Customer Reviews for

Through a Glass Darkly

Average Rating 3.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful novel but the Nook version has a lot of typographical errors

I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences ar...
I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences are messed up and make no sense at all, there are other errors as well. I can deal with a few minor errors but this was kind of ridiculous. I feel like they know about it and are selling it as is, anyway. Disappointing and this is the first complaint I have had about any of my Nook purchases. This novel, however, is great as well as its sequels.

posted by 4558623 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

If You Like the Kardashian Saga, You'll LOVE This...

My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started,...
My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started, it would have benefited from a really good editor) can easily be read by me in 4-7 days, if well-written. It took me over 2 weeks, and I almost had to force myself-- I kept falling asleep while reading.

The heroine is a whiny teenager and spends most of her time moping after her True Love, an older wealthy man who initially marries her only for her wealth. After she is disillusioned with her marriage, she embarks on what I thought would be a string of lovers-- sadly, only one, with two one-night stands thrown in (and one of them is barely even described, mentioned only in passing). The great majority of the characters are shallow, silly people, with the exception of one old lady-- the "wise" grandmother of the heroine, who rather than being truly wise was simply meddling, domineering, controlling, and just out-and-out irritating.

The sex scenes read as if they're an afterthought-- as if the publisher advised the author that she'd better add a few "steamy" scenes. Sadly, they're some of the dullest I've ever read, and certainly nothing hot.

Thankfully, this was a freebie from Barnes and Noble, and I have NO interest in reading the sequel. My conclusion? Unless you're a fan of the Kardashians and want to imagine what they'd have been like 3 centuries ago, don't waste your time.

posted by She_Who_Must_Read on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Wonderful novel but the Nook version has a lot of typographical errors

    I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences are messed up and make no sense at all, there are other errors as well. I can deal with a few minor errors but this was kind of ridiculous. I feel like they know about it and are selling it as is, anyway. Disappointing and this is the first complaint I have had about any of my Nook purchases. This novel, however, is great as well as its sequels.

    105 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Liking it, but annoyed with the Nook Book typos, too!

    I have the same issue as the last commenter. I am going to notify customer service. They really should fix it, or discount this book significantly.

    46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    The story itself is very good. I will read the sequel. The Nook

    The story itself is very good. I will read the sequel. The Nook version is littered with typos and incomplete sentences.

    If you like victorian / historical romantic novels, this one is for you.

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    thoroughly enjoyed it...already bought the sequel

    The characters and story line are rich and full. I really connected with them emotionally. Classic historical fiction

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Through a glass perpetually

    First of all this is a really long book! It is still a good book, however in my opinion it took almost half way through for it to get good. I do understand some of why it takes so long inorder for it to pick up speed. You get the feeling of her age, innocense and the resrticitions of an unmarried woman in the first half and then her life changes dramatically once she is married. Be aware that this book is packed full of tragedy, disappointment and is in no way close to a typical love story with happy endings. The ending was good but I felt like I should have been given more for reading such a book that was so sad. Barbara is a very strong character and the others are unforgettable. The arthur put a lot of information in this book and it could have gone in so many directions if she wished to branch off wiht other characters. She could still make a second book with the rest of Barbara's life if she wanted and it would probably make a great book. She may have already (haven't checked on that).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this story, but am having great difficulty reading the No

    I love this story, but am having great difficulty reading the Nook version. The missing ends of sentences and typos hurt the story tremendously. This Nook book should be free or not offered at all! I only paid $5 for it, but it is a great disappointment. I may go to our local library to check out this same book so I can enjoy the rest of the book. Barnes and Nobel needs to fix this. Too bad, as this is a very well written historical novel. I gave this book only four out of five stars due to all the errors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    very risque!!

    Great book! filled with intrigue,incest and lots of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Good, but too long

    I read this book because 1) it was free and 2) it was a best seller and had some good reviews. The story itself was good and I found the characters interesting. However, it was much too long. At least a quarter of the book could be edited out without losing any of the story. I ended up skimming over some parts of the book. That said, I would read a sequel.

    As a Nook book, there are some editing problems. Some places stop in mid sentence and pick up with a completely new paragraph.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Very good, but missing text

    In the first few pages, I was afraid this was a historical romance... not a romance fan. Happy to say I was wrong. Very well written, excellent character development, but text is missing at the end of quite a few of the sections in each chapter. I wonder how much of the story I am missing, and am glad I got it as a freebie. I would be very upset if I had paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    A Historical Soap Opera

    The first half of the book is a real page turner even though it is fairly predictable. Part 2 was a little drawn out, and it took me awhile to put the story back into perspective. I felt the best thing about the book is that it shows how people have been good and bad, scheming and innocent, etc. for all of history -- not just in the modern world. Anyone who reads this story would probably agree that the morals of today are no different than those of the early 1700's as depicted in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    very interesting book

    I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. it was well written & historic. I'd highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Moving

    I was surprised at how good it is! Good character development, some predictable points, but many twists. Truly moving at times. I didnt care for the ending.
    Lots of nook version problems, such as incomplete sentences and missing text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great historical fiction

    I connected with the main character's relationship with her grandmother and could not stop reading. I was unhappy with the plethora of editing errors throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    love, tragedy, loss, & resilience.

    what a great story. i liked the heroine. she started as a willful & determined teenager in love & was able to keep her strength of character. the subplots of other characters were good, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Very long but then webs take long to weave

    We have a tale of people looking for things in others or what they would hope that individual to be rather than what they truly are. There is also self reflection, meaning, the characters want to be perceived in a certain way but it is a far truth from who they truly are. They are looking for themselves. All the while, tumultuous events are occurring a result of them looking “Through a Glass Darkly”. Most times things are clear as day, right in front of us, but we choose not to see...

    The story is set in early eighteenth century amongst the aristocratic opulence in England and France. Ms. Koen does a great job of describing scenery, events, food, and fashion. Sometimes too good a job as it often times became long winded and even repetitive (not a positive). She included the good with the, “in your face”, bad which comes with living the lives these characters led. At times I got so frustrated with the characters for the choices they made. But then isn’t that the point, to become so engrossed that we come to care why and/or why not an event occurred? I enjoyed the poetry references and the protectiveness of the Tamworth/Davane household staff. I loved the Duchess, she’s one tough cookie. The reader grows to love her Richard through her memories. However is she truly seeing “through the glass”? It takes about 400 pages to get to the “meat” of the story. By then it confirms what the reader was thinking about Roger (wink). This proves even the reader can, be looking “Through a Glass Darkly”.

    For a free book, I give this a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very long but then webs take long to weave We have a tale of pe

    Very long but then webs take long to weave

    We have a tale of people looking for things in others or what they would hope that individual to be rather than what they truly are. There is also self reflection, meaning, the characters want to be perceived in a certain way but it is a far truth from who they truly are. They are looking for themselves. All the while, tumultuous events are occurring a result of them looking “Through a Glass Darkly”. Most times things are clear as day, right in front of us, but we choose not to see...

    The story is set in early eighteenth century amongst the aristocratic opulence in England and France. Ms. Koen does a great job of describing scenery, events, food, and fashion. Sometimes too good a job as it often times became long winded and even repetitive (not a positive). She included the good with the, “in your face”, bad which comes with living the lives these characters led. At times I got so frustrated with the characters for the choices they made. But then isn’t that the point, to become so engrossed that we come to care why and/or why not an event occurred? I enjoyed the poetry references and the protectiveness of the Tamworth/Davane household staff. I loved the Duchess, she’s one tough cookie. The reader grows to love her Richard through her memories. However is she truly seeing “through the glass”? It takes about 400 pages to get to the “meat” of the story. By then it confirms what the reader was thinking about Roger (wink). This proves even the reader can, be looking “Through a Glass Darkly”.

    For a free book, I give this a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    enjoyable

    Although there were some parts that got a bit drawn out, it was overall a very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    MOST READ!!!

    If you love victoriann books this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Good but not complete.

    The book itself was well written and very enjoyable, HOWEVER, I am GREATLY dissappointed for the reason that at the end of 70% of the paragraphs the writting is cut off. It is very frustrating. I think there is maybe only a few words that are missing at each instance, but I could be wrong. There many many typing errors, and instances where the sentences are jumbled and in the incorrect order. But, like I said, the story is good. I generally liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Errors

    The plot and character development in this novel are fantastic. There is just the right amount of hinting and forshadowing to keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat. But the Nook version has SO MANY errors! At the ends of chapters or sections, there are often words missing or out of order. Many times you can guess what it was supposed to say but other times you are left wondering what you just missed. And with a novel following so many people, you wonder if what you missed might have been an important piece of the puzzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9