exciting!!!!

    I haven't read this yet (am about buy it as you read this!!!) but I have read the 1st one and am beyond super-excited for this one!!!!! Savvy is smart and actually a tad 'savvy' but she is very curious and knows what she wants. Hopefully this, along with the next 2, will be as amazing as the first one, Asking For Trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Through Thick&Thin Review!

    This book was very exciting and it shows how God moves in mysterios ways. And even when it might seem like it isn't for the better, it is! 15 year old Savvy Smith is faced with an even bigger problem than she expected, and needs to leave something up to her least-favorite girl in school. It all depends on her. If this doesn't go well, it might effect her friendship. Her very first friendship at Wexburg Academy, Wexburg England. Read the book to find out more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Luv It

    Luvin it baby!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    An Epic must read

    This book was a really good follow up for Sandra's first book in the series. It has the same kind of glue you to your seat enchantment that the first book had. This one also finds the reader wanting to find the the next book in the series as quickly as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Byrd Just Keeps Getting Better and Better!

    Sandra's style of writing is at the top of the list...seriously. I love how she can take a seemingly ordinary story, add a little pinch of quirkiness, and create some of the best books I've read in a long time. Oh, and I failed to mention, ahem....London!

    Even though Through Thick and Thin is a young adult novel (and I've certainly passed that stage in my life), there is something here for everyone regardless of age. In this series, Savvy has to learn to navigate a whole new way of life in a foreign country and a new school to top it off. A tad daunting, right? But ya know, Savvy has got more maturity in her pinky finger than I did when I was her age. Granted, this is fiction, but it's still nice to read about a girl that has some respect for her parents, and knows how to learn from her mistakes.

    And uh, I'm sure it's obvious that I can't wait to read the rest of this series! If you've never checked out any of Sandra's books, the perfect one to start with would be Let Them Eat Cake for an adult novel, or book one of this series, Asking for Trouble, for a young adult novel. Either way, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Second in a Series, but better than the first

    This is the second book in the series, and it was just as good. In fact, better because I already knew the characters. It was a fast paced fun read and would be great for any teenager. I was surprised the first one didn't have much about God in it since it was published by a Christian imprint. This one had much more in it than the first one.

    I read this in one day and reccommend it to anyone who wants a quick fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series.

    Review by Jill Williamson

    The London Confidential series is where British fashion, friendship, and guys collide, and where an all-American girl learns to love life and live out her faith.

    Savvy's dream is to write a full article in the school newspaper. She comes up with the perfect idea. A fashion show. An even if she manages to score tickets to the illusive event, can she convince her editor to give her a chance to write the article? Savvy is going to have to bend some rules and twist some arms to get things to go her way. Will putting that much strain on her friends and family be worth it?

    I love this series. This is book two in Sandra Byrd's London Confidential series about Seattle native, Savvy Smith, whose family moved to the suburbs of London. She has settled in at her new school and is trying very hard to make friends. Savvy is a lot of fun to read about. I enjoy experiencing high school in a different country where English isn't quite the same. These books are quick reads in a mass market paperback size. They are fun and always get you thinking about the choices you make. If you haven't read them yet, be sure to start with book one. We reviewed it here. These books are great reads for girls 12 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Teen Read

    Book Two in the London Confidential series continues the story of American teen Savannah Smith, whose family now lives in Wexburg, near London, England. It focuses on her work with her school newspaper, which she delivers on campus while maintaining her secret as writer of the advice column. The ordinary struggles of family life add to her conflict. She wants to be noticed and appreciated-who doesn't?

    Savvy makes progress in the friends department and hopes to score her own byline in the paper. She manages to get tickets to a fashion shoot at the Ashley's estate (the top Aristocat-her nickname for the rich, popular girls). Savvy continues to wrestle with making choices and being completely honest. Setbacks offer challenges, but she works to overcome her obstacles and learns valuable lessons along the way, such as how people should be themselves rather than conform just to please others.

    Savvy Smith seems like a typical teen, and the characters all appear quite realistic. I like the way she uses Bible verses for guidance in her writing advice and life. Even as an adult, I was challenged to follow her example. I recommend the book for girls age 10 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1