Customer Reviews for

Through a Glass Darkly

Average Rating 3.5
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful novel but the Nook version has a lot of typographical errors

I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences ar...
I have read this book before in hardback and loved it therefore I wanted to have it on my Nook. However, the Nook version has so many errors that I found it an interference to reading the book. At the end of almost every chapter in this 700+ page book the sentences are messed up and make no sense at all, there are other errors as well. I can deal with a few minor errors but this was kind of ridiculous. I feel like they know about it and are selling it as is, anyway. Disappointing and this is the first complaint I have had about any of my Nook purchases. This novel, however, is great as well as its sequels.

posted by 4558623 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

If You Like the Kardashian Saga, You'll LOVE This...

My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started,...
My title is NOT a positive recommendation for this book. Frankly, I can't understand the reason for the number of positive reviews. I enjoy a good bodice-ripper sometimes, but this book is poorly written. A book this length (FAR too long and very slow to get started, it would have benefited from a really good editor) can easily be read by me in 4-7 days, if well-written. It took me over 2 weeks, and I almost had to force myself-- I kept falling asleep while reading.

The heroine is a whiny teenager and spends most of her time moping after her True Love, an older wealthy man who initially marries her only for her wealth. After she is disillusioned with her marriage, she embarks on what I thought would be a string of lovers-- sadly, only one, with two one-night stands thrown in (and one of them is barely even described, mentioned only in passing). The great majority of the characters are shallow, silly people, with the exception of one old lady-- the "wise" grandmother of the heroine, who rather than being truly wise was simply meddling, domineering, controlling, and just out-and-out irritating.

The sex scenes read as if they're an afterthought-- as if the publisher advised the author that she'd better add a few "steamy" scenes. Sadly, they're some of the dullest I've ever read, and certainly nothing hot.

Thankfully, this was a freebie from Barnes and Noble, and I have NO interest in reading the sequel. My conclusion? Unless you're a fan of the Kardashians and want to imagine what they'd have been like 3 centuries ago, don't waste your time.

posted by She_Who_Must_Read on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Karleen Koen-Great Author

    These 3 books are wonderful. The best one is NOW FACE TO FACE. Definetely would reccomend.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Would not recommend

    Even with all of the typos, this had the making of a great book. The first 500 pages or so went by like a blur. I couldn't stop reading! However, the ending was depressing. I'm not saying it should have been a "happily ever after," but an iota of hope would have been appreciated, especially after all of the effort of reading 700+ pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    From an English Teacher

    Reads very slow. Too much detail, Could be said in 300 pages. Also writing is amateur. Writing is choppy, does not flow and grammar and punctuation errors. I gave up reading about page 100.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sets the Bar!

    This book sets the bar for all other books I read. The writing style is so original with its sing-sonly flashbacks to Barbara's memories. The story line is also very original, with surprising twists that make the story memorable. Wonderful, wonderful read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Thru a looking glass darkly

    I did not like this book. Too much death, affairs, just plain depressing. The story line never got better, just more death and sleeping with others not your mate. Would have been better at 300 pages vs 700 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Depressing

    too long - too much detailed description - no one was ever happy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    This book is in my top FIVE!!!! Fab fab book and awesome that it

    This book is in my top FIVE!!!! Fab fab book and awesome that it's a Free Nook Book on Fridays...it's a must read AND all of her books are just as good. YAY!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down!

    I went to the bookstore searching the shelves for something in the historical fiction genre. I came across this book and the cover caught my eye. I bought the book and loved the entire thing so much that I went out and bought "Now Face to Face", the sequel to this book. So far, I love that book too. I strongly recommend both of these books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    February 19, 2009

    I've never been one to re-read novels, but this one is one of the few! It is the definition of a page turner and plays out in ways that will have you on the edge of your seat! It's very raw and beautifully written. If you have any interest in smart, historical novels that deal with love and human relationships- this is a must read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Horrible

    I read 125 pages of this 700+ page book. It was boring and I kept getting all the characters confused.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Boring, boring, boring

    While I liked the meat of the storyline, I felt like this book took forever to get to a point. Too much extraneous information. Found myself flipping through pages of nonsense information to try to get back to the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Do not recommend

    I have read many historical themed stories, so I went into this book with great expectation. The first few pages piqued my interest, then I found myself skimming many pages (story pace too slow. I continued
    hoping the story flow would improved....it did, BUT then it slowed to a crawl again. I didn't even make it to page 100, before I lost ALL interest in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Graphic Sex and Homosexual content

    Compelling story until you get almost 200 pages in, then you hit very graphic sex if you venture further(which I recommend you don't), you enter the world of even more explict content. The writing is great, but the content is horrible, wish some one had warned me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Slow to start

    I have to admit, I almost put it down. The first 250 pages are slow and mostly uneventful. I found myself waiting for something to happen. It's almost like the author got better as the pages turned. This said, if you have no other pressing business or other books waiting, this one is ok. I would venture to say that I really cared about these characters for about 100 of the 700 pages. The dialogue is a little bit hard to follow at times. I'm not interested enough to read the second book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    While interesting, I gave up halfway through.

    While the story was fairly interesting to begin with, I quickly got tired of the plot. I pushed through about half of the book, and then just gave up. I may go back and finish, but in the meantime I have more interesting books to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Boring

    I thought this book too boring. I read about 180 pages and could not finish. Too much description on houses and landscapes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Do Not Recommend

    I found this book to be boring and very hard to hold my interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Couldn't get into it.

    I know this book was on the best-seller list and is supposed to be so good, but I just couldn't get into it. Maybe it's just me, but I felt it was so slow, I kept wondering if anything was anything ever was going to happen. I made it a little over half-way through before deciding that life was to short to waste any of it on a boring book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Disgusting

    I quit reading when it turned into a homosexual love story. Awful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Predictable, predictable, predictable.

    Predictable, predictable, predictable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31