Customer Reviews for

Through a Glass Darkly

Average Rating 3.5
( 617 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful novel but the Nook version has a lot of typographical errors

I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences ar...
I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences are messed up and make no sense at all, there are other errors as well. I can deal with a few minor errors but this was kind of ridiculous. I feel like they know about it and are selling it as is, anyway. Disappointing and this is the first complaint I have had about any of my Nook purchases. This novel, however, is great as well as its sequels.

posted by 4558623 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

If You Like the Kardashian Saga, You'll LOVE This...

My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started,...
My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started, it would have benefited from a really good editor) can easily be read by me in 4-7 days, if well-written. It took me over 2 weeks, and I almost had to force myself-- I kept falling asleep while reading.

The heroine is a whiny teenager and spends most of her time moping after her True Love, an older wealthy man who initially marries her only for her wealth. After she is disillusioned with her marriage, she embarks on what I thought would be a string of lovers-- sadly, only one, with two one-night stands thrown in (and one of them is barely even described, mentioned only in passing). The great majority of the characters are shallow, silly people, with the exception of one old lady-- the "wise" grandmother of the heroine, who rather than being truly wise was simply meddling, domineering, controlling, and just out-and-out irritating.

The sex scenes read as if they're an afterthought-- as if the publisher advised the author that she'd better add a few "steamy" scenes. Sadly, they're some of the dullest I've ever read, and certainly nothing hot.

Thankfully, this was a freebie from Barnes and Noble, and I have NO interest in reading the sequel. My conclusion? Unless you're a fan of the Kardashians and want to imagine what they'd have been like 3 centuries ago, don't waste your time.

posted by She_Who_Must_Read on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Errors

    The plot and character development in this novel are fantastic. There is just the right amount of hinting and forshadowing to keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat. But the Nook version has SO MANY errors! At the ends of chapters or sections, there are often words missing or out of order. Many times you can guess what it was supposed to say but other times you are left wondering what you just missed. And with a novel following so many people, you wonder if what you missed might have been an important piece of the puzzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Dark and Heavy and Heartbreaking

    Sort of a dark, heavy, heartbreaking and plodding read (and a twist to the hero). But if you like historic novels that take you places you may make it through this one. I still recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Very Good Except.......

    Pros: I loved many things about this book. The character development was the best I've read in many years. I fell in love with Barbara, the Duchess, Tony, Therese and Hyacinthe. I rolled my eyes at the behaviors of Roger, Abigail, Harry and Diana. And I felt anger at the antagonists. I read it slow enough to savor the plot and was surprised at many of the unexpected turns. All as a good novel should do. Those who are posting poor reviews were looking for something fast that zipped through but this is not that kind of book. Respect the finer details and immerse yourself and you will enjoy it.

    Cons: There is a big chunk missing right in the middle after Barbara discovers Roger's hidden secret which then jumps forward too much to her life five years later. A critical relationship is alluded to but the reader is left trying to figure out what she has done to get her to this point in her life. Its as if there was a novel in the middle that was cut to make the novel fit a page limit. I figured out what happened but it leaves the affair with Richilieu and Charles Russell completely out! I have a much harder time accepting that Barbara even had a low period which is so unlike her character development to that point. Also the Nookbook version has many typographical errors especially at the end of chapter segments.

    I still highly recommend this book and have just begun the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Unusual element

    This was a tough book to finish and at times it seemed to drag, so that is why I gave it only four stars. SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!






    It had the unusual element of a bisexual character. This intrigued me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Definitely a book that pulls you in, but if you put it down for

    Definitely a book that pulls you in, but if you put it down for a few
    days, you can forget where you left off. 700+ pages of every emotion
    possible...you definitely experience what all the characters are
    experiencing. definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Very good

    Very interesting, realistic, I already bought the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Wonderful book. Couldn't put it down.

    Really enjoyed reading this. Hope the rest are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Looking forward to the sequel

    Enjoyable. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good story.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt the author did a great job of describing the time period so that I felt like I was "in the book" myself. My only two complaints are first, although there were just a few sex scenes in the book, I thought the detail in them was a little much for this type of book. Less is sometimes more. Second, I did not like the development of Roger's character. (I won't say more so that I do not spoil ir for others.) I liked this book so much I purchased the second book, Now Face to Face, and I really enjoyed it even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Recommended

    I couldn't put it down from beginning to end. Couldn't wait to see what would happen next. I would recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Recommend

    I picked it up, put it down, picked it up, put it down, why? It's longer then I usually prefer a book to be, but finally decided to read it and it was worth it. At some point in time I hope to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Loved It!

    I happen to love this genre of book. I liked this one so much, I bought the sequel for my Nook. It is long but intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    SUPERB!

    If you are a lover of historical fiction, this one will mesmerize and entertain you completely. The details of the era are minute, precise, and marvelously presented in the frame of a delightfully good story. And, I have just learned that it is one of a Trilogy and I am ecstatic. It stands alone perfectly, however, if you don't want to commit to every book. Highly recommend it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    I hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good story

    It is a really good story told by a long winded author. It's like the person who talks just to hear their voice, prose indeed. Anyways, the story is really good, the characters interesting, and lots of interesting history. As with the other reviews, there are alot of typos, unfinished/garbled sentences, and wrong or no punctuation. I know this book was free, but have you no pride? I would recommend and will look for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Recommended

    Very well written historical novel. The author captures the time and the characters seem to bring you into their lives as they move from one situation to another. This is a story that is hard to put down once you begin it. It puts a completely different perspective on life at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    It's a good read, but the textual errors and omissions detract f

    It's a good read, but the textual errors and omissions detract from what is otherwise a very good period story. As to the story itself, it's a byzantine set of noble-class interactions centered on a somewhat incongruously innocent fifteen-year-old, Barbara Alderly, who finds herself at the center of a series of intrigues. It's reminiscent of Samuel Richardson's "Clarissa" and "Pamela," both actual period works and progenitors of the modern novel. Worth the read though it's not for the squeamish, either literally or literarily (is that last a word? Literary squeamishness?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I was a little long for my liking, but it did a great job of holding my attention. I would definitely recommend checking it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Great read!

    Absolutely loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9