Customer Reviews for

Through a Glass Darkly

Average Rating 3.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful novel but the Nook version has a lot of typographical errors

I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences ar...
I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences are messed up and make no sense at all, there are other errors as well. I can deal with a few minor errors but this was kind of ridiculous. I feel like they know about it and are selling it as is, anyway. Disappointing and this is the first complaint I have had about any of my Nook purchases. This novel, however, is great as well as its sequels.

posted by 4558623 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

If You Like the Kardashian Saga, You'll LOVE This...

My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started,...
My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started, it would have benefited from a really good editor) can easily be read by me in 4-7 days, if well-written. It took me over 2 weeks, and I almost had to force myself-- I kept falling asleep while reading.

The heroine is a whiny teenager and spends most of her time moping after her True Love, an older wealthy man who initially marries her only for her wealth. After she is disillusioned with her marriage, she embarks on what I thought would be a string of lovers-- sadly, only one, with two one-night stands thrown in (and one of them is barely even described, mentioned only in passing). The great majority of the characters are shallow, silly people, with the exception of one old lady-- the "wise" grandmother of the heroine, who rather than being truly wise was simply meddling, domineering, controlling, and just out-and-out irritating.

The sex scenes read as if they're an afterthought-- as if the publisher advised the author that she'd better add a few "steamy" scenes. Sadly, they're some of the dullest I've ever read, and certainly nothing hot.

Thankfully, this was a freebie from Barnes and Noble, and I have NO interest in reading the sequel. My conclusion? Unless you're a fan of the Kardashians and want to imagine what they'd have been like 3 centuries ago, don't waste your time.

posted by She_Who_Must_Read on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    You become entranced with the story

    This book is amazing. It has been a long time since I have read a book that has taken me on an emotional rollercoaster like this one. You became part of the story, one of the characters watching the tale unfold. I laughed, cried, my heart raced with anticipation. What a fantastic book and an excetional writer. I can only hope that she continues to write so I can continue this fantastic ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    Amazing Book! My #1 Favorite!!!

    This book was sooo captivating! I read it in no time, even though it was lengthy. I read it before my freshman year of hs and thought it written well, not too easy but not so difficult where i couldn't understand it. The book has great characters and the plot is excellent. This writer is very talented-i found myself crying at parts of the book and grinning at other parts. Excellent overall!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    It has everything

    A terrifically well written novel that kept me reading well into the night hours. The attention to historical and cultural accuracy makes this novel 'grade A' There are many characters one must keep track of, but they are for the most part all integral in this story. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Absolutely Amazing!!!

    I loved this novel, never have I sat down to read such a lengthy book, but I was so drawn into each characters life. I felt as if I were right there the entire time, and when the characters felt pain so did I, as well as every other emotion. I strongly reccomend this book to anyone interested in reading a wonderful story that is incorporated into the ultimate era of history!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Great book.

    Good, long read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Amazing

    Beauitful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Surprisingly great!

    This book is really very good. It's one of those books that you are thinking about when you are awake, doing other things, and a book that you dream about hn you sleep. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great

    Loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    So engrossing I immediately bought and read the sequel Face to Face!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Just a great book.

    Took a bit to get into the characters, but I did and want to read a sequel to find out what happens to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I have read this book 3 times, can't put it down! I liked this b

    I have read this book 3 times, can't put it down! I liked this better than Now Face to Face and I have yet to read Dark Angels. Perhaps I"ll read this one again after Dark Angels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    highly recommend the series!

    this is a continuation of the tale began in Dark Angels, and flows beautifully, but don't stop here... read on in the third book, Now Face to Face. the intricacies of inter-personal relationship and courtly liaisons is intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Wonderful book! Made me laugh out loud and made me cry. Left me wanting more. Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    Richly entertaining, great characters, WANT more by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great Story

    I loved the story line and the characters, didn't like that the book ends right in the middle of the story line. Something happened in the process of going from book to e-book, a lot of the paragraphs would just end in mid sentence, or the sentences would be mixed up and not make any sense. I got the sequel from the library to read so that I wouldn't run into the same problems. Also, I'm not willing to pay 12.99 for a e-book when the book was published in the 1980's! This book was free and well worth the read, even if some of it is messed up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Magnificent read!

    I was pulled into this book to the point I wanted to read it until I completed it. I learned things about the South Sea Bubble. Which I did not know anything about. Amazing the similarities and differences between then and now. I also see that "history always finds a way to repeat itself" even in todays world. I am looking forward to reading the prequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I love this book!

    I love historical fiction/ romance and this book does not disappoint. For me, this was one of those books that was nearly impossible to put down and whenever I was at work (or any other place where I was not able to read it), my only desire was to be at home reading it. That is one of the highest compliments I can pay a book....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    wonderful! wonderful! wonderful! Typo's aside, this novel takes

    wonderful! wonderful! wonderful! Typo's aside, this novel takes you back in time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Great reading

    This historical novel had so much detail in it. I couldn’t put this book down. I was caught up with the characters and was wondering what would happen next (lots of surprises). This was a great Free Friday book… there are some sentences not completed but it didn’t take away from the story. The ending leaves you hanging for more. You will have to get the sequel to find out what will happen to Barbara; does she find love and re-established her fortune? I can't wait to read Face to Face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Just finished Through a Glass Darkly, one of the best books I ha

    Just finished Through a Glass Darkly, one of the best books I have ever read. Can't wait for book two. Couldn't put it down. You will not be sorry that you bought this book. It would defiately make a fantastic movie. Loved Loved loved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11